.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Points work in conjunction

  1. #1

    Default Points work in conjunction

    Is there a way in Trainz I can make a set of points work in conjunction with another so when I change one set it also changes another set as well linked with it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    3,287
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bradleybale2006 View Post
    Is there a way in Trainz I can make a set of points work in conjunction with another so when I change one set it also changes another set as well linked with it?
    Search the DLS for an asset with a description like "Junction Controller".

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SailorDan View Post
    Search the DLS for an asset with a description like "Junction Controller".
    Awesome found one thank you!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,540
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    I have used the Junction Controller but it does have a flaw which led me to abandon it. The first junction points will reset (as expected) after the consist has passed over but this will cause the second linked set to reset before the consist has passed over it.

    I now use EITs and ITs which perform the task much more efficiently and have other advantages.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pware View Post
    I have used the Junction Controller but it does have a flaw which led me to abandon it. The first junction points will reset (as expected) after the consist has passed over but this will cause the second linked set to reset before the consist has passed over it.

    I now use EITs and ITs which perform the task much more efficiently and have other advantages.
    Have you got a kuid for that please?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,540
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    There are quite a few KUIDs involved with Enhanced Interlocking Towers and Interlocking Towers and their various addons.

    The best place to start is to read http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/i...rlocking_Tower - it is a learning curve but well worth the effort.

    Some KUIDs to get you started

    <kuid2:401543:3203:1> Interlocking Tower Path Selection UI
    <kuid:401543:3205> Interlocking Tower Configure Path
    <kuid2:61392:8101:52> Enhanced TRC3 invisible Interlocking Tower (SP2 and later)
    <kuid:401543:3204> Interlocking Tower Set Path
    <kuid2:401543:3220:1> Interlocking Tower - Crowcombe-Heathfield Signal Box
    <kuid:401543:3201> Interlocking Tower Edit Helper
    <kuid:401543:3200> Interlocking Tower Manager
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Birmingham
    Posts
    3,020
     

    Default

    If you want to see EIT working, there is a demo route by the author pguy. Search for EIT DemoRoute - UK1. Get the route and sessions and sit back and watch it work.

    William

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,679
     

    Default

    The junction controller does work for very short crossovers, and does not work reliably for long ones such as on a mainline where one junction will be released before the other. I used them extensively on my tram route to allow trams to crossover from a return loop and back on to the opposite main. They worked okay for that, but occasionally another AI train would come along and cause a derailment which left a tram and a half since I run double trams on my mainline.

    More recently like pware, I have discovered the virtues of ITs. Using the EIT rule and setup, I've got four locations now that run automatically under the tower control. I will admit that this was one of the more difficult things I've ever done in Trainz, but it was well worth the effort. What I did find, however, is the paths need to be at least 2x the length of your longest train. In my case it's two connected trams. If the paths are too short, then there's a bit of a Mexican Hat standoff and the AI drivers go off and play Rock-Paper-Scissors indefinitely.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA, United States of America
    Posts
    523
    Blog Entries
    58
     

    Default

    Another one is <kuid:122381:10003> Junction Link by Mizi.

    Again, you don't want to use this where a short consist or single AI engine will get trapped.

    :B~)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •