.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Invisible load

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom, Nr Leicester
    Posts
    843
     

    Default Invisible load

    I am loading 'Newsprint paper roll - SAP' onto '70ton AAR Flatcar C&O', loads ok but it is invisible.
    Is it a known bug, wrong car etc.
    I could change the load but would prefer not to.
    TRS19.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, Port Hueneme
    Posts
    1,868
     

    Default

    Is a bug. It may be known or not. But there are some commodities that no matter what you do, would not show. Any takers?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom, Nr Leicester
    Posts
    843
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by llebrez View Post
    Is a bug. It may be known or not. But there are some commodities that no matter what you do, would not show. Any takers?

    Perhaps something to do with the material/texture of that particular item?
    As that is one of MSGSapper's assets perhaps I had better retract that?
    Last edited by Ghost42; February 17th, 2020 at 02:10 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Maine
    Posts
    137
     

    Default

    Newsprint rolls and (paper rolls) are/were generally shipped in boxcars, maybe a refer to get the car somewhere more useful. I would imagine that the asset doesn't have a mesh as it was intended to be loaded in a closed car. You would need to ask the author or look at the config file for the commodity and see if it has a mesh or graphic of some sort to know for sure. If I was making a commodity asset similar to that I would probably not include a visible load to it as that sort of load is normally only seen as it enters and exits the car. I might put a visible load for a boxed product, but for rolled paper it just wouldn't seem to be worth the time, as most paper handling facilities are protected from weather such that it would be difficult to find a view of the load (Some facilities in the southern US have more open loading platforms but for the most part there is a building in the way of observation). I might, to represent a car in a facility being unloaded/loaded, use a faux load like a sort of picture box by the door to hide the empty car; but, having worked transporting paper in the US, I saw that once a car was loaded it was closed, and wouldn't be open until they were being unloaded.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom, Nr Leicester
    Posts
    843
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TSwenson View Post
    Newsprint rolls and (paper rolls) are/were generally shipped in boxcars, maybe a refer to get the car somewhere more useful. I would imagine that the asset doesn't have a mesh as it was intended to be loaded in a closed car. You would need to ask the author or look at the config file for the commodity and see if it has a mesh or graphic of some sort to know for sure. If I was making a commodity asset similar to that I would probably not include a visible load to it as that sort of load is normally only seen as it enters and exits the car. I might put a visible load for a boxed product, but for rolled paper it just wouldn't seem to be worth the time, as most paper handling facilities are protected from weather such that it would be difficult to find a view of the load (Some facilities in the southern US have more open loading platforms but for the most part there is a building in the way of observation). I might, to represent a car in a facility being unloaded/loaded, use a faux load like a sort of picture box by the door to hide the empty car; but, having worked transporting paper in the US, I saw that once a car was loaded it was closed, and wouldn't be open until they were being unloaded.

    I checked the asset and no im file, the answer is to change the cars, thanks, makes sense.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,617
     

    Default

    I agree with the TSwenson. Having worked in the graphics industry, I visited many printers on press runs and the paper was delivered and moved very quickly indoors. This is very important because the paper can change dimensions just enough to throw of the registration on the press as it adjusts to its environment. On one press run we saw this happen right in front of our eyes due to a sudden humidity change for the worse causing the job to go out of registration while on the press causing the yellow plate not to line up with the cyan already printed.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle NSW Australia
    Posts
    6,368
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ghost42 View Post
    I am loading 'Newsprint paper roll - SAP' onto '70ton AAR Flatcar C&O', loads ok but it is invisible.
    Is it a known bug, wrong car etc. I could change the load but would prefer not to.
    TRS19.
    The description of this asset actually tells you. "Newsprint paper roll product load for boxcar. Non-visible product."

    The only fault I see with this asset is that the thumbnail image isn't 240x180 pixels in size.

    .
    Last edited by Dinorius_Redundicus; February 17th, 2020 at 05:43 PM.
    T:ANE SP4 build 105946 and TRS2019 SP1 build 105096
    Win 10, i7 5820K, 3.3 GHz, 32GB ram, GTX 980Ti, 2x512GB SSD

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, Port Hueneme
    Posts
    1,868
     

    Default

    I love using boxcars that open the doors. And as such, I love to see what is inside. If the commodity is invisible... well..., you know..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom, Nr Leicester
    Posts
    843
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by llebrez View Post
    I love using boxcars that open the doors. And as such, I love to see what is inside. If the commodity is invisible... well..., you know..
    I can understand, if using a forklift how do you avoid damaging the product?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    United States of America, Maryland, Westminster
    Posts
    33
     

    Default

    I've been loading paper rolls onto boxcars that feature open-able doors using yukonzoom's (brown) <KUID:206307:100409> Paper Roll (Pulpboard) and (white) <KUID:206307:100410> Paper Roll (Bleached). Both items are available on the DLS. These loads are visible in the cars I've been using. yukonzoom has also created a "scenery" version for placement of loading docks and platforms.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •