How to use Helper Engines?

I'm relatively new to TRS2019 and am starting work on my PRR Central Division Route. I will be using helpers frequently on this route and was wondering if someone could enlighten me on how to get the lead locos and helpers to work together from one cab instead of having to drive them seperately, which is the only way I am able to use them now.

Thanks in advance!

I'm relatively new to TRS2019 and am starting work on my PRR Central Division Route. I will be using helpers frequently on this route and was wondering if someone could enlighten me on how to get the lead locos and helpers to work together from one cab instead of having to drive them seperately, which is the only way I am able to use them now.

Thanks in advance!

This might be of help......;)

https://forums.auran.com/trainz/archive/index.php/t-48693.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vu5jO-E-60

If you run driver in DCC mode the game considers only 1 train throttle that controls the train. So no problem controlling multiple locos

If you run in cab or realistic mode then it depends on the type of loco supplying motive power. Diesels and electrics are all mu'd automatically. Whether you control them only thru the foremost loco or in the cab of any loco "that has the camera focus" in the consist I'm not sure - I don't drive diesels often enough to remember. Steam locos have to be controlled individually. Each loco has to be selected to have the focus and then you can operate the controls.

There's a recent discussion of this here.

Bob Pearson

Thanks guys

Having to run steam helpers separately is kinda annoying but also realistic and kinda cool. It will make operations more interesting for sure.

If your are trying to set up a self driving helper which pushes a train and then returns, download from the DLS "Example Helper / Pusher Engine Route" and "Example Helper / Pusher Engine Session.