UK Beeching Cuts, a Reversal Study is Underway!

Chemical company boss Dr Richard Beeching was given the job, despite famously telling the Daily Mirror newspaper: "I have no experience of railways, except as a passenger. So I am not a practical railwayman. But I am a very practical man."

In 1963, Beeching wanted to close 189 stations across Wales - cutting most of the branch lines
He took what many saw as a simple accounting view of the branch lines that criss-crossed the country. If they could not turn a profit, and were not carrying sufficient passengers, then the axe should fall.

More than 2,000 stations will be closed. Wholesale shut down of passenger services will leave huge areas of the country to the buses. Every part of the country is affected.
_66626113_beechingandreportgetty.jpg

Setting a raging bull loose in the China shoppe, so what he wanted, you got it, now you have nothing.

And with all the money saved, what did you do with all that money ? Nothing !

Last edited:
There are several ways that all parties are deserving of criticism over this, both the government, the Labour party and the unions. For a starter, the Beeching cuts were only one part of the period in which the rail network shrank, with significant closures both preceding and post-dating his spell in office. There is no realistic prospect of "reversing" anything but a small portion of the closures and the grindingly slow processes in England & Wales mean that those that do will take "forever" to achieve, but then neither Labour nor the unions have a workable plan either.