.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: TurfX problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United States of America, Kansas, Parsons
    Posts
    296
     

    Default TurfX problem

    I have 3 TurfX layers on my route. When I create a 4th layer then click to lay down some more grass, the previous grass disappears. And not just in the spot I click, the entire route. Any ideas?

    Randall

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,510
     

    Default

    Possibly not what you want to hear, but on my current route I have five different types of grasses and all seems well.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United States of America, Wisconsin, Wisc Rapids
    Posts
    1,317
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    I had that happen for me as well, and its not the entire route (at least from my experience), its just the entire baseboard goes bare, and this was just 2 sets of grass.
    What you'll have to do is try not to go onto the next baseboard as the grass on that baseboard might disappear as well and then you'll have to put the grass back down. It'll be best to make frequent saves when doing this, and take your time when highlighting the next baseboard connection.
    Hope this helps.

    Cheers

    NARM's site^

    My personal site: https://hiawathamr.weebly.com/​

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    919
     

    Default

    I have logged a ticket with the HelpDesk for this issue. The problem started as discussed above (any newly defined layer could not be applied to baseboards with existing TurfFX, although things were fine on 'fresh' baseboards). Unfortunately this problem developed further, to a point where just defining a new layer would cause random deletion of TurfFX across the route. I sent the HelpDesk my route and they were able to see the problem. Further development of my route is pretty much on hold until this issue is resolved.
    Phil
    'WeddinNSW V4.1' for TRS2019 SP1 coming soon to the DLS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United States of America, Kansas, Parsons
    Posts
    296
     

    Default

    Thanks to all for the replies. I really like the Turfx Grass. Makes the routes more realistic looking for sure. I haven't experimented with the clutter fx much.

    I hope they get the issue resolved soon.

    Randall

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    919
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sek_Hakuna View Post
    Thanks to all for the replies. I really like the Turfx Grass. Makes the routes more realistic looking for sure. I haven't experimented with the clutter fx much.

    I hope they get the issue resolved soon.

    Randall
    I agree that TurfFX can look really good. Unfortunately, in my experience, Clutter FX suffer from the same issue.

    I also hope this is resolved soon. For me TurfFX and Clutter were the big selling points of TRS2019.
    Phil
    'WeddinNSW V4.1' for TRS2019 SP1 coming soon to the DLS.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,380
     

    Default

    I found that saving and reloading the route helps and you can continue putting down the different layers of grass as you wish. I think it has something to do with running out of memory, or the video card.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    919
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    I found that saving and reloading the route helps and you can continue putting down the different layers of grass as you wish. I think it has something to do with running out of memory, or the video card.

    The problem occurs for me as soon as I open the route for editing, from a fresh program start. I have 16 Gig of RAM, 8 Gig of video memory, and usually not many other 'user' apps running. My route is pretty big (200 kms end to end), but no where near as big as some others out there.

    Note that there is no issue when adding more of an already defined layer. The issue arises if you try and define and put down a new layer.
    Phil
    'WeddinNSW V4.1' for TRS2019 SP1 coming soon to the DLS.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,510
     

    Default

    I gotta say that with the PBR textures, TurfFX grasses, shadows, reflections TRS19 is begining to look quite good:



    The grass effects, in particular, really make it so much more realistic, even though I have to admit it's a damn lot of hard work on any route more than one baseboard in size. The above uses four TurfFX textures -- brown short and long, and yellow short and long. Elsewhere I have grain, long, making five TurfFX effects in total. As far as I can tell the impact on frame rates is minimal.
    Last edited by philskene; January 23rd, 2020 at 04:57 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    919
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by philskene View Post
    I gotta say that with the PBR textures, TurfFX grasses, shadows, reflections TRS19 is begining to look quite good:



    The grass effects, in particular, really make it so much more realistic, even though I have to admit it's a damn lot of hard work on any route more than one baseboard in size. The above uses four TurfFX textures -- brown short and long, and yellow short and long. Elsewhere I have grain, long, making five TurfFX effects in total. As far as I can tell the impact on frame rates is minimal.

    I agree that when they work, they really add to the realism. I don't think that is in dispute. Everything becomes much more 3D. Its not really the thrust of this thread though.

    I am curious. You say you use 4 (and in an earlier post, 5) TurFX layers without issue. Were these defined right at the start of your route scenicing, before any TurfFX application? Or do you apply a few layers, then decide you need another (and define and apply it)? The latter scenario seems to be where the issues arise.
    Phil
    'WeddinNSW V4.1' for TRS2019 SP1 coming soon to the DLS.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,510
     

    Default

    Phil --

    Sorry about the confused wording. Elsewhere = elsewhere on the route. So on this route -- brown long/short + yellow long/short + grain long = five.

    I configured all five right at the onset, before adding any TurfFX to the route. You think that this might be the difference between success and failure? If so it's certainly worth while knowing.

    Phil

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    919
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by philskene View Post
    Phil --

    Sorry about the confused wording. Elsewhere = elsewhere on the route. So on this route -- brown long/short + yellow long/short + grain long = five.

    I configured all five right at the onset, before adding any TurfFX to the route. You think that this might be the difference between success and failure? If so it's certainly worth while knowing.

    Phil
    Yes, that's good to know. We seemed to have narrowed the problem down a bit. Practically it doesn't help me much though !
    Phil
    'WeddinNSW V4.1' for TRS2019 SP1 coming soon to the DLS.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brixton, London, England
    Posts
    2,913
     

    Default

    I suspect it is important to define your TurfX layers at the outset and try not to add to them later. I've created a one-baseboard template with the layers set up to act as the basis of future routes.

    Paul

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    5,980
     

    Default

    We've been investigating this further and cannot reproduce the issue as described in 105096. I realize QA did say they reproduced the issue previously, but it may be that the issue has since been fixed, or there is a step missing in the test case that the dev team are attempting, or perhaps it is something to do with hardware. Here is the dev test case:

    1. Load test route (Wedden), everything looks ok
    2. Open edit dialog, click the + to Add a new effect layer
    3. Enter a new, unique name, click the Tick and the Add dialog closes
    4. Turffx disappears from entire route temporarily
    5. Wait a few seconds, Turffx reappears across the entire route

    If you're still able to reproduce this issue, please provide the missing steps.
    Last edited by Tony_Hilliam; February 3rd, 2020 at 02:45 AM.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    919
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony_Hilliam View Post
    We've been investigating this further and cannot reproduce the issue as described in 105096. I realize QA did say they reproduced the issue previously, but it may be that the issue has since been fixed, or there is a step missing in the test case that the dev team are attempting, or perhaps it is something to do with hardware. Here is the dev test case:

    1. Load test route (Wedden), everything looks ok
    2. Open edit dialog, click the + to Add a new effect layer
    3. Enter a new, unique name, click the Tick and the Add dialog closes
    4. Turffx disappears from entire route temporarily
    5. Wait a few seconds, Turffx reappears across the entire route

    If you're still able to reproduce this issue, please provide the missing steps.

    Hi Tony. Thanks for taking the time to look at this. I am still able to reproduce the issue in Weddin in TRS2019 Platinum, following the instruction I outlined in the ticket...

    1. Find an area with a number of wheat fields and stubble alongside track. For my testing I use the long straight to the north west of Canowindra. You can jump to Canowindra using bookmark 8. Wheat fields can be identified by the use of the texture 'grain' (see the images in the link included below). All the wheat fields close to track have had the TurfFX layer 'TFX Crop 1' applied. Since you have the route you should be able to see the settings I have used for the existing layers.



    2. Once in position note that the TurFX layer is evenly applied over the 'grain' texture.

    3. In the Topology/Advanced tab select 'Edit/Add effect layers'

    4. From the 'Effect Layers' panel select the '+' button to add a new layer.

    5. Enter a name for the layer (for example 'Test'), and select 'Effect Type' = 'Clutter

    6. Select the tick button.

    7. It is at this point large sections of the previously applied layers disappear.


    8. Move around the area in Surveyor and check the nearby wheat fields (you can leave the 'Effect Layers' window open, 'can out', or just accept the defaults). Note that not all of the TurfFX disappears, but a large proportion does.

    Again, before....




    After...


    It does NOT appear to be a 'temporary' issue. And 'Undo' does not undo the problem. If I save and reopen the route the effect (or lack of effect) is permanent.


    Note:
    I have been able to reproduce the issue with 100% consistency. It occurs in both my installations... in build 105096, running on my 8 Gig RAM I5/GTX 1050Ti laptop, and also in build 105100, running on my 16 Gig RAM I7/GTX 1070 desktop. Both machines have all recent Windows 10 and Nvidia patches installed. I run a 'vanilla' TRS2019 config, with only TRS2019 base plus TANE, and WeddinNSW dependency (DLS) assets installed.
    Last edited by FootplatePhil; February 3rd, 2020 at 04:30 AM. Reason: add hardware details
    Phil
    'WeddinNSW V4.1' for TRS2019 SP1 coming soon to the DLS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •