Sudden deep trenches while merging.

KotangaGirl

Pre-Grouping Railways Nut
svsiD6K.jpg

I merged boards onto routes lots of times, but I've never seen anything like this before. This is in TS2012 on my Norfolk GER route I've been working on for the past two years.
I added on a five board section to the end of a new secondary main line section I've been building and when I came to start blending everything together I found the 'San Norfolk Fault'. This isn't on the merged join, but one layout board section width into the new merged section. This impressive trench ran across the edges of three layout boards in a dead straight line. It wasn't so difficult to fix, just a bit tedious and I did notice that there was a split in the surface of the layout board mesh just at the top edge of the 'V' trench' in a couple of places. I was able to smooth it all out so that the splits can't be seen, but now I'm wondering if they're going to stay like that. Any content creator want to whip me up a digital tube of 'Superglue'.

Anybody know why I might have ended up with this trench after merging? As I mentioned I've never seen anything like it before and I've done a lot of merging sections and shifting sections around on my Norfolk route over the past two years.

This is an issue that has occurred during merging in various Trainz version dating back to <who knows when>. The trenches occur along the baseboard boundaries. Other well known symptoms have been random needle spikes and deep holes (just one or a few grid squares in size) and textured lines along the baseboard boundaries (but this only occurs when merging bare baseboards).

The solutions, unfortunately, are using the terrain height tool or the texture brush.