.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 39

Thread: SP1 -- bring back the Undo / Redo buttons

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    164
     

    Default

    Yes: control Z works. But, as I sit and work on a new route, I used to be able to Undo easily without removing my hand from petting the dog. I don't know about others, but the Undo button gets used thousands of times on a single route build. Please bring it back.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    16,084
     

    Default

    As this hiding in menus came up ages ago in the Plus Betas and nothing changed, think we are stuck with it. I've got used to using Ctrl Z and Ctrl Y and as I use them in other programs it's not really much of an issue for me now I have got used to it.

    Search Box has a three key shortcut, Ctrl Shift F, need two hands, too long winded for me for a much used feature, so gave it F8.
    Malc


  3. #18

    Default

    It is really crazy!!!
    Put the editing menu at this previous place! NOW!!!

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,992
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oknotsen View Post
    Assuming you have your mouse in your right hand, CTRL-Z is conveniently located near (or in my case under) your left hand
    Did you try it with an AZERTY keyboard?

  5. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HPL View Post
    Did you try it with an AZERTY keyboard?
    Yes I did. Same left hand, slightly different location.

  6. #21

    Default

    Not so easy with a German keyboard though.

    Paul

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,992
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oknotsen View Post
    Yes I did. Same left hand, slightly different location.
    "Slightly"? Try keeping your fingers on Ctrl and Z on an AZERTY keyboard for several minutes.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    16,084
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HPL View Post
    "Slightly"? Try keeping your fingers on Ctrl and Z on an AZERTY keyboard for several minutes.

    Need long fingers! I couldn't.
    Malc


  9. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    633
     

    Default

    Re: #12. I don't think that anyone is suggestion that the Undo/Redo functions do not operate as intended, it is the inconvenience of using these particular shortcuts which is the concern, both are awkward to select single handed and slow to use with both hands. The two buttons on the Menu/Tool bar have worked quite satisfactory for the past 15 years so why fix something which isn't broken. Both shortcuts do indeed follow Windows convention but few users of the Windows GUI know of them and even less use them and hence even Microsoft retain these two buttons on their basic toolbars of the majority of their software packaged today.

    While those who have interests other than route building in TRS19 may not appreciate the significance of this thread and argument to a route builder, it is a similar argument to that which those who prefer driving would probably have if the throttle/brakes lever functions of a locomotive were similarly buried in the menu system and/or only available via shortcuts. It is however unfortunate that the feedback during Beta Testing was not listened to as those who prefer driving are partly dependant on those who prefer route builders for something challenging to navigate, and has been written frequently does N3V ever listen. Peter

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    16,084
     

    Default

    I got very annoyed with the latest version of Paint Shop Pro, all the default editing tools had vanished as had the undo arrows, I eventually found them and had to basically put them back where they were for every previous version since the year dot.
    Problem cause by combining things in menus as the default, sound familiar? at least it was fixable for PSP so I could return to a familiar layout.
    Malc


  11. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    7,673
     

    Default

    What irritates me even more than the lack of undo is the filter button or lack there of. Ctrl Shift F? Or try to remember which pull down icon it is under? Give me a break!

    Typical programmer's error and why you make sure the programmer working on your UI understands that users are not programmers. User Interface is a specialization and it doesn't appear that N3V has this specialist or that the specialist has never played any earlier version of trainz.
    The United State's Health Care System ranks 37th in the world just behind Costa Rica.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    16,084
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by normhart View Post
    What irritates me even more than the lack of undo is the filter button or lack there of. Ctrl Shift F? Or try to remember which pull down icon it is under? Give me a break!
    I have issues with those icons as well, which is why I assigned F8 instead of the two handed method. Just one key press.
    Malc


  13. #28

    Default

    Not to mention for those of us with neuropathy, forcing a keyboard shortcut or increasing the mouse use is not accessibility friendly.
    TRS 2019 Coach Class (Former Customer)

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Colorado, Colorado Springs
    Posts
    842
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wreeder View Post
    I wish you all luck with your effort but this issue came up in the beta testing forum when it was first changed and the response was that the menu bar was updated in appearance to match the changes in Driver. All the protest then didn't get it changed back. You all make very valid arguments, I hope someone is listening.

    William

    If the developers would provide (game) system calls to these functions, as well as for which layer is being edited, then we could write a rule to display and use them.
    I7-8700K
    1070Ti
    Z370
    PCIe SSD operation ( build)

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,940
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vern View Post
    Not to mention for those of us with neuropathy, forcing a keyboard shortcut or increasing the mouse use is not accessibility friendly.
    I also have a disability and I find the menus in TS2019 awkward and non-intuitive enough to use as it is. As for keyboard shortcuts try using those when your brain randomly micropauses like mine does.
    Narcolepsy is not napping.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •