.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39

Thread: SP1 -- bring back the Undo / Redo buttons

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,687
     

    Default SP1 -- bring back the Undo / Redo buttons

    Anybody here who constructs routes and layouts knows that THE two most important buttons in Surveyor are the Undo / Redo buttons.

    In SP1 they are gone. Gone!~! Actually they are hidden two steps down in a menu. No quick access. And it makes multiple undos a real pain in the butt.

    Please bring them back to where they belong -- immediately available, front and centre at the top of the screen.
    Last edited by philskene; December 20th, 2019 at 06:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    27,404
     

    Default

    CTRL-Z works fine to undo.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 106618

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    105
     

    Default

    Have just downloaded the latest TRS 19 patch and YES - bring back the Undo/Redo buttons - prominently identifiable at the top of the screen!!!!!!!!!

  4. #4

    Default

    Yes bring it back plz!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    633
     

    Default

    I totally agree this is very much a retrograde step. Those who seldom use Surveyor may probably not even miss them or perhaps notice that they have been moved but working on a route this evening its painful, slow and frustrating not having them at hand. While their chosen short cut keys follow the Windows convention, unlike cut and paste, select all, save and print, etc. I don't actually recall ever working with any other person since Windows superseded DOS that actually uses them. While many programs do have these functions as part of edit drop down menus practically all also include then as part of any general button menu at the top of the screen. For those who don't or seldom use surveyor, editing a route has become a little like using a web browser without having previous and next page buttons.

    To a lesser extent I think the same can be said for the pick-list and the wire frame buttons. I switch the pick list on to select a preferred asset and off to clear the screen to build. The wire fame is convenient to switch in and out when contouring terrain which has already been textured. Peter

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    1,642
     

    Default

    I've made one or two posts about this issue already, I am happy now that there is a thread by a respected route builder that agrees that they should be replaced along with the other buttons that were along side them, they are all route building tools that are needed in the open, not hidden.

    Undo/Redo, Wire Frame, Quick Drive, Pick lists.

    Makes you wonder if anyone at N3V actually builds routes on a daily basis.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States of America, CA
    Posts
    2,872
     

    Default

    You can count me in also, and while doing that, in CM please separate on the Content menu "Disable/Enable" and "Delete" buttons! Us folks with poor eye site hit the wrong buttons! Please, if nothing else, can you have confirmation "Are you Sure!" pop-up when choosing these commands.

    Thanks,
    John, a senior citizen Trainzer

  8. #8

    Default

    Phil - as I just mentioned at Trainsim dot Com I was going to start a petition, but see you have already done so.

    Apologies for shoutie, but...

    YES PLEASE, N3V REINSTATE THE OLD SURVEYOR MENU SYSTEM INCLUDING UNDO/REDO BUTTONS ON TOP OF THE SCREEN!
    TRS 2019 Coach Class (Former Customer)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,799
    Blog Entries
    4
     

    Default

    I too have noticed the sudden lack, or hidden-ness, of Undo/Redo and QuickDrive buttons, as well as QuickDrive in the session list, and I would love to see them come back to their old spots.

    Matt
    Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20GHz
    PNY GTX 1070 GPU, 8GB GDDR5
    16 GB 3000Mhz DDR4 RAM
    275GB SSD + 1TB HDD

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Alabama, Birmingham
    Posts
    3,134
     

    Default

    I wish you all luck with your effort but this issue came up in the beta testing forum when it was first changed and the response was that the menu bar was updated in appearance to match the changes in Driver. All the protest then didn't get it changed back. You all make very valid arguments, I hope someone is listening.

    William

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    1,642
     

    Default

    So they give us for free a useless part of an advanced feature that Standard TRS19 users don't get access to?
    If that is part of the unified surveyor/driver then I certainly won't be in the front of the queue to buy a subscription or Platinum Edition.

    Luckily I kept an install (100240) that still has a useable toolbar before I up (down) graded to SP1.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    6,824
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by philskene View Post
    Anybody here who constructs routes and layouts knows that THE two most important buttons in Surveyor are the Undo / Redo buttons.
    Sorry but I could not disagree more. I construct routes and layouts and never use those buttons. Ctrl-Z and Ctrl-Y (which are common to every other Windows software that I know of) work fine for me. I note that the window in which I am typing this response lacks any such buttons. Likewise my favourite graphics editor Gimp.
    TRS19 Platinum 105100 - TRS19 SP1 (standard) 105096 - TANE SP4 105766

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    3,628
     

    Default

    Just restore the top line buttons.
    Dick near Pittsburgh, Pa. i5-2500K 4.3ghz, 8gb memory, GTX1060 4gb video card

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,992
     

    Default

    I am not a route builder, but the now buried "Undo/Redo" buttons were so easily usable on the top bar when using the bulk asset replacement tool. Why hide them in a menu? Not convenient at all!

  15. #15

    Default

    I really don’t understand the fuss about the removal of the undo button.
    Everyone who has been using a PC for over a month to do any kind of work on should know by now CTRL-Z is the shortcut for undo. Not just Trainz, but every half serious piece of software. Word, Excel, Blender, Notepad, just to name a few. Assuming you have your mouse in your right hand, CTRL-Z is conveniently located near (or in my case under) your left hand and as a result almost always faster than having to move your mouse all the way to some tiny button somewhere on the screen.
    To be honest... if it wasn’t for this topic I would probably not even notice the button (missing).

    I agree removing the (other) buttons is a bad idea. I am sure they also have shortcuts, but use them too infrequent to remember.

    Anyway,
    I guess you will get a hotfix at some point to restore them. If not, memorize the shortcuts and move on. Maybe write them on a Post-it and stick it to the top of your screen?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •