.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Adjusting Gradients in TMR2017

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,022
     

    Default Adjusting Gradients in TMR2017

    When I am tracklaying and I want to climb a grade, I use the gradient tool and set a basic value like 1.00. Then, when I am fine tuning the tracks and want to adjust the height of a vertex I open the Mapview and zoom in close to watch the values between each vertex change. I cannot do this in TMR2017. The font used to display gradient is so tiny it is unreadable and NEVER changes when you zoom in or out. For all practical purposes, the display gradient feature is useless.

    And, speaking of gradients, When using the height-adjust tool, there is no on-screen display of the current height of the vertex, such as that displayed by a object's height when adjusting a house, for instance. Typing values into the "use this height" window and applying it hit-or-miss is time-consuming and frustrating, especially since the editing of the tiny box isn't perfect and you get outlandish values unless you highlight ALL the numbers and re-type them.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (CTR1, USN, Retired 1961--1980)
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (build 94808)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,349
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HiBaller View Post
    When I am tracklaying and I want to climb a grade, I use the gradient tool and set a basic value like 1.00. Then, when I am fine tuning the tracks and want to adjust the height of a vertex I open the Mapview and zoom in close to watch the values between each vertex change. I cannot do this in TMR2017. The font used to display gradient is so tiny it is unreadable and NEVER changes when you zoom in or out. For all practical purposes, the display gradient feature is useless.

    And, speaking of gradients, When using the height-adjust tool, there is no on-screen display of the current height of the vertex, such as that displayed by a object's height when adjusting a house, for instance. Typing values into the "use this height" window and applying it hit-or-miss is time-consuming and frustrating, especially since the editing of the tiny box isn't perfect and you get outlandish values unless you highlight ALL the numbers and re-type them.

    Bill
    Yup. We've asked for a dynamic height display for this in the past. Maybe it's something that needs to be brought up again.

    I never use apply grade either and use the height tool, check grade and repeat until I get my grade right. Having that ability to see what we're adjusting is sorely and sadly missed.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,022
     

    Default

    Thanks, John. I figure the odds to this happening as being the same as being hit by a falling asteroid while riding an elephant in downtown Los Angeles. I sure wish we could have access to fonts, their colors and sizes. the CM with that horrible faint gray on brilliant white just doesn't make it for my 77-year-old trifocal eyes.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (CTR1, USN, Retired 1961--1980)
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (build 94808)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    524
     

    Default

    I keep a magnifying glass handy, and a desktop flexible goose neck magnifier glass, and use Dollar Store reading glass's, as well as using the MS Magnifier and stretch and compact and custom adjust the lens to be a small 3/4" x 1 1/2" size and slide it around and keep it near my surveyor gradient/height window(s). I always apply 3 gradients, then go back 4 gradients, and re-check that they are not off, and then shuffle ahead another 3 gradients, constantly re-checking my previous 3 gradients in back. I am completely obsessive compulsive, and measure and adjust my 4 tracked adjacent spline point heights to be EXACTLY the same height reading. I get very upset at myself if my tracklaying is off by 3/4" scale inch I adjusted my TrainzOptions: SurveyorFOV to be the numeral =35 so I am always as zoomed in as much as possible
    Last edited by MP242; December 20th, 2019 at 03:18 PM.
    My 4325 car RGCX train is 53.24 miles long, and takes 1 hour to pass through town !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,022
     

    Default

    The trouble is that a magnifying glass doesn't help on the minimap. The numerals are just too tiny and pixellate when magnified. I bet those characters are around 6 to at the most 10 pixels high. Just a blob to me and of NO help at all when adjusting gradients.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (CTR1, USN, Retired 1961--1980)
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (build 94808)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,349
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HiBaller View Post
    The trouble is that a magnifying glass doesn't help on the minimap. The numerals are just too tiny and pixellate when magnified. I bet those characters are around 6 to at the most 10 pixels high. Just a blob to me and of NO help at all when adjusting gradients.

    Bill
    I ran into the same issue with early T:ANE and then the TMR2017 versions. Subsequent service packs and TRS2019 fixed the problem of ants on the screen.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    524
     

    Default

    In previous Trainz versions, there was an "options" Page where you could select many did different screen resolutions, making numerals larger or smaller
    My 4325 car RGCX train is 53.24 miles long, and takes 1 hour to pass through town !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,022
     

    Default

    In this particular instance, screen resolution doesn't come into play. The resolution is just fine for most everything, but the items on the mini-map simply will not expand when everything else is zoomed in. The track itself will enlarge, but the gradient readings stay the same tiny numbers.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (CTR1, USN, Retired 1961--1980)
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (build 94808)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    524
     

    Default

    I rarly use the mini map, and instead check my gradient/height numerals by clicking on the track, and viewing it in the surveyor window boxes.
    My 4325 car RGCX train is 53.24 miles long, and takes 1 hour to pass through town !

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Ohio
    Posts
    4,022
     

    Default

    But if I am adjusting the vertical movement of a vertice, the mini-map is an invaluable tool to make sure you aren't messing up an adjacent gradient. TMR2017 doesn't have the running height adjustment that TANE and all the rest have available on-screen as you adjust height.

    Bill
    Name: Bill (CTR1, USN, Retired 1961--1980)
    User ID: 202442
    Trainzer since: 2003
    Currently using: T:ANE (build 94808)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •