.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Splash Screen

  1. #1

    Default Splash Screen

    Is there any way to change the Splash Screen (I am not sure if that is what you call it), the screen that comes up while waiting for the main menu? I am getting a bit tired of the Rocky Mountaineer picture.
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1225 v3 @ 3.20GHz, 3201 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States of America, In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    452
     

    Default

    Yes it can be changed, as that image is very, very, annoying, but I usually go out in the kitchen and brew a cup of coffee while it completes.

    I also changed my Windows10 screen image, to an "Iceland Ice Cave" image, as Windows10 screen was also totally blindingly annoying !
    Last edited by MP242; December 10th, 2019 at 03:34 PM.
    My 4325 car RGCX train is 53.24 miles long, and takes 1 hour to pass through town !

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    Yes it can be change
    I am pretty sure he is not only interested in if it can be done, but would also like to know how.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States of America, In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    452
     

    Default

    Well I'm not gonna' ruin his PC, by telling him how to do it, I'll ruin my own PC
    My 4325 car RGCX train is 53.24 miles long, and takes 1 hour to pass through town !

  5. #5

    Default

    You do know this is going to motivate people to just post "it can be solved", "it can be done", "I know the answer" or something similar the next time you post a question, right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    913
     

    Default

    edited - It is easy but since it messes with the product logo and name I would never recommend changing it.
    Last edited by 1611mac; December 10th, 2019 at 05:24 PM.
    TRS19 SP1(Plus), Plus-105100, Plus Beta-105100
    ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    26,149
     

    Default

    I would be leery touching program files like that as much as I too would like a different splash screen. The problem is touching a program file can cause updates to fail due to unknown errors that will require reinstallation and the possibility of losing data.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019/Trainz-PLUS: 105100

  8. #8

    Default

    I love all the replies!!! However, it looks like I am going to be stuck with that screen. Just maybe.....the people at Auran would come up with something!!
    Last edited by deighton; December 10th, 2019 at 08:01 PM.
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1225 v3 @ 3.20GHz, 3201 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Maine, Bangor
    Posts
    60
     

    Default

    It's only a .bmp file so I don't think it will have any effect on the game as long as you make the new one the same size.


    Not currently available for TANE

  10. #10

    Default

    I like that one! How did you do it?
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1225 v3 @ 3.20GHz, 3201 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti

  11. #11

    Default

    I figured out one screen with the BMP file. But how about the screen (same pic) that shows up when you load a route?
    Last edited by deighton; December 10th, 2019 at 08:39 PM.
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1225 v3 @ 3.20GHz, 3201 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Maine, Bangor
    Posts
    60
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deighton View Post
    I figured out one screen with the BMP file. But how about the screen (same pic) that shows up when you load a route?
    Good question. I'll see if I can find that screen.

    EDIT: You may have to live with that one. I can't find a separate image and I don't fool with any game files other than .BMPs. As mentioned earlier, that could cause serious problems.
    Last edited by Overshoe; December 10th, 2019 at 11:08 PM.
    Not currently available for TANE

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    15,481
     

    Default

    May affect future updates and patches if the md5 hash or whatever N3V use, is different for any files, which if using a different bmp it will be, so keep the original somewhere.
    Malc


  14. #14

    Default

    Yes, I have a backup of the original BMP. Still..I think it would enhance the program if we had some choice with this issue. Again, after having looked at that Rocky Mountaineer for many hours.......so I guess I'll do what MP242 does: go somewhere else while it loads the route.

    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1225 v3 @ 3.20GHz, 3201 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    913
     

    Default

    Things to do while waiting on splash screen to clear:
    - Clean monitor screen
    - Open another candy bar (keep chocolate fingers off of keyboard)
    - Clip fingernails
    - Scratch your cat (or dog, or fish) behind the ear. (Dry fingers if fish)
    - Wash out socks (phew!)
    - Review your "honey do" list so you can enjoy what you are not doing
    - Trim those bushy eyebrows
    - etc

    edit: Attempt at humor only... Things load quickly and nicely for me! I would rather see an old BN SD45 with grime all over it though....
    Last edited by 1611mac; December 11th, 2019 at 11:06 AM.
    TRS19 SP1(Plus), Plus-105100, Plus Beta-105100
    ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •