.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Getting "Lost" Built-in objects back

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Banora Point
    Posts
    234
     

    Default Getting "Lost" Built-in objects back

    Greetings.
    When I moved my routes into TRS19 I managed to "lose" two of Dom Sarto's intersection objects.
    I can't quite remember how I did it, but I now find I don't want to be without them and I'd like to get them back.

    They were on the DLS - now they are Built-In.
    Is there any way I can retrieve these two objects from the abyss?
    They are DS Junction.

    If the suggestion is "re-install" - is that going to effect anything I've done since I started work in TRS19?

    Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers
    Nick E

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    15,468
     

    Default

    Check they are not modified or open for edit, in either case revert to original.
    Malc


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Banora Point
    Posts
    234
     

    Default

    Thanks for the reply Malc.
    They are not listed to allow me to do that.
    by the way - thanks for all your stuff. I use quite a bit of it on my Australian route.
    Some of your buildings, roads etc fit nicely.
    Being careful with the camera view some of your trees and shrubs (particularly hedges) still work for me.
    Cheers

  4. #4

    Default

    DS Junction is on the DLS, there are 3, Just select and download this version.
    <kuid:342053:25709> DS Junction WCL 1
    <kuid2:342053:25712:1> DS Junction WCL 2
    <kuid:342053:25723> DS Junction WCL 3

    They may be open for edit after download so commit them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Banora Point
    Posts
    234
     

    Default

    Thank you Stagecoach.

    Giving me the kuid numbers set me looking again and they came up as Unknown Assets. Didn't have them so you are a big help).
    On looking I found I could download them from the DLS - however all three came up as "Third Party, Faulty".
    First time I've ever seen that with a Downloaded asset.
    The faults seem to be
    VE218. Asset has duplicate attached track at Track 1 | Track 2 | Track 3 | or Track 4
    Junction WCL 2 has been upgraded to 3.5 yet still has the same problem as the 2 earlier assets.

    Can anyone shed some light on this problem - and a way to fix it?
    (tried Open for Edit and Reverting to Original - same outcome).
    Appreciate any help given.
    Thanks
    NickE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    3,127
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nicke View Post
    VE218. Asset has duplicate attached track at Track 1 | Track 2 | Track 3 | or Track 4
    For instance, in DS Junction WCL 1,<kuid:342053:25709> you will see:

    Code:
      road2
      {
        track                               <kuid2:342053:37015:1>
        useadjoiningtracktype               0
        
        vertices
        {
          0                                 "a.road2a"
          1                                 "a.road2a"
          2                                 "a.road2b"
          3                                 "a.road0b"
          4                                 "a.road0a"
        }
      }
    Attachment a.road2a has been used twice. This is not permitted. It should probably be
    Code:
      road2
      {
        track                               <kuid2:342053:37015:1>
        useadjoiningtracktype               0
        
        vertices
        {
          0                                 "a.road2a"
          1                                 "a.road2b"
          2                                 "a.road0b"
          3                                 "a.road0a"
        }
      }
    however it is worth checking the actual locations of the attachment points in the mesh to ensure that the path through the attachment points is as intended.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Banora Point
    Posts
    234
     

    Default

    Thank you Sailor Dan for looking into this for me.

    I cloned WCL 1 and took out the duplicate line.
    Unfortunately, it didn't fix it.

    The same error messages came up.
    VE218. Asset has duplicate attached track at Track 1 | Track 2.

    I'm lost because "Track" only comes up once in the config - it's the same for each of the "Roads".

    Any additional suggestions would be most welcome.
    Again thanks for the help
    (Hope you have a mild cyclone season)
    Cheers



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    3,127
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nicke View Post
    The same error messages came up.
    VE218. Asset has duplicate attached track at Track 1 | Track 2.
    The remaining errors relate to track segments, not attachment points. The description in the help text applies only to points. For reasons that are inexplicable the correct error message for this problem has been superseded with a new message, and only a partial description of the problem and solution has been copied across. The correct, complete description is here.

    You can see from that example that there are duplicated segments between different tracks. The system would not know which definition to use to lay that particular portion of the spline, so it is not permitted. The duplication is removed by deleting one end of the segment. Where the tracks 'join' within the mesh, the likely candidate for deletion is the edge connection point. The below is error-free, but whether or not it does what you need should be checked.

    Code:
    attached-track
    {
      road0
      {
        track                               <kuid2:342053:37015:1>
        useadjoiningtracktype               0
        
        vertices
        {
          0                                 "a.road0a"
          1                                 "a.road0b"
          2                                 "a.road0c"
          3                                 "a.road0d"
          4                                 "a.road0e"
          5                                 "a.road0f"
          6                                 "a.road0g"
        }
      }
      
      road1
      {
        track                               <kuid2:342053:37015:1>
        useadjoiningtracktype               0
        
        vertices
        {
          0                                 "a.road0g"
          1                                 "a.road1a"
          2                                 "a.road1b"
          3                                 "a.road1c"
          4                                 "a.road1d"
          5                                 "a.road1e"
        }
      }
      
      road2
      {
        track                               <kuid2:342053:37015:1>
        useadjoiningtracktype               0
        
        vertices
        {
          0                                 "a.road2a"
          1                                 "a.road2b"
          2                                 "a.road0b"
        }
      }
    }

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Banora Point
    Posts
    234
     

    Default



    Success!
    My sincere thanks Sailor Dan for your effort.
    I appreciate your kindness.

    Thanks again and best wishes.
    Nick

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Banora Point
    Posts
    234
     

    Default


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •