Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7

Best decision would be to upgrade to W10, by far the best version ever.
A couple of points
- have all you documents on a drive other than C:\, I have done this for years, started with XP.
- run CCleaner-
- backup all important work externally.
Dich previous version completely, however in my case I still run a Dell XP machine so that I am able to use my stand alone scanner which needs USB2 and some other early Windows OS to run.

I'm no expert, but it should be possible to run Win 7 in a Virtual Box on your Win 10 machine. I still have a Win XP computer which I use to run older hardware such as a scanner & etc and that has Win 7 set up in a Virtual Box and it works fine. I forget exactly why I setup Win 7 like that, but it was something to do with working around a hardware/software issue.

I've moved boot hard disks and an SSD from one PC to another without issues. Windows will probably complain about a hardware change but I always managed to get past that.

I don't have issues with Win10 after I stripped all the rubbish from it. Looks much like Win 7 now. Win 8 was the version I really detested.

If your PC was originally Windows7 and you followed the free update route, you can download from Microsoft a Windows7 ISO to re-install it on your PC, but you have to supply the Windows7 product reference code to get the download. This may or may not be on a sticker on your PC depending on how the original OS was installed.

If you have more then 4GB of RAM or can upgrade your motherboard to get more than 4GB then Windows10 is the best long-term option. At 4GB or less, Windows7 is far less heavy on the PC than Windows10, according to my side-by-side comparisons.