.
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 44 of 44

Thread: Forum keeps logging me out.

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, South Jersey
    Posts
    1,774
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Could be an issue with the DNS server? maybe try a different one?
    How would I do that? By the way I'm using Firefox for this post to see if that makes a difference.

    Bob Pearson
    TRAINZ-UTC-TRS04-TRS06-TC1&2-TC3-TS09-TS10-TS12-TANE(TEG)-TMR17-TS19
    Member since 6-14-2002

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,826
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RPearson View Post
    How would I do that? By the way I'm using Firefox for this post to see if that makes a difference.

    Bob Pearson
    Try resetting your internet router. (It's simple - a little button in the back, or unplug it and replug it back it).

    The reason for this is routers will cache DNS addresses and sometimes they do not update the address changes very well. I've had that issue too where I can't connect to a server, or can't login for some reason, but resetting the router helped.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    15,269
     

    Default

    Or you can set the DNS on the PC under ethernet properties TCP/IPv4 or TCP/IPv6 depending on what your ISP uses or use the very handy DNS Jumper program, which will find the fastest one, overrides whatever the router is using.
    Malc


  4. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Peoria
    Posts
    402
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    Lets all screw up our internet settings because one site (this one) continuously burps and logs us out.

    Make sense to me!
    Toujours Prêt!

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    15,269
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazytrain View Post
    Lets all screw up our internet settings because one site (this one) continuously burps and logs us out.

    Make sense to me!

    It can actually as not all DNS servers are at the same state of update some can hold out of date info, My previous ISP kept failing on DLS downloads, changing the DNS server to Open DNS fixed it.
    Malc


  6. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Peoria
    Posts
    402
    Blog Entries
    2
     

    Default

    Nothing has changed on my part. Don't use cookies, cache clears when closed, everything is reset daily computer/router/etc. and no way I'm turning off add blocker.

    And now I'm reading suggestions to change DNS settings.

    No thanks, I'll just wait for either N3V or the ISP to get with the program.
    Toujours Prêt!

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    England, Wiltshire, Semley
    Posts
    46
     

    Default

    It started doing it to me today, after reading one sub-forum I navigated to another and found I had to log in again. I've had no problems at all before.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    1,280
     

    Default

    Still happening ...Ref post #19

    This is the only forum that is giving me this problem and the only one that had a DDoS..

    Why was I not authorised to make a post when I am logged in?

    I am going to make a post with screenshots in, in another thread, let's see how that goes.

    I have not messed with my DNS settings and don't really want to.

    Edit....

    I just got told again that I am not authorised to make changes to my post, got logged out.

    I just wanted to add that I found this post ..

    https://forum.vbulletin.com/forum/vb...-certain-links

    Not a techie myself, but would the forum DNS be changed temporarily during the DDoS episode?
    Last edited by euromodeller; November 17th, 2019 at 04:20 AM.
    Graham,

    A member of TCWW

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    336
    Blog Entries
    3
     

    Default

    I've reset some settings, the issue seemed to only affect some people. I for example was logged in for several days with no issues. I have however reverted the changes now so see if that helps.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    1,280
     

    Default

    I just made a reply to a post and................

    I did not get logged out.

    Thanks Spiffy!
    Graham,

    A member of TCWW

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    1,280
     

    Default

    Just a quick line to say that my log in problems seem to be cured.
    I wonder if the other members problems are solved?
    Graham,

    A member of TCWW

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, South Jersey
    Posts
    1,774
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    My situation has gotten pretty much back to normal also since last night. Hopefully all of those who got caught up by the forum hic-up are back to normal.

    Thanks for hanging in there for us, Graham.

    Much appreciated,

    Bob Pearson

    PS. Also thanks to all the others who made suggestions trying to help us out.
    Last edited by RPearson; November 18th, 2019 at 08:37 AM.
    TRAINZ-UTC-TRS04-TRS06-TC1&2-TC3-TS09-TS10-TS12-TANE(TEG)-TMR17-TS19
    Member since 6-14-2002

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America, Fla., Spring Hill
    Posts
    694
     

    Default

    Been doing the same to me for the last few days, so I dont think it has anything to do with out settings, its all on the other side, and I dont know why Tony hasn't said anything, HELLO.

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    15,269
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayco-man View Post
    Been doing the same to me for the last few days, so I dont think it has anything to do with out settings, its all on the other side, and I dont know why Tony hasn't said anything, HELLO.

    Because its been dealt with by the Admin? https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...86#post1778886

    If you are still getting problems then contact the help desk as it seems to have been fixed for everyone else.
    Malc


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •