.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Information: TRS19 mouse pointer can no longer precisely discern objects

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Harrison
    Posts
    2,219
     

    Unhappy Information: TRS19 mouse pointer can no longer precisely discern objects

    Folks,

    If you are designing routes or sessions in TRS19 you need to be aware of a problem that you will need to work around involving placement of objects. It has recently come to light in TRS19 that the mouse pointer has been changed by N3V so that it is no longer able to precisely discern a small object placed near, or overlaid on, a larger object.

    Example: if I place a BI2 industry track on an industry having a large footprint, such as one of my Meat Packing Plants, you will no longer be able to identify it, move it, rotate it or configure it. This will also happen if you place the BI2 track near a larger object as well.

    While the example I give is for a BI2 industry track it also applies just as equally to any object placed near or on a larger object.

    Any older route or session brought into TRS19 will also see this issue. There is a work around available, although it may create a fair amount of work for you to implement for older routes or sessions.

    See this forum thread for full details on this problem:

    https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...ems-with-TRS19

    Bob
    Master Sergeant/E8, U.S. Army, Retired (1972-1993)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United States of America, WA, Mill Creek
    Posts
    54
     

    Default

    The way I get around this problem is to assign the larger object to a different layer (i.e. Temp), then Hide the Temp layer. I can now select the small object.

    Didrik

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Colorado, Colorado Springs
    Posts
    506
     

    Default

    Maybe what we need is a rule that searches for all the industry track and allows selection for their properties. Will have to think about it. Those wiser than I are welcome to comment.
    I7-8700K
    1070Ti
    PCIe SSD operation (program and build)

  4. #4

    Default

    This is not new, I have run into this often in T:ANE....
    “We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best we can find in our travels is an honest friend.” ― R.L.S.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    5,696
     

    Default

    It's actually TANE + TR19 that uses "convex hulls" to identify collision meshes (so it has been around for over 5 years).

    And rather than "near" another object, it needs to be "within the collision mesh" which is usually the outer limits of the object.

    You could also add to this announcement:

    N3V made this change, to improve performance (by up to 50% in certain cases).

    And also:

    Improvements to a range of tools in Surveyor are on our To Do list.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Harrison
    Posts
    2,219
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony_Hilliam View Post
    It's actually TANE + TR19 that uses "convex hulls" to identify collision meshes (so it has been around for over 5 years).

    And rather than "near" another object, it needs to be "within the collision mesh" which is usually the outer limits of the object.

    You could also add to this announcement:

    N3V made this change, to improve performance (by up to 50% in certain cases).

    And also:

    Improvements to a range of tools in Surveyor are on our To Do list.
    Tony:

    One of the reasons I put in the link to the original thread where this was discussed, so everyone could see all sides of this issue, to include the information you provided in that thread on this issue.

    Bob
    Master Sergeant/E8, U.S. Army, Retired (1972-1993)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Harrison
    Posts
    2,219
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Forester1 View Post
    This is not new, I have run into this often in T:ANE....
    Maybe, but it sure seems a lot worse in TRS19 then it did in T:ANE. FYI I upgraded all 14 of my old routes from TRS2012 to separate T:ANE versions and don't remember running into the problems I have run into with this in TRS19, nor were there any reports from my T:ANE version route or session users of that problem..

    Bob
    Master Sergeant/E8, U.S. Army, Retired (1972-1993)

  8. #8

    Thumbs up I plan on using separate layers now and in the future for my Routes.....

    Thanks Bob and others for the good info on Bounding Box parameters,

    I already have the problem with several items, and for me, have decided, that Layers of which I understand well, will have to now become part of my Routes life too tone down these Asset boundaries collision issues......I thought it was just me doing something not quite right with placements, but it did seem with TRS2019, it was more pronounced than earlier versions.........

    Just means more work for me, but I will do it to for easier manipulation of later added items or deletion, either action in a close boundary issue causes a problem........

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Harrison
    Posts
    2,219
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blueodessey View Post
    I thought it was just me doing something not quite right with placements, but it did seem with TRS2019, it was more pronounced than earlier versions.........

    Just means more work for me, but I will do it to for easier manipulation of later added items or deletion, either action in a close boundary issue causes a problem........
    This is the major reason I posted this information in this section of the forum so that other route and session developers would know about this issue, what causes it, work arounds, and it is not something they are doing wrong. For some time I could not figure out what was causing this problem on my routes and sessions, but now I know what causes this problem, who caused it, and why it was done by N3V, along with things you can do get around it.

    Bob
    Master Sergeant/E8, U.S. Army, Retired (1972-1993)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •