.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22

Thread: New computer and problem with Trainz

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,385
     

    Default

    The hardware should be fine. Have you disabled the real-time malware scanning of your TRS19 data folder? That can wreak havoc on the program performance.

    I have also found too that certain assets can cause this and I have had a grand pause or two in particular areas on a route that required painstaking asset replacement to sort out. The thing is the assets were fine in a previous build, but somehow the data became corrupted and that caused the performance drop.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,973
     

    Default

    Firstly need to get confirmation on if that is a genuine GTX1080, a fake, not what was supposedly fitted or a misreading utility or even a typo, as there is no such thing as a 4GB GTX1080.
    Malc


  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,122
     

    Default

    Belarc scanner might help. belarc.com

    Cheerio John

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,973
     

    Default

    CPUz or HWiNFO will both read newer GPU's properly Belarc does not record GPU Memory size. Just checked

    Fake GPU's have had the bios of an old GPU hacked to give a false version.
    Malc


  5. #20
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Ararat
    Posts
    161
     

    Default

    Thanks everyone.

    Haven’t had a chance to have a look at your suggestions, as I have been away for a few days.

    It isn’t a fake 1080 card as the card was transferred from my old machine, and originally purchased from a reputable dealer.

    Will check other suggestions over the next few days, and get back to you.

    Many thanks for your support and attempts to help me.

    Much appreciated,

    Russell

  6. #21
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Ararat
    Posts
    161
     

    Default

    Just checked with CPUz, and it is reporting 8G of memory on the 1080 nvidia graphics.

    Russell

  7. #22
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Ararat
    Posts
    161
     

    Default

    You wouldn't believe it. "*&&%$^&^%$#%^&"

    Going through your suggestions above, I have discovered that, in my keenness to get into trainz on the new computer I had plugged into the intel graphics card. Something I should have picked up earlier.
    Everything is now steaming ahead with the nvidia card.

    Thank you wonderful people for your help and assistance, and apologies if I have wasted your time.

    Regards,

    Russell
    Last edited by rmdk22; August 19th, 2019 at 06:22 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •