.
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 82

Thread: Sydney Cityrail 2020 Project (In Development)

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thebigman View Post
    G'day Roy,

    Welcome back to Trainz!

    I remember your project quite well with great anticipation, and was sorry to hear what had happened with all the work that was lost.

    Not sure if you are aware but I have created a number of NSW station assets such as signage and seats etc; for the CityRail/Countrylink era, as well as assets for the modern Sydney Trains/NSW Trainlink era, including an Opal Top Up/Ticket Machine as well as Opal pole readers, which may be of help to you.

    Looking forward very much to your new project!

    Cheers,

    Matt
    I did have a backup of the entire route saved on my domain where my website was. However the domain provider decided they were no longer going to provide a domain called .au.com and apparently they claimed they sent me notification which I never received. When they deleted my domain i lost my backup of Cityrail 2008 as well as all my emails.

    All of the pictures for the project in this forum also disappeared when my website was removed as the pictures were stored on my domain. I complained that they should have had something in writing from me before removing my domain name.... but well that's how the entire Sydney route died a decade ago.

    My backup procedures are a thousand times better in 2019.
    Last edited by rjord1; July 20th, 2019 at 06:24 PM.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    240
     

    Default

    Roy
    For signals check out DRKD data. Just search Google for DRKD.

    BTW.
    I've a working copy of the Sydney Metro area, dem based, all major lines etc, not much scenery but track infrastructure reasonably true to real life as much as can be achieved in surveyor.
    PG
    Win10-64bit, Intel I7, 16GB RAM, TANE on SSD.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PGibbons View Post
    Roy
    For signals check out DRKD data. Just search Google for DRKD.

    BTW.
    I've a working copy of the Sydney Metro area, dem based, all major lines etc, not much scenery but track infrastructure reasonably true to real life as much as can be achieved in surveyor.
    PG
    Oh nice..... that would have taken a while to get that all done. I had originally tried to have DEM included in this project..... even purchased TranzDEM ..... but had been unable to get it to work.

    Thanks for the tip on the signals.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206
     

    Default

    PGibbons

    Thanks for the tip about DRKD data...... exactly what I need.

    Roy

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Australia, QLD, Redcliffe
    Posts
    2,944
     

    Default

    Hey Roy,

    That link to the train-operating-conditions is quite useful, platform lengths, etc. I may have to apply a few adjustments to my route after reading through it.

    I keep telling myself "This is just a hobby - if I make a few mistakes, who would know." lol

    I don't suppose they had a similar publication dated back to the 1950s ?

    Google Earth has been kind to me, showing the obsolete trackwork in the Darling Harbour area,... but I'm not really convinced that I've got it right just yet.

    By the way, have a look through elstoko's NSWGR assets, particularly his catenary, which are set to the correct height; and his range of pro-track. Ranger_51 has the NSW signals, which also include wall-mounted tunnel signals.

    Cheers,
    Roy
    Last edited by Roy3b3; July 20th, 2019 at 11:50 PM.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Roy3b3 View Post
    Hey Roy,

    That link to the train-operating-conditions is quite useful, platform lengths, etc. I may have to apply a few adjustments to my route after reading through it.

    I keep telling myself "This is just a hobby - if I make a few mistakes, who would know." lol

    I don't suppose they had a similar publication dated back to the 1950s ?

    Google Earth has been kind to me, showing the obsolete trackwork in the Darling Harbour area,... but I'm not really convinced that I've got it right just yet.

    By the way, have a look through elstoko's NSWGR assets, particularly his catenary, which are set to the correct height; and his range of pro-track. Ranger_51 has the NSW signals, which also include wall-mounted tunnel signals.

    Cheers,
    Roy

    I did find this 1939 Network map which you could find of use
    https://i.imgur.com/vxlKxNN.jpg

    A few differences from todays map and you would need to add in the Ropes Creek Line which was added in 1942, but then closed in the 1980's.
    You can see the now closed line going to Camden.
    You can get some data from that line by going here https://www.nswrail.net/lines/show.php?name=NSW:camden
    which shows coordinates for each of the stations that were eventually closed 1963

    The black lines show the lines that were not electrified in 1939. You could do some research to find if any of those lines were electrified by 1950.

    Riverwood Station would also need to renamed to Herne Bay railway station


    Last edited by rjord1; July 21st, 2019 at 01:52 AM.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Australia, QLD, Redcliffe
    Posts
    2,944
     

    Default

    Thanks Roy,

    I was actually interested in the goods line track layout from Eveleigh to Darling Harbour, then to Johnsons Bay and Rozelle yards.

    I've used Google Earth Pro showing the obsolete track, which will have to do.

    Cheers mate,
    Roy

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Roy3b3 View Post
    Thanks Roy,

    I was actually interested in the goods line track layout from Eveleigh to Darling Harbour, then to Johnsons Bay and Rozelle yards.

    I've used Google Earth Pro showing the obsolete track, which will have to do.

    Cheers mate,
    Roy
    i am currently looking at adding DEM for the entire Sydney network and in a youtube video I was watching it mentioned using JOSM for Openstreet and the interesting thing was that in the video JOSM had shown where obsolete track was..... will let you know if it shows this for Eveleigh to Darling Harbour and Johnsons Bay and Rozelle yards.

    My DEM map will likely be covering 130km wide by 130km height.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Australia, QLD, Redcliffe
    Posts
    2,944
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rjord1 View Post
    i am currently looking at adding DEM for the entire Sydney network and in a youtube video I was watching it mentioned using JOSM for Openstreet and the interesting thing was that in the video JOSM had shown where obsolete track was..... will let you know if it shows this for Eveleigh to Darling Harbour and Johnsons Bay and Rozelle yards.

    My DEM map will likely be covering 130km wide by 130km height.

    Thanks mate,

    However, please don't waste too much of your time with it, mainly because I've already laid the track for the area, and I was curious to verify what I've done, was close to the mark.

    I'd also looked at OpenStreetMap some time ago, with 'walking pages'. This was a far more complicated system than using Google Earth Pro, which has a simple 'walk-around' built-in.

    Although today, I tend to use 'Google Maps' instead, because it has additional 'view-points' that GEP doesn't have and it has sharper images.

    Good luck with your route.

    Cheers,
    Roy

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206
     

    Default

    Instead of my painstakingly creating the entire Sydney route one track piece at a time, I may be able to use Trainzdem to lay not only the rail track but the roads as well at the same time as adding the height terrain to the project.

    This could save me 12 to 24 months of work and allow me to go straight into designing the buildings and scenery for the project.

    I am still pondering whether I should have this project broken down into smaller parts such as the T4 Eastern Suburbs and Illawarra line.
    Adding rail and road is one thing but adding the scenery as well brings up one question.

    Would the resulting route even be playable without the latest super computer?

    If the project is broken into smaller segments then each would be connected to the yards at Enfield, Chullora and Clyde.



    Last edited by rjord1; July 24th, 2019 at 09:36 AM.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Churchill
    Posts
    1,517
     

    Default

    Sure Transdem will lay some track, but you still have to apply the gradients, points, signals, track in yards, catenary (that will do your head in) etc. I've never seen Transdem make roads, but I could be mistaken. The South Coast line I am producing with Taggy has taken years to get to the point of adding scenery. Even with working on it constantly it would still take 18 months at least to complete the scenery. As far as needing a super computer goes, yep, you probably will. My 2 year old mid range desktop struggles at times.

    A route this size, if done properly to a high standard, would be a minimum 3 year build as it contains lots of fiddly urban areas. My advice Roy, would be to start small, develop your pallette and style and once done move onto the next piece. You can merge them all together later. I'm used to working with big routes, but for some they can be daunting. Don't bite off more than you can chew and you won't lose sight of the light at the end of the tunnel.
    cheers
    Graeme

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Australia, QLD, Redcliffe
    Posts
    2,944
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grazlash View Post
    Sure Transdem will lay some track, but you still have to apply the gradients, points, signals, track in yards, catenary (that will do your head in) etc. I've never seen Transdem make roads, but I could be mistaken. The South Coast line I am producing with Taggy has taken years to get to the point of adding scenery. Even with working on it constantly it would still take 18 months at least to complete the scenery. As far as needing a super computer goes, yep, you probably will. My 2 year old mid range desktop struggles at times.

    A route this size, if done properly to a high standard, would be a minimum 3 year build as it contains lots of fiddly urban areas. My advice Roy, would be to start small, develop your pallette and style and once done move onto the next piece. You can merge them all together later. I'm used to working with big routes, but for some they can be daunting. Don't bite off more than you can chew and you won't lose sight of the light at the end of the tunnel.
    cheers
    Graeme
    Well said Graeme.

    We all have different limitations to what we can do or achieve. Some people may be faster than others to complete a route, but then,..is the quality there.

    Meanwhile time is running out for all of us and the important thing is, to give it your best shot while you can.

    For one brief moment last October, I thought I could backdate my Sydney Central route and have it ready for Christmas. Well. that didn't happen. It's now 7 months past that date, and I still can't put a finish date to it.

    My problem is, I keep looking for extra bits to make it better. I've still got to learn when 'enough is enough' and enjoy what I've got.

    Cheers,
    Roy

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grazlash View Post
    Sure Transdem will lay some track, but you still have to apply the gradients, points, signals, track in yards, catenary (that will do your head in) etc. I've never seen Transdem make roads, but I could be mistaken. The South Coast line I am producing with Taggy has taken years to get to the point of adding scenery. Even with working on it constantly it would still take 18 months at least to complete the scenery. As far as needing a super computer goes, yep, you probably will. My 2 year old mid range desktop struggles at times.

    A route this size, if done properly to a high standard, would be a minimum 3 year build as it contains lots of fiddly urban areas. My advice Roy, would be to start small, develop your pallette and style and once done move onto the next piece. You can merge them all together later. I'm used to working with big routes, but for some they can be daunting. Don't bite off more than you can chew and you won't lose sight of the light at the end of the tunnel.
    cheers
    Graeme

    Thanks for the tips there...... I wasn't actually aware that you could merge 2 routes together so I will look at that. It took me 3 or 4 years to build the rail and roads for the entire network a decade ago and I had also mapped out and created the Sydney Harbour as well using latitude and longitude to create the edges of the water.

    Of course Transdem was not around back then.

    Yes Transdem is able to create as many roads as you like and you add them to a layer on their own separate to rail. Using Open Street in Transdem you select either the Primary roads or you can include secondary roads as well.

    The tutorial I watched created both road and rail for a 100km route for Nova Scotia, Canada with terrain and map added to Trainz 2019...... this all done in a 1 hour 11 video.

    The screenshot below shows him working on adding highways which are then added to Trainz as splines at the same time as the track is added. He then decided to add in extra roads and he did this by also selecting motorways to bring into Trainz.

    For those who want to watch the Youtube video you can see it below......
    To look only at where he created the roads go to 38:25 in the video






    Last edited by rjord1; July 25th, 2019 at 08:46 AM.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206
     

    Default

    I just wanted to mention that at this stage I am building my route in TANE with the option of crossing over to the Trainz 2019 down the track.
    My current PC is barely able to use TANE at the moment and I am looking at upgrading my hardware in next 6 months.
    What I am using at the moment is sufficient to add in the road and rail network for the project.

    Roy...... I have had a look at your route that you sent me and it is impressive.
    My laptop was struggling with it though as I only have 4 Gig of memory and will look at it again when I get my new machine.
    Last edited by rjord1; July 25th, 2019 at 08:50 AM.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206
     

    Default

    The following post is the start of a series of posts showing steps along the way of creating the T9 Northern Line for Sydney........


    At this stage at 1:56 AM Friday morning I have plotted a rough outline in Transdem of the T9 Northern Line which will be the first route to be added to the project.
    After drawing a rough but not detailed line showing where the rail line goes I then mapped the images from Open Street along the entire T9 Northern Line rail.

    The picture below shows the result when zoomed into the Chatswood area and you can see the blue rail line does not match the rail line in the map...... but thats OK...... early stage of the project and this will be fixed a little later when I do the UTM tile objects.

    Next is the fun part where I get the DEM elevation data specific to the T9 Northern Line route.

    Progress:
    I started the T9 route around an hour ago and am now 22% of the way to having the elevation data and rail and road splines added to the project.
    That was a fast start.


    Last edited by rjord1; July 25th, 2019 at 11:59 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •