.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: The problem of loss of objects

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    50
     

    Unhappy The problem of loss of objects

    https://youtu.be/OcUKaPnF6_A
    This is how Trainz 19 works. Attached meshes following LOD-tracks appear and disappear in a random way. With each release of Trainz, it seems to me getting worse and worse. This is the latest version I bought.


    I can post a video with the disappearance of the spline and animated people who were perfectly visible in previous versions (before TANE SP2).
    https://youtu.be/Gs3RRtVV62g
    Last edited by CiceronMT; July 15th, 2019 at 01:03 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,485
     

    Default

    The second video shows the exact same issue with tracks I get in several routes (included payware and DLCs from N3V). Reported many times, still present.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    5,450
     

    Default

    The second set of houses look to be fine, so I suspect the first set will have something in their setup causing the LOD to be culled. Provide the KUID for the assets and we'll take a look.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    50
     

    Default

    <kuid2:400089:36:2>,<kuid2:400089:39:2>,<kuid2:400 089:40:2>,<kuid2:400089:41:2>


    In the video the same asses, only from different angles. Route <kuid2:400089:333:28>.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    5,450
     

    Default

    The problem is in the way the asset is constructed. It uses dozens of attachment points which means the objects cannot be stitched together which means is performs poorly. To avoid this, some attachment points are culled earlier (and this depends on a few things including slider settings and camera angles).

    The solution is to replace asset with the individual items (you can get the KUIDs from in the config file).

    I'll get the team to take a look to see if there are other options available.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    50
     

    Default

    https://youtu.be/h9WBieLWcL4
    This bug with a missing animated mesh appeared in TANE and remained in Trainz 19. For example, only one <kuid:370528:1277> was taken.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    5,450
     

    Default

    I can see that this asset drops the animated mesh: <kuid2:370528:1162:1> n_man_walk_3
    This asset doesn't: <kuid:439337:101102> SAP_n_man_walk_3

    In regard to the first issue, the parent object has a bunch of attachments to which a number of child assets are attached. The parent objects origin is near the end of the grouped assets so when the origin of the parent is culled from the draw distance so are its children.

    The creator can either change the original of the parent to be in the centre which doesn't fix the problem entirely it just offsets when it is culled.

    To avoid all assets getting culled when the parent does, the best solution is to just not make inefficient objects like this and place items individually then copy/paste them around the route.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    2,894
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CiceronMT View Post
    This bug with a missing animated mesh appeared in TANE and remained in Trainz 19.
    It was reported at the time but there is no information about whether it was fixed or not. It also occurs for assets that use an extended animation path - if the zero point for the path moves out of the viewing area (including distance) then the whole asset disappears. It is most obvious if 'process objects behind camera' is turned off. The simple fix is to provide an option similar to 'collision-data-generation-mode' to create a bounding box that encloses all attachment points.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    50
     

    Default

    The problem is that these objects felt great in Trainz 12 and TANE, and now they didn’t, that means something has deteriorated in the core of the game. These objects are designed to reduce the time required to create places, since copying is possible only at an angle of 90 or 180 degrees, for objects placed, for example, 35 degrees relative to the section boundary, correct copying is impossible. The essence of the question is that things that are usual for previous versions of Trainz cease to work normally, and it is impossible to alter maps for each new version (even if you learn about the problems that arise after you buy a game). I did a map for about 10 years and changing objects on it is a waste of time, especially since there is nothing to change.
    <kuid:370528:1277> this is an active link https://cloud.mail.ru/public/5ByE/244HJxEyg
    Last edited by CiceronMT; July 17th, 2019 at 01:43 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    5,450
     

    Default

    Unfortunately these assets are also "designed to hamper performance" and/or "work around a bug that existed in that build that is now fixed". The fact that one version of the animated man works and one doesn't indicates that there is a content issue and that it is fixable.

    Another way of looking at this is that the old asset still works in the old build, so if you want that asset to work as it did, then use the old build.

    If you want the benefits of lots of bug fixes, performance improvements, added features etc, then use the newer version, and replace that asset.

    There are many "workarounds" that we implement to ensure as much compatibility as possible, but ultimately there will be some assets that will require updating to work correctly in the new version.
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    50
     

    Default

    This is a wonderful offer, but I would like to be concrete. How exactly should I change the config <kuid: 370528: 1277> so that it does not disappear in Trainz 19? No new program like AssetX has been released yet, what should developers do? Here is an example. New tags appeared in the configurations of the tracks: track-type, track-condition ... But Wiki never wrote anything about them. I do not know how to work blindly - it is a waste of time.
    Last edited by CiceronMT; July 17th, 2019 at 11:50 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    2,894
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CiceronMT View Post
    How exactly should I change the config <kuid: 370528: 1277> so that it does not disappear in Trainz 19?
    That asset is not available from the DLS so it is not possible to refer to it precisely, but the general fix for this type of issue is to create a mesh (a simple box will do) that encompasses all of the attachment points for the attached objects. Make sure it is invisible. This ensures that when any part of this mesh is within the scene of view then the asset (with attachments) will be shown. This is what the application ought to do automatically for your, but won't.

    AssetX works just fine with the newest versions of Trainz assets. Track wiki for build 4.5 is here or here. If you can believe an item is missing it should be reported to the help desk.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    50
     

    Default

    Thanks for the advice! Some of the objects I really can not upload to the DLS, since I lost the passwords to the previous account. Placing them under the new ID is problematic, since these people and objects have long been installed in different routes and under another ID they simply will not appear in exchange for the old version.
    But AssetX has a maximum build of 3.8.
    P.S. Through experiments, I found a solution to the problem of endangered attachment houses. Now I have to redo all configs. It is a pity that the developers of the game did not immediately indicate this in the Trainz 19 FAQ.
    Last edited by CiceronMT; July 18th, 2019 at 02:23 AM. Reason: Incl. P.S.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    50
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SailorDan View Post
    but the general fix for this type of issue is to create a mesh (a simple box will do) that encompasses all of the attachment points for the attached objects.

    I made an invisible 2D mesh and registered it to the config. The problem did not dare, here is the link to this asset. https://cloud.mail.ru/public/5twx/2pQSYavr7

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    50
     

    Default

    https://youtu.be/5Iz0c7phiTM
    Built-in tracks also disappear randomly, for example <kuid2:506034:957523:3>. That is, it is not a problem of assets, but a problem of the game itself.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •