.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Script question for Justin C.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Columbus, Oh USA -by the Weber Connection!
    Posts
    961

    Default Script question for Justin C.

    Sorry, your inbox is full. My bad if posting this here is bad form. I have been using RRsignals scripts for my signals, but the latest tane updates have caused some problems. I was wondering if it would be cool if I made versions of my signals that used your script?
    I was also wondering if you had a N&W script? It seems the safetran script would suffice except for lred, the middle red lamp or in case of N&W the lower center would have to be off during a clear or approach aspect. Thanks, J.
    Check out my grungy electric piano based band, "Small Movies" at http://wearesmallmovies.com/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sweetwater, TN, USA
    Posts
    5,423
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Yes it would be "cool" if you used them. I could also suggest a method or even make a change to something if you needed to display a certain thing. Just post here if you require any guidance.

    Sometimes I do leave the pm inbox full on purpose because I get so many messages about irrelevant things that I miss messages that are more important. I am much more likely to see something posted here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Columbus, Oh USA -by the Weber Connection!
    Posts
    961

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by norfolksouthern37 View Post
    Yes it would be "cool" if you used them. I could also suggest a method or even make a change to something if you needed to display a certain thing. Just post here if you require any guidance.

    Sometimes I do leave the pm inbox full on purpose because I get so many messages about irrelevant things that I miss messages that are more important. I am much more likely to see something posted here.
    Awesome. Thanks. Honestly the PRR script altered would work for N&W signals. The only change would be the center marker on the lower head would have to turn off for a clear and approach aspect. I'm not positive how much work that would make for you as I don't script but otherwise the indications are identical.
    Edit:I thought it over and here's what I figure. The only time when the lower head center red lamp is lit is at a stop indication. I could accomplish this all with one mesh and three attachment points. This would mean that there is no need for a script "call I guess?" For a red aspect on the second head however, the second head would have to display restricting (reverse diag.) Clear (vert) and approach (diag.)
    Last edited by justinroth; May 15th, 2019 at 07:05 PM.
    Check out my grungy electric piano based band, "Small Movies" at http://wearesmallmovies.com/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sweetwater, TN, USA
    Posts
    5,423
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I have a feeling that what you need could be done without altering anything. There were a few tricks used with the PRR position lights. You could take a look at the existing ones to see how they are built. There is only one point for each signal head to attach to unlike say the older signals that have one point per lens. Some of this is detailed here: http://jointedrail.com/content/manual/smartsignal/prr/

    Following this method, colors or specific lenses do not need to be activated by the script as the information for all of that is in the mesh that loads for a specific aspect.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Columbus, Oh USA -by the Weber Connection!
    Posts
    961

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by norfolksouthern37 View Post
    I have a feeling that what you need could be done without altering anything. There were a few tricks used with the PRR position lights. You could take a look at the existing ones to see how they are built. There is only one point for each signal head to attach to unlike say the older signals that have one point per lens. Some of this is detailed here: http://jointedrail.com/content/manual/smartsignal/prr/

    Following this method, colors or specific lenses do not need to be activated by the script as the information for all of that is in the mesh that loads for a specific aspect.
    Ok. I'm assuming I need to purchase a route with these signals? Which one includes all types?
    Check out my grungy electric piano based band, "Small Movies" at http://wearesmallmovies.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sweetwater, TN, USA
    Posts
    5,423
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    shoot me an email or get me on discord ill send what I have to you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •