.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Why do installs of TRS19 have different "built-in" assets? UMR2019 route

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    444

    Default Why do installs of TRS19 have different "built-in" assets? UMR2019 route

    This issue recently came up with "missing kuid" issues for the very fine UMR2019 route. The author neilsmith749 replies that the following are built into his TRS19 install. I don't have any of them in either my Mac -or- Windows install of TRS19. Why?

    I'm not asking for help with individual kuids. I'd much rather like to know why installs would have "missing" assets. Yes, I have done db repairs. If these are indeed built in assets how can I obtain them?

    <kuid2:54760:27000:1> kraft mill 54760
    <kuid2:64038:272416:2> Tank white
    <kuid2:60238:32:1> Hiace
    <kuid2:67261:26016:3> Ians gas station
    <kuid2:64038:26008:1> 40ftvan BandB
    <kuid2:64038:272301:1> Industrial Caterpillar
    <kuid2:60238:27181:1> Rail Overhead Crane
    <kuid2:60238:34:1> Mitsubishi Cantor
    <kuid2:60238:27106:3> Selferecting Tower Crane
    <kuid2:453099:100251:50> River Birch
    <kuid2:64038:32003:2> tanker exon
    <kuid2:64038:27783:1> Trailer container cr
    Win 10: TRS19-100240: ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce, 1TB EVO SSD, 224GB system SSD
    (& iMac and MBP installs)


  2. #2

    Default

    These are built in but not in the basic install of TRS19. Most come from DLC routes and show as built in when downloaded. ECML seems to be the route that contains most of those assets.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stagecoach View Post
    These are built in but not in the basic install of TRS19. Most come from DLC routes and show as built in when downloaded. ECML seems to be the route that contains most of those assets.
    I have ALL six of the TRS19 routes installed including ECML. None of them show missing dependencies.
    Win 10: TRS19-100240: ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce, 1TB EVO SSD, 224GB system SSD
    (& iMac and MBP installs)


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    444

    Default

    I should add that this appears to be a kuid version issue. For example, I do have kraft mill 54760 <kuid2:54760:27000> but not <kuid2:54760:27000:1>. The one I have shows in CM as "installed from DLS" and it's date is the date I installed UMR2019 (Apr 23, 2019).
    Last edited by 1611mac; April 25th, 2019 at 08:45 AM.
    Win 10: TRS19-100240: ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce, 1TB EVO SSD, 224GB system SSD
    (& iMac and MBP installs)


  5. #5

    Default

    The ECML route is ECML Kings Cross - Edinburgh it was a gold member vault offering in October 2018. As N3V did not mark them as payware the author like myself have used assets from those routes and not know about it. It has been mentioned about assets that are not available to some users because of this. Even if the author of a route did a check of its content this will not show up.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stagecoach View Post
    The ECML route is ECML Kings Cross - Edinburgh it was a gold member vault offering in October 2018. As N3V did not mark them as payware the author like myself have used assets from those routes and not know about it. It has been mentioned about assets that are not available to some users because of this. Even if the author of a route did a check of its content this will not show up.
    Thank you for that information. It is good insight to help me understand all the nuances of the whole Trainz experience and what is happening.
    Win 10: TRS19-100240: ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce, 1TB EVO SSD, 224GB system SSD
    (& iMac and MBP installs)


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,579

    Default

    ECML was available to all those who have TANE and TRS19 and downloaded as builtin as were all the TANE builtin routes, normal install or Subscription. It's only DLC, if you don't have TANE.

    It's getting confusing these days what to not use in routes for those on a basic install.
    Malc


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Yeah.. I don't understand all that... to me the CM "Built-in" Status is not truly "built-in." I keep good records of what I download and when (date/time). I have not paid enough attention to "Status." I now see that TANE routes I downloaded from my Silver program have assets marked as "built-in." I would have thought that for my TRS19 install "built-in" would have been ONLY those assets "built in" to the TRS19 app install (and not even the other five routes.)

    So it is obvious to me now that terms are "universal" across versions and such. ie: if originally built into Tane it shows as "built in" even thought it's not "built in" to MY install.

    The problem is... as I understand it.. if I create content then "built in" is pretty much meaningless to me if I am creating for TRS19 as the asset could be "built in" into Tane or any other version.... So I'm not sure what help any of these terms have in the end... I've a lot to learn...
    Win 10: TRS19-100240: ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce, 1TB EVO SSD, 224GB system SSD
    (& iMac and MBP installs)


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, New South Wales, Moruya
    Posts
    271

    Default

    I picked one randomly from your list"

    <kuid2:60238:27181:1> Rail Overhead Crane

    it is not built-in but apart from UMR2019 being a dependent for this item

    the payware route "C&O Hinton Division is the only other dependent.

    Unfortunately this occurs quite often because when you pick an item to add to the route that you are building
    there is no indication where it's origin is.

    And UMR2019 when I checked has 3788 dependencies - wow! A lot to check eh?

    Laurie

  10. #10

    Default

    In later builds of TRS19 it is built in.

  11. #11

    Default

    In a post some time ago I did warn that this would happen.

    Which is why in the routes, or rather the layouts, that I upload I use only assets that come with the very basic installation of TRS19 (which has, effectively, just Kickstarter) or from the Download Station.

    mac --

    One way to check is to have several installations of TRS19. Keep one "clean", that is just the original base installation.

    Phil

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    2,682

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1611mac View Post
    The problem is... as I understand it.. if I create content then "built in" is pretty much meaningless to me if I am creating for TRS19 as the asset could be "built in" into Tane or any other version.... So I'm not sure what help any of these terms have in the end.
    It's become a complete mess that is going to take a lot of time and effort to sort out.

    "Built-in" should mean that it was delivered as part of the standard content with the particular release of Trainz, as specified by the build number. It would therefore be available to everyone who has installed that release. So if you built a route for T:ane SP3 Built 94829 that included only DLS and built-in items then you could be sure users of that release or better would not have missing dependencies.

    Instead, a large number of items have been delivered as built-in items packaged with some payware. This seems to be a recent change, and only occurs with payware packages created for recent releases, particularly those released to TRS2019 subscribers. But it also included packages provided for free with the subscriber trial offer.

    The result is that the route creator can no longer assume that items listed as built-in will be available to all users. The only way to confirm what you should or shouldn't use in a route is to do a new installation of TRS2019 and not add any DLC content. It would probably be OK to include the DLC content that is provided free to all users: it is possible to identify what that is, but it is not simple.

    What is really frustrating is that many of the items listed as built-in are actually available on the DLS and could be easily downloaded. But the built-in asset has the version number incremented (for no reason) and therefore CM won't show the missing asset as available for download. Some careful searching on the DLS reveals these items, and the user can then download them and increment the version number to obtain the missing dependency, but this is a task that should not be needed.

    Some, such as the US region (!) can be created from scratch. Other built-in items just aren't available.

    Many items included as built-in in earlier versions of Trainz were not built-in in later versions, and this created a similar problem. A big effort was made for T:ane to get many of the TS12 built-in assets added to the DLS: this mostly solved the problem, but there are still TS12 routes that are OK in their original version but are missing dependencies in T:ane.

    The other similar problem that is still not resolved is that many built-in and payware items should actually be freeware. Installing the payware package overwrites the installed freeware items, and they cannot be deleted. This unnecessarily restricts the assets that a diligent route creator can use. It also removes the ability that the user had to modify these assets for their own use.

    N3V needs to stop work on developing new assets - the community has more than adequate capability for doing this. The N3V effort needs to be put into getting the DLS back into proper shape.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by philskene View Post
    In a post some time ago I did warn that this would happen.

    Which is why in the routes, or rather the layouts, that I upload I use only assets that come with the very basic installation of TRS19 (which has, effectively, just Kickstarter) or from the Download Station.

    mac --

    One way to check is to have several installations of TRS19. Keep one "clean", that is just the original base installation.

    Phil
    Phil... that's good advice. I actually have already done that for session creation. I have created a whopping one session for Kickstarter 2. ("Local Duties - TRS19 KS2") I'd forget to re-assign AI trains with drivers that were built-in. I'd also use rules that were not "built in." - And now I realize that "built in" doesn't really mean "built in" at all...
    Last edited by 1611mac; April 25th, 2019 at 08:02 PM.
    Win 10: TRS19-100240: ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce, 1TB EVO SSD, 224GB system SSD
    (& iMac and MBP installs)


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    USA - North Carolina
    Posts
    444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stagecoach View Post
    In later builds of TRS19 it is built in.
    My Build 98592 (latest official release I believe?) has <kuid2:60238:27181> but not <kuid2:60238:27181:1> and the modified version is not available for download on CM.
    Last edited by 1611mac; April 25th, 2019 at 08:03 PM.
    Win 10: TRS19-100240: ASUS B450M-A/CSM, GTX 1060-6 Windforce, 1TB EVO SSD, 224GB system SSD
    (& iMac and MBP installs)


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    6,261

    Default

    1611mac, I believe that updating to the newly released build 100240 should address many of your built-in/payware problems. Another thing you might try is checking that you do not have "Out of Date" assets in the Content Manager.
    California is not turning back. Not now, not ever!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •