.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is there on the DLS grab irons

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    United States of America, ill, Rock Island
    Posts
    711

    Default Is there on the DLS grab irons

    is there on the DLS a mesh? for grab irons for the side of a locomotive? I tryed to look but did not see any, maybe under diifernt name maybe? Thanks.
    Modeling Ho scale on the cheap

    GT 440 2 meg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1,795

    Default

    In my experience modeling mostly electrics but also some diesels and a steamer, while the patterns are similar, placement is nearly unique to each class of locomotive. Even for standardized steamers like USRAs there would be a great deal of variance in position. You'd have to make each grab iron a separate mesh (with LODs to turn it off in all but the closest views) and position them, even using rotation for those on the opposite side since exact width of cabs and boilers is different. (And that wouldn't work for those attached at an angle since only rotation, not mirror-imaging, is supported in configs.)

    Frankly, I don't think this is a realistic possibility.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Great Britain
    Posts
    2,545

    Default

    I'm not sure why this would be useful... If you explained why you wanted them then perhaps more help might be available.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Oregon, Portland
    Posts
    3,316

    Default

    You could theoretically attach them in the proper location using attachment points.
    I made some a little while ago; you are welcome to the Blender file if it's of any use:
    http://carsoncarshops.com/files/grab_irons.zip
    3x layers with varying polycounts.

    Curtis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    United States of America, ill, Rock Island
    Posts
    711

    Default

    i want to put them on a a couple older diesal units front rear etc that do not have them on right now to bring them up to a better standard/look.

    pencil42 will take a look at them and see if it works, worse case i guess i could get the correct programs etc and figure out how to make them.
    Modeling Ho scale on the cheap

    GT 440 2 meg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    United States of America, ill, Rock Island
    Posts
    711

    Default

    question on how do i get it from blender into trainz? what program? do i need for that thanks.
    Modeling Ho scale on the cheap

    GT 440 2 meg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    United States of America, ill, Rock Island
    Posts
    711

    Default

    kinda got it working, expect cant figure out the texture part very well and how to get the texture to export with the mesh, the manual is not hepfull on that part.

    after trail and error i can sometimes get the textures to show up on them, and even got a box to show up in game lol. not sure if there is a easier way to get the graphices to show up on the mesh.
    Last edited by fourteen; March 24th, 2019 at 12:15 PM.
    Modeling Ho scale on the cheap

    GT 440 2 meg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •