.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: HP Trainz Marias Pass X in TRS19

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    6,465
     

    Default HP Trainz Marias Pass X in TRS19

    I just imported Marias Pass X into TRS19 and other than a single yarnish error with one asset everything seems OK!

    I've also imported all 7 HP Trainz sessions and all 22 hiawathamr sessions without serious problems (a few things need fixing but nothing major). I haven't had time to test all of them but the two I did check worked fine.

    Dear Missouri,
    Thank you for sending us all your intelligent women.
    With Love,
    California.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,083
     

    Default

    I loaded the route awhile ago. It doesn't look too bad considering the older assets. Maybe someday the guys will upgrade the route again.

    I traveled out that way in July 2012 and recognized various landmarks right off the bat! Way cool!
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Delaware, Dover
    Posts
    2,279
     

    Default

    The major problem with a quick upgrade is the conifers are large and in groups.

    I found these st_rmm groups to replace some of the smaller trees in groups.



    Harold

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lakewood, CO 5280' plus
    Posts
    91
     

    Default wondering about others experiences trying Maris Pass X 4.5 in TRS19

    I installed Marias Pass X 4.5 in TRS19 the other day and had the same experience in install success as normhart with only the one yarnish error.
    Incredible ease of installation for content made for TS12/TS2 Mac! Thank you again josefpav and lotharhake for the wonderful route, locomotives and sessions!

    Since installing, I have experienced a few oddities with the route and its assets while exploring and experimenting with Marias Pass X 4.5 and the sessions (so far just both passenger sessions and the base session).

    #1
    Issues with HP Trainz locomotives: having tested Josefpav's F40PH Amtrak and BN GP38-2 for a few hours, so far in my experience the locomotives have issues operating normally at times, though not all the time.

    These locomotives have among the best and most detailed cabs in Trainz (at least for US diesel locomotives) but at the moment there seem to be certain times/events in Trainz driving -- possibly due to track location (i.e. near an industry, signal or junction) -- where these locomotives will not run in either DCC or Cab mode: trying to adjust controls for either DCC or Cab mode in these situations results in the controls being reset (i.e. the control functions in both DCC and Cab mode resist being moved and reset to 0 on DCC and train brake employed, reverser to neutral and throttle at 0 in Cab mode). These locomotives can be run using the Drive command; it is possible to get these locomotives running using Drive command and then switch to DCC or Cab mode and then these locomotives run fine.

    Please note that other than under certain circumstances -- again possibly due to track location (i.e. near an industry, signal or junction) -- these locomotives work perfectly fine/normally (as they did in TS2 Mac). Also please note I am basing my observations of the issues I have experienced with these locomotives on running the passenger sessions or the base session; the session or sessions may be part of or the source of the problems encountered with these locomotives.

    <kuid2:46162:100008:3> Amtrak F40PH blue stripes HP
    <kuid2:46162:50404:3> Amtrak F40PH 398
    <kuid2:46162:1038210:10> BN GP38-2 09

    I have not tested these locomotives outside of the base session built for Marias Pass X 4.5; my comments here only relate to tests performed in the base session. Additionally for what it is worth, with a little coaxing and very infrequent use of Drive command I was able to complete the passenger session from Whitefish to Shelby, although I am uncertain if there were any changes in the AI train traffic on the line as it has been several years since the last time I completed this session in TS2 Mac (perhaps I made up too much of the lost time in Whitefish with the refueling and sand load up). Still very cool and always fun!

    #2
    Using surveyor in TRS19, when I try to edit/make my own session from the base session HP Trainz has included, TRS19 requires me to copy the route and base session: I am not permitted to modify the base session alone and must make a clone of route and base session. That was not the case in TS2 Mac where no route duplication was required if the base session was modified (if I recall the base session needed to be cloned if editing were performed but never the whole route as well).

    I noticed that following my cloning of the route and session that one asset is always missing, somehow forced out as it were; the asset is one of the ET baum assets that became an Elm Tree and then a built in Elm Tree so that likely has something to do with this booted asset from surveyor based duplication of Marias Pass X 4.5 in TRS19.

    I have not attempted to create my own session from the route without the base session.

    I also noticed that in the route while using the base session (or the passenger sessions) that a least one segment of track around Essex was broken; track near the fuel and sand loading points/industry assets was broken.

    I will point out that that was the only part or piece of track I found broken on a very large route not made for TRS19. Incredible considering the sheer amount of track, all the junctions and signals. A testament to solid engineering, excellent route building and a very well made product by HP Trainz!

    Lastly, for what it is worth, I installed Marias Pass X 4.5 into TRS19 from the original/backup .cdps from HP Trainz; being practical about it I did not attempt using imported .cdps from TS2 Mac (never crossed my mind until right now); I tried to check some settings in TS2 Mac as I am typing here but TS2 Trainz/CM just decided to perform an EDBR even though I haven't installed anything new in TS2 Mac for many years (maybe TS2 Mac is getting testy about some of the other non HP Trainz content I have been exporting to .cdp for transfer to TRS19?).

    Thank you for reading this post and thank you very much in advance for any observations, insights or thoughts you all may have!
    Owen

    Please note: I am not asking for HP Trainz, josefpav or lotharhake to update or fix anything; I am trying to determine what the issues may be with locomotive assets and route/session components from Marias Pass X 4.5 that work perfectly in TS12/TS2 Mac and yet have some problems working properly in TRS19, at least in my few hours of testing the HP Trainz content in TRS19.
    I am trying to get myself and my TRS19 install into shape for proper Trainzing and beta testing and building sessions. I have attempted to provide a lot of detail here for the purpose of trying to explain what I have experienced and in hopes of getting detailed feedback and replies (if others have the interest and time to do so).
    "Engineer blows the whistle loud and long
    Can't stop the train, gotta let it roll on" Chuck Berry, "Let It Rock"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States of America, Florida, Largo
    Posts
    188
     

    Default

    I, on the other hand, did not get it to install without some errors. The biggest problem is that there are NO TRACKS! I wonder (since I can't recall when I got the Marias X install) if it's because I'm installing from a .cdp?? Someone may refresh my memory...what it a .cdp install or was there an actual install executable?? If need be I'm sure I can find the executable if that's what it was. Thanks in advance.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,672
    Blog Entries
    4
     

    Default

    I have the route and all original sessions installed in TRS19, but AI trains in the sessions won't work properly. In the CFAC sessions, the Amtrak train that passes the plant sits driverless in Columbia Falls, and called resource trains never spawn. In "Heavy Haul over Marias", the train I'm supposed to wait for in Whitefish sits driverless. In Amtrak 7, the train does spawn with a driver, but never moves. Does anyone know any fixes or workarounds? I've copied the confirmed working sessions and HTML's from TS12 but that didn't fix it. It was the same way in T:ANE.

    Matt
    Last edited by epa; June 18th, 2019 at 02:05 PM.
    Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20 GHz
    PNY GTX 1070 8GB Overclocked GPU
    16 GB DDR4 RAM
    275 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD + 500 GB HDD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Lakewood, CO 5280' plus
    Posts
    91
     

    Default

    Good to see others trying this and reporting experiences here
    Thank you harpman and epa!

    I installed in TRS19 from my original unzipped .cdp content files: about 20 or so total .cdps are in folders named Content 1_2_3_, Content 4_5_6_, Content 7_8_9_, Content 10_11_12_, and Content 13_ plus the Driver_Speed_Rule, Base_Heavy_haul_Amtrak_7_8 and MP_X_4_5.

    Not a good work around but it has worked for the passengers sessions: add drivers as needed, issue some form of Drive command to AI drivers as needed

    Also try to time assigning Drive command to AI drivers approximately when they should be triggered (but are not in TRS19); not easy to perform perfectly even if you have run and remember the "rhythm" and timing of these sessions but I have not had any issues as there are not too many of the AI driver trains to manage while running the session from player/engineer's perspective. Hope that makes sense. Please ask if any questions.

    Have not tried with Heavy Haul over Marias; I believe that is a more complex/complicated session than the passenger sessions.
    Have not tried the CFAC sessions either as that would also seem to be more complex than passengers sessions and possibly/probably more so than Heavy Haul over Marias as CFAC sessions with industry work and fulfillment of industry needs have time limit(s)/time crunch aspect(s).

    Continuing to work over track and I have been adding mining industries around Essex after fixing only broken track found so far as described above.
    Still having issue with every time I save the session or route, I have to save both (not allowed/permitted to modify original session or route; can modify both but must clone/duplicate and save new) and also continuing to experience one scenery asset getting booted -- or perhaps it is a failing of CM or in CM with regard to version history?

    Also still amazed at how 99.9+% of the route components work in TRS19 so far!
    All industries work perfectly and all junctions, signals, etc. Very cool!
    Thank you again HP Trainz, josefpav and lotharhake!
    "Engineer blows the whistle loud and long
    Can't stop the train, gotta let it roll on" Chuck Berry, "Let It Rock"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Maryland, Baltimore
    Posts
    463
     

    Default

    I had Marias Pass in Trainz12, purchased from the german web site. It came as an exe file and was loaded into Trainz from it. I don't have a copy of 12, will the exe file just decompress into cdp's into a folder.
    Thanks;

    Rob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,083
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MountE View Post
    I had Marias Pass in Trainz12, purchased from the german web site. It came as an exe file and was loaded into Trainz from it. I don't have a copy of 12, will the exe file just decompress into cdp's into a folder.
    Thanks;

    Rob
    Rob you can open it using WinZip or WinRAR.

    The exe is a compressed self-extracting archive of the content. The installer then copied the assets into TS12 wherever your data folder was located. I was able to open up the exe in WinRAR and copy the contents - the CDPs - to a folder of my own. I then imported the a few at a time into T:ANE because that's what I was using at the time.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Maryland, Baltimore
    Posts
    463
     

    Default

    Thanks for the reply, I'll give it a try.

    Rob

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •