.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Adding carz to TS 2019 route

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chicago Illinois United States of America
    Posts
    70

    Default Adding carz to TS 2019 route

    Hey all!

    I'm at a bit of a loss here. I want to add a bit more variety to the traffic on YARN roads on my route however, I've stumped. I went to the Trainz wiki and did some reading on adding them (used carz in the search box). Opened my route config file and that's where I hit the wall. Below is the start of the config file (I forwent copying the entire thing for obvious reasons i.e. no need for a wall of text).

    category-region "00"
    category-era "2010s"
    kind "map"
    water <kuid:-1:6353>
    category-class "YM"
    description
    region <kuid:-25:927>


    thumbnails
    {
    default
    {
    image "thumbnail.jpg"
    width 512
    height 384
    }
    }
    kuid <kuid:569295:100176>
    username "SHO's Route v1"
    workingscale 0
    workingunits 1
    trainz-build 4.6


    world-origin
    {
    latitude 38,53.400002,1
    longitude 77,1.2,-1
    altitude 0
    }


    string-table
    {
    oil_refinery_1 "Oil Refinery 1"
    oil_refinery_2 "Oil Refinery 2"
    amtrak_station_four_platform_only_des_1 "Amtrak Station Four Platform Only DES 1"
    brick_station_small_1 "Brick Station small 1"

    The list of assets continues until I hit this :

    kuid-table
    {
    0 <kuid2:661281:85182:1>
    1 <kuid:101046:102590>
    2 <kuid:-1:6270>
    3 <kuid:661281:85143>
    4 <kuid:439337:101527>
    5 <kuid2:506034:656415:1>
    6 <kuid:523:19721247>
    7 <kuid:439337:101919>

    And that continues on to the bottom. I'm lost on where the carz kuids would go in the config file. Unless as usual, its a P.E.B.C.A.K. situation which I may very well trademark at this point.

    Also I'd like to give a HUGE raspberry to Tony and the team for making such a delightful simulator that I ended up building a new computer and blew well past what I had budgeted because Trainz!
    Cant dangle all those bells and whistles and shiney objects and not expect some of us to foam at the mouth and leap into action.

    Thanks in advance for any and all help! Hope everyone is having a great day!

    SHO
    In Loving Memory of
    Kiersten Riegler - 12/30/1999 - 4/19/2012
    David "RangerW" Walker - 1/5/1963-12/10/2011

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Worcestershire
    Posts
    30,642
    Blog Entries
    22

    Default

    Which region are you using? Cars are normally added at region level nowadays rather than route level.

    Shane
    Shane Turner
    Technical and DirectX Advisor - Not affiliated with N3V

    My Forum -- PevSoft Tools -- Tutorial List (inc DirectX) -- My Utilities --TrainzTutorials.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chicago Illinois United States of America
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Hey Shane!

    Hope you are doing well! Its a U.S. region route. Would I have to poke around to find a region config file? I'll dig like a miner if I have to.


    *edit* Shane, once again you are the hero I needed. A quick search found the region config file. I shall hoist a toast to you good sir this afternoon!
    Last edited by SHOPlanB; March 13th, 2019 at 09:33 AM. Reason: because Shane Turner is a disco rock star of the highest caliber.
    In Loving Memory of
    Kiersten Riegler - 12/30/1999 - 4/19/2012
    David "RangerW" Walker - 1/5/1963-12/10/2011

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Worcestershire
    Posts
    30,642
    Blog Entries
    22

    Default

    No worries...

    Shane
    Shane Turner
    Technical and DirectX Advisor - Not affiliated with N3V

    My Forum -- PevSoft Tools -- Tutorial List (inc DirectX) -- My Utilities --TrainzTutorials.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chicago Illinois United States of America
    Posts
    70

    Default

    One more question...In the region config file, do I have to add in the KUIDs to the KUID table also?
    In Loving Memory of
    Kiersten Riegler - 12/30/1999 - 4/19/2012
    David "RangerW" Walker - 1/5/1963-12/10/2011

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    24,536

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SHOPlanB View Post
    One more question...In the region config file, do I have to add in the KUIDs to the KUID table also?
    Unfortunately yes. You need to add in the car name in the string table and then add the kuid in the kuid-table. I did it a few times and it's annoying. Blah! It would be nice if there was a way to "Click here" to add more carz instead of manually editing files.

    Hint:

    If you want to increase the number of Carz on a particular road, you can update the carrate tag in a road's config.txt file. Be aware though... You can impact performance, and be really annoyed with too much traffic.

    If you want roads with no traffic you can do the opposite. This is really great for street running trackage where the carz will drive through the trains so instead of having carz drive through the trains, place a no-carz roads/street, lay the track and then place static objects, or as I do place parked vehicles which looks better.

    YARN roads are good for this situation because they are thick enough so the rails don't stick up too high. I retextured some to have nothing but ballast, cobblestones, bricks, gravel, sand, and other useful textures to fit the need.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chicago Illinois United States of America
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Thanks for the information John! I'm a tad hesitant to start slamming in the KUIDs into the string table yet. There's one thing I noticed in the table that doesn't match up with with the carz list. Here's what's keeping me at bay before I start.

    The carz list is this :

    car0 <kuid2:82412:24111:2>car1 <kuid2:82412:24112:2>
    car2 <kuid2:82412:24113:2>
    car3 <kuid2:82412:24114:2>
    car4 <kuid2:82412:24115:2>
    car5 <kuid2:82412:24116:2>
    car6 <kuid2:82412:24131:2>
    car7 <kuid2:82412:24132:2>
    car8 <kuid2:82412:24133:2>
    car9 <kuid2:82412:24134:2>
    car10 <kuid2:82412:24102:2>
    car11 <kuid2:82412:24103:2>
    car12 <kuid2:82412:24104:2>
    car13 <kuid2:82412:24105:2>
    car14 <kuid2:82412:24106:2>
    car15 <kuid2:203465:10601:2>


    The table lists this :

    0 <kuid2:82412:24111:2>
    1 <kuid2:82412:24112:2>
    2 <kuid2:82412:24113:2>
    3 <kuid2:82412:24114:2>
    4 <kuid2:82412:24115:2>
    5 <kuid2:82412:24116:2>
    6 <kuid2:82412:24131:2>
    7 <kuid2:82412:24132:2>
    8 <kuid2:82412:24133:2>
    9 <kuid2:82412:24134:2>
    10 <kuid2:82412:24102:2>
    11 <kuid2:82412:24103:2>
    12 <kuid2:82412:24104:2>
    13 <kuid2:82412:24105:2>
    14 <kuid2:82412:24106:2>
    15 <kuid:-1:100553>

    15 is what's stopping me dead in my tracks. There's a car 15, and the KUID is totally different than the 15 in the table. Do I change the 15 in the table to the next number up after the last carz kuid? I appreciate you taking the time to help.
    Also, I think now I have more than enough horsepower under the hood to just pound on the system in terms of performance.
    In Loving Memory of
    Kiersten Riegler - 12/30/1999 - 4/19/2012
    David "RangerW" Walker - 1/5/1963-12/10/2011

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    24,536

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SHOPlanB View Post
    Thanks for the information John! I'm a tad hesitant to start slamming in the KUIDs into the string table yet. There's one thing I noticed in the table that doesn't match up with with the carz list. Here's what's keeping me at bay before I start.

    The carz list is this :

    car0 <kuid2:82412:24111:2>car1 <kuid2:82412:24112:2>
    car2 <kuid2:82412:24113:2>
    car3 <kuid2:82412:24114:2>
    car4 <kuid2:82412:24115:2>
    car5 <kuid2:82412:24116:2>
    car6 <kuid2:82412:24131:2>
    car7 <kuid2:82412:24132:2>
    car8 <kuid2:82412:24133:2>
    car9 <kuid2:82412:24134:2>
    car10 <kuid2:82412:24102:2>
    car11 <kuid2:82412:24103:2>
    car12 <kuid2:82412:24104:2>
    car13 <kuid2:82412:24105:2>
    car14 <kuid2:82412:24106:2>
    car15 <kuid2:203465:10601:2>


    The table lists this :

    0 <kuid2:82412:24111:2>
    1 <kuid2:82412:24112:2>
    2 <kuid2:82412:24113:2>
    3 <kuid2:82412:24114:2>
    4 <kuid2:82412:24115:2>
    5 <kuid2:82412:24116:2>
    6 <kuid2:82412:24131:2>
    7 <kuid2:82412:24132:2>
    8 <kuid2:82412:24133:2>
    9 <kuid2:82412:24134:2>
    10 <kuid2:82412:24102:2>
    11 <kuid2:82412:24103:2>
    12 <kuid2:82412:24104:2>
    13 <kuid2:82412:24105:2>
    14 <kuid2:82412:24106:2>
    15 <kuid:-1:100553>

    15 is what's stopping me dead in my tracks. There's a car 15, and the KUID is totally different than the 15 in the table. Do I change the 15 in the table to the next number up after the last carz kuid? I appreciate you taking the time to help.
    Also, I think now I have more than enough horsepower under the hood to just pound on the system in terms of performance.
    Hmm... that's interesting. It could be that the last vehicle kuid in the kuid-table is a built-in replacement for the one that's listed in the string-table.

    If you add additional carz, add them starting with '16', car 16, and 16 in the kuid-table.

    Remember these are actually text strings and are more for us to track than for actual use, but it does help having the corresponding car-number relate to the position in the kuid-table.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chicago Illinois United States of America
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Well it didn't seem to work. Spent a few minutes watching the roads in surveyor and none of the additional cars spawned. And to top it off, when I went to edit the route, it was telling me there were changes that weren't committed after closing out the game and making sure I had saved the edits and the commits. A revert back to originals and its fine. For what it's worth, I am using both YARN and YARNish roads. Maybe the additional cars aren't supported. Back to the drawing board and the DLS.
    In Loving Memory of
    Kiersten Riegler - 12/30/1999 - 4/19/2012
    David "RangerW" Walker - 1/5/1963-12/10/2011

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    2,556

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SHOPlanB View Post
    And to top it off, when I went to edit the route, it was telling me there were changes that weren't committed after closing out the game and making sure I had saved the edits and the commits.
    There are cars and carz. Only carz work. What exactly were you trying to add?

    The table lists all kuids referenced in the region, not just the carz. Leave 15 as it is. Add <kuid2:203465:10601:2> which seems to be missing (perhaps from an earlier edit). The table is used to enable dependencies to be easily identified, and doesn't actually affect how the region works in game.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •