.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using Maya to make content

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1

    Default Using Maya to make content

    So here's the thing, I am new to attempting to make content for trainz. I know some commonly used programs are 3ds Max and Blender, but I am an expert with Maya. Is it possible to get meshes in game using maya?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle NSW Australia
    Posts
    5,862

    Default

    I think pcas1986 has tried to before taking up Blender. You could contact him by Private Message and find out more.
    T:ANE SP3 build 94829 and TRS2019 build 98592
    Win 10, i7 5820K, 3.3 GHz, 32GB ram, GTX 980Ti, 2x512GB SSD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Michigan, Ann Arbor
    Posts
    5,833
    Blog Entries
    25

    Default

    I use Maya, You still need either 3ds (or presumably blender as well). After you make your model in Maya, export it as an fbx, import into 3ds. Rename the texture files, add your attachment points. Then you can export from there to trainz. The only thing I've not experimented with is animations.

    Peter
    ~Peter


    I do not provide support via PM.
    Now at a new location!
    www.americantrainz.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, Del Mar
    Posts
    361

    Default

    No, you do not need 3ds max or Blender to export from Maya. You'll be forced to use FBX, and either T:ANE or TRS19. Since I see you have TRS19 in your banner just stick with that. At the bottom of this page describes the material exporting process: http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/index.php/M.pbrmetal

    For attachments, since Maya does not allow periods in a name you need to use " FBXASC046 " in place of a period. For example, instead of a.limfront, it would be aFBXASC046limfront.
    Last edited by GDennish; February 11th, 2019 at 02:35 AM.
    Creator of TRS19 QR PB15
    Admin of: https://www.sodorworkshops.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    14,353

    Default

    Was a thread on this in the TrainzDev forum where the use of underscores in place of FBXASC046 was discussed, not sure if it actually happened though.

    https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...-PBR-materials
    Malc


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Posts
    7,741
    Blog Entries
    30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clam1952 View Post
    Was a thread on this in the TrainzDev forum where the use of underscores in place of FBXASC046 was discussed, not sure if it actually happened though.

    ...
    Yes, it did so thanks Chris.

    I haven't been in Maya LT for a while and while I was checking the underscores I discovered that some of the nodes in Hypershade had changed since I uploaded the shader example. Hypershade is somewhat similar to Blender's node editor. I'll change the relevant Trainz WiKi material page but in the interim here is a more up to date view:



    A pic of the sample cube in the main Maya LT editor:



    And a couple of these cubes in TRS19:


    Paul


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •