Dynamic Brake

BreadedAlmond

The dynamic brake does not work properly. You do not/can not use throttle to affect how much retarding force is generated. The dynamic brake itself does all of that. Is there any way to change that in the game? Do I need to report it as a bug?

Is there any way for me to get in contact with the developers. I am a real life Locomotive Engineer and would love to help make this game more accurate.

If you want realism, your in the wrong game my friend. I won't name the others due to respect, but yeah.. Trainz is bout as far from any realism. Even in Cab Mode, its still DCC like controls just bit more relaxed.

If you crave that realism and the itch is real from the day job you may want to Google a few.

I am certainly not a locomotive engineer, but based on things I have read such as this:

"While the train is coasting, the engineer, using an eight-notch controller similar to the throttle, energizes the traction-motor fields, causing the motors to act as generators."

from this 2006 Trains article:

http://trn.trains.com/railroads/abcs-of-railroading/2006/05/dynamic-braking

I had always assumed that dynamic brakes used the throttle to control the amount of braking, the same way it does in Trainz locomotives. If you have time, I would love to hear about what it is really like.

Have to say I'm somewhat confused and bemused by the OP's original statement.
Went back to revisit dynamic braking in a session I built on the great Mojave Sub platform created by JR.
Eased a massive crude oil tank train down from Tehachapi to Wallong East using cab mode and dynamic braking.
After getting the consist rolling at the top of the incline, I set the throttle to neutral and then engaged the dynamic brake system using the 'C' key.
To keep the heavy train in check under the 25 MPH speed limit and with a 2.2% gradient meant that I slowly applied 10% increments (up to a maximum of 50%) using the 'W' key.