.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Identify Head end of 120ft turntable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States of America, North Carolina
    Posts
    38

    Default Identify Head end of 120ft turntable

    I am using the 120ft turntable on a layout. In driver there is no way to visually distinguish one end from the other. Can anyone advise a way to visually do this? Being able to add an operator platform to one end would be nice, but I don't know a way to do this. I am not ready to tackle content creation.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    5,173
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    I never knew that there was a "head end" of a turntable, and I am still unconvinced that it makes any difference. I always thought that since they operated exactly the same regardless of which end was facing the loco, it made no difference which end was first. Please show me where I am wrong in this as it makes no sense to me.
    A member of the "Party Machine". Now if only I could remember where they are holding the party!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Karuah
    Posts
    786

    Default

    I do not believe that it matters where the engine enters, on mine I have three roads into it.
    JackDownUnder

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States of America, North Carolina
    Posts
    38

    Default

    If I control manually, it makes no difference. But if I set up a session and use the move turntable command and specify stop 1 for example, it will turn 15 degrees if it was at stop zero. But if it was at stop 5, it will have to turn 195 degrees. Without a position reference I have to remember (correctly) the present position. In my layout I have 4 tracks incoming and 5 tracks out to roundhouse side, thus use 10 of the 24 possible stops. Stops zero and 5 are 180 degrees apart.

  5. #5

    Default

    If you have 24 then the move turntable will have 0 to 23. 0 is the default position when first placed 11 would be 180 degrees. Stop 5 back to 0 would only move 75 degrees as it would go anti clockwise. Although you are only using 10 the move turntable still needs to be set up as 23 (24 including 0). From the west side, point 0 you go clockwise to 23, 24 would be 0. So the front end is always the end that moves to the number you select. Train drives on forward at 0, move to 5 train comes off backwards, move to 16 train comes off at 5 forwards.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    5,173
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    In addition, the MoveTurntable driver command has relative movements (prev, next) as well as absolute (0 ... 23).

    I understand your problem but I have no solution. As far as identifying a "head end" by a visible physical attribute such as control cab, this would not be something that is present on all turntables, including 24 road ones.
    A member of the "Party Machine". Now if only I could remember where they are holding the party!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    14,119

    Default

    Hmm interesting challenge so, having thought about it......

    There is one way of marking the head end, once you have worked out which end it is and that is to drop a trackside asset onto the end of the turntable, just tried it here with a crossing board, which happily rotates with the turntable, if you rummage through the trackside assets there may well be something you can add that doesn't look out of place although something like a crossing board is probably not going to detract from the appearance much.
    Malc


  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United States of America, North Carolina
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Thanks for the idea of trackside asset. I had tried a flag but it didn’t rotate.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    5,173
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    I suspect that the solution you want would be to "reset" the turntable after each use. For example, after the loco has left the TT issue a "MoveTurntable 0" driver command. That way it will always be left in the same position.
    A member of the "Party Machine". Now if only I could remember where they are holding the party!

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radionut44 View Post
    Thanks for the idea of trackside asset. I had tried a flag but it didn’t rotate.
    If it is placed on the actual rotation part of the table it will rotate with the track. A speed sign or dwarf signal would be good and look like it should be there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •