.
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Frustration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs down Frustration

    Hi
    I have just lost three days work on my new layout!
    When Driver/Surveyor opens one gets the routes. When one searches for the name of ones route, they appear at the foot of the screen in rather unnecessarily large squares, running across the screen. After some days of use I discovered that the most recent version of my route was the first on the left of the screen. Caution makes me regularly save my work, so each day when I open the program, I get a screenful of old savings. I delete the old savings, save for the most recent three. Have been doing this successfully for just over a week, but today - I have just found that the oldest version was the first on the left. Disaster! Really choked. Not a happy bunny!
    Is there not a way that one can see in a list form, like Tane, the different versions of ones route?
    Brian

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Netherlands, for now in, Montreal, CA
    Posts
    5,078
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    What do you see in CM?


    70337:
    TRS19 build 98592| Win10 Pro 64 bit, i7-7700 3.6GHz 16 GB, GTX 1070 Ti

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Pennsylvania, Murrysville
    Posts
    1,018

    Default

    Hi Brian

    When opening Driver\Surveyor look for "Sort by A-Z" in the lower right hand corner. Click on the down arrow and select "Latest Modified". This will place your latest version on the left. I too had a similar problem and I used this method to correct it. You have to make this selection each time you open Surveyor/Driver.

    Joe


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Hi,
    I can only find the routes I did not delete - ie the ones I did not want - having deleted the ones I did want because for some reason the order was changed in the display!
    Brian

    Hi Joe,
    Thanks for that - wish I'd known that earlier!
    Will bear it in mind.
    Cheers
    Brian
    Last edited by oknotsen; January 10th, 2019 at 09:28 AM. Reason: Merged 2 posts made in 3 minutes time; please use edit next time

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    14,167

    Default

    May still be a copy in your backup folders, everything that gets deleted goes in the backup folder, depending on your settings.
    Malc


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Hi Malc,
    Are you referring to Windows backup, or to a specific TRS2019 folder?
    If TRS2019, could you state the location of it please?
    Brian

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, New Mexico, Rio Rancho
    Posts
    379

    Default

    Launch Trainz, DO NOT start Trainz.
    Click Trainz Settings
    Click the Install Tab
    Select and copy all text in the Local data folder box
    Click the ... button to the right
    If you're not taken to the proper folder (not knowing what operating system your using), for Win7, click on the Navigation bar and paste the text.
    Double-click the Backups folder

    Build: 98592 | KUID:151329 | My System

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Many thanks for your help - what a palaver - now got to work out what all the different files are and how to make use of the one I think I want.
    I'll get there! (somewhere anyway)
    Cheers
    Brian
    Looks like I'm on a hiding to nothing!
    I am sure I need a .cdp file to be able to load my lost route, but a search of the backup folder does not reveal any such files.
    Oh well....
    Last edited by bigbrix; January 10th, 2019 at 10:35 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    14,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigbrix View Post
    Many thanks for your help - what a palaver - now got to work out what all the different files are and how to make use of the one I think I want.
    I'll get there! (somewhere anyway)
    Cheers
    Brian
    Looks like I'm on a hiding to nothing!
    I am sure I need a .cdp file to be able to load my lost route, but a search of the backup folder does not reveal any such files.
    Oh well....
    If you can find the correct folder, may have a weird name such as 268pldfj, you should be able to find the right one from the time date modified of the folder. So long as it has a config.txt, you can import the folder, suggest though save what you have got to cdp first in case it isn't the right one!

    Import folder is File > Import Content Folder.

    If you are confronted with a tzarc file or chump file and no config, see here for tools that may help! http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/i...s_Trainz_Tools
    Last edited by clam1952; January 10th, 2019 at 11:11 AM.
    Malc


  10. #10

    Default

    How to restore backups is explained in the Wiki -- http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/i...toring_Content

    Peter

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    14,167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by p-dehnert View Post
    How to restore backups is explained in the Wiki -- http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/i...toring_Content

    Peter
    Just spent half an hour trying to find that! Only thing I didn't try on the search was restore Content! duhhh.
    Malc


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    24,139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clam1952 View Post
    Just spent half an hour trying to find that! Only thing I didn't try on the search was restore Content! duhhh.
    Have no fear though, this doesn't always work as intended. I find using the TZarc viewer much easier because I can then save the expanded archive elsewhere such as in my content back ups.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I would just like to thank everyone who has tried to help.
    I have managed to salvage some work, though for some strange reason, the last saving could not be found?
    The wiki reference to restore content did not match my system!
    It refers to the .tzarc files having a suffix of ".xxxxx"
    Mine do not - no suffix at all.
    Also, each time and date had saved 2 .tzarc files - a largish and a smallish. (630k and 38k).
    I used the larger of the two and managed to restore some of my lost work. (only took me all afternoon!)
    Once again - many thanks to all.
    Cheers
    Brian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •