.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: (TS12) Tracks with elevated roadbed?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    The North Shore
    Posts
    1,506

    Default (TS12) Tracks with elevated roadbed?

    I am modeling a route that calls for several instances of track upon relatively tall (~1 to 3m) ballast roadbed.
    Attempting to model this with raised terrain and ballast textures does not work very well as far too wide a swath of terrain is raised.
    For many years I have used a "track with embankment" asset with the embankment reskinned to match the ballast texture.
    While this is a fairly decent fix, the model of the asset is beginning to show its age, and the embankment messes up the ties/sleepers at switches and junctions.

    Are any Surveyors out there aware of a newer "track with embankment" asset they would recommend, or do you have an alternate method of modeling elevated ballast roadbeds?

    - 1895 | 1963 -

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, Port Hueneme
    Posts
    1,610

    Default

    There is a "FMA embankment" with several widths. Once set, lay the track over it I think it is a built in spline asset.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA, United States of America
    Posts
    447
    Blog Entries
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blutorse4792 View Post
    I am modeling a route that calls for several instances of track upon relatively tall (~1 to 3m) ballast roadbed.
    Attempting to model this with raised terrain and ballast textures does not work very well as far too wide a swath of terrain is raised.
    For many years I have used a "track with embankment" asset with the embankment reskinned to match the ballast texture.
    While this is a fairly decent fix, the model of the asset is beginning to show its age, and the embankment messes up the ties/sleepers at switches and junctions.

    Are any Surveyors out there aware of a newer "track with embankment" asset they would recommend, or do you have an alternate method of modeling elevated ballast roadbeds?
    toxa batoxa has a wide range of such. Search Tb embankment on the DLS, e.g. <kuid:19691:100925> which I'm using on the Fond du Lac Branch. It's 5 meters deep. These are road splines so are relatively easy to work with around existing track. Looks good.

    :B~)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Australia, Western Australia
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blutorse4792 View Post
    I am modeling a route that calls for several instances of track upon relatively tall (~1 to 3m) ballast roadbed.
    Attempting to model this with raised terrain and ballast textures does not work very well as far too wide a swath of terrain is raised.
    For many years I have used a "track with embankment" asset with the embankment reskinned to match the ballast texture.
    While this is a fairly decent fix, the model of the asset is beginning to show its age, and the embankment messes up the ties/sleepers at switches and junctions.

    Are any Surveyors out there aware of a newer "track with embankment" asset they would recommend, or do you have an alternate method of modeling elevated ballast roadbeds?


    For a couple of procedures that can help produce more realistic embankments, see my answer to a similiar question in this thread:

    https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...=1#post1728353

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    24,139

    Default

    I replaced the track asset on track-embankment assets with others that I find suitable. For one asset, I replaced the track with an invisible track so I can keep the base embankment, which is a double-tracked asset, and use a single track on it by laying down the single track where I want it.

    2018-10-21 004705.jpg

    Shown below is an ancient Track-wall asset. I replaced the track here as well and use this at this location for elevated sidings for a nearby delivery dock location on the upper level of a factory. (I saw one of these once about 30 years ago and remembered it).

    2018-10-21 005310.jpg

    I'm sorry I don't have the kuid for the original assets, but I'm not at my Trainzing computer to get them.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, South Jersey
    Posts
    1,658
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Blutorse4792 View Post
    ... For many years I have used a "track with embankment" asset with the embankment reskinned to match the ballast texture. While this is a fairly decent fix, the model of the asset is beginning to show its age, and the embankment messes up the ties/sleepers at switches and junctions.

    Are any Surveyors out there aware of a newer "track with embankment" asset they would recommend, or do you have an alternate method of modeling elevated ballast roadbeds?
    I've made my own versions over the years. The one I use most is a 3'ng spline track with a 4m high "fill" below it. Like you I don't like using the smooth track tool because it is just cuts too wide path - even for sg track. But manually forming a narrower one takes a lot of time and is rather frustrating.

    I'm not sure what you find objectionable about the track with embankment or "fill" (as I call it) in way of turnouts. Spline track always has problems at turnouts unless 2 things happen: 1) the grade (using fixed vertex heights) thru both legs is the same and 2) the track centerline length is the same on both legs from the junction vertex to the next one at or beyond the frog. If not then the ties and ballast top won't line up to look somewhat like the tie arrgt should. You get an obvious overlap of the splines - this is primarily due to grade mismatch between the splines. The spline length effects the alignment of ties between the splines. This happens with or without the "fill". But with some effort the appearance can be improved.

    Here's some pics of the track I made years ago for TRS04/06 and some simple procedural track I was testing out when TANE was in development. The PT was made using the same ballast and fill mesh as the old spline track. The main thing for me is to keep the grades and arc lengths thru the turnout the same for both legs:



    In the pic above the PT is on the right and the old spline track on the left. They look almost identical except for the frog, guard rails and switch blades generated automatically by the PT. Not the most appealing PT to be sure - there are no separate ties or 3d tie splines - it's all textured on the mesh just like the old versions. I think the track grade is 1.5% thru out in this setup. If I use this PT in way of turnouts to get auto placement of frog, check rail and blades I still have to follow the same guidance since without the 3d ties I have to line them up manually when I make the junction.



    In this pic the PT is on the left and the spline track is on the right. As you can see I do my best to make the ties and ballast top align thru the turnout. Track grade is 0.75% grade thru the turnouts in this setup.

    Bob Pearson

    TRAINZ-UTC-TRS04-TRS06-TC1&2-TC3-TS09-TS10-TS12-TANE(KS-TEG)-TMR17
    Member since 6-14-2002

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •