Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Blender->fbx->trainzmesh problem (98592)

Hybrid View

Default Blender->fbx->trainzmesh problem (98592)

Hi,
    I've been trying to solve the problem for 6 hours. One stupid wall that drives me crazy but perhaps I do everything ok and the FBX->trainzmesh importer is broken... I'm a Blender novice but figured out things that I need. Now I try to convert some of my old assets to be PBR equipped. I export objects from Gmax to OBJ and then import the obj to Blender. All goes quite well but one wall causes I can't sleep :-(

As you can see on both pictures one wall disappears when imported to TRS19...

There were 3 meshes exported from Gmax - the surface, all the walls, and the problematic wall as the third. I've tried many things from just flipping normals to preparing such wall from scratch (deleting the one imported from gmax). No matter what I do the wall is always displaying the texture up. I even divided this wall to 2 pieces and tried one with normals up and one with normals down - everything is up in trainz... Is it a trainz bug???

Blog Entries

Is the missing wall visible in Blender? Your pic suggests not.

It could be a scaling issue. I was helping Majekear do something similar with a boxcar door and it was found about a half kilometre up in the sky with a massive size.

If it's not appearing in TRS19 then make sure you are selecting the right option for export to FBX. i.e. all visible objects or all selected objects. I prefer the latter but have been known to forget a couple and the result is much like yours.

You might try using the free FBX view tool called "open 3D viewer". It doesn't always show the textures but will show the mesh from the FBX file. Just search for it on the web.

If all else fails you can contact me via PM and perhaps I can have a look at it.

Paul

I mean the ceiling, it is visible, sorry ..
    The backwall is not present intentionaly