.
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: TurfFX - Entire grids of grass being wiped out

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Mississauga
    Posts
    1,253
     

    Default TurfFX - Entire grids of grass being wiped out

    Ok - so a few days ago, I thought I ended up losing months of work on my route, mostly all the TurfFX additions. I was able to recover a version from the previous day which was seemingly uncorrrupted, and everything is fine.
    I'm still at a point where I've found a problem, and I'm not sure whether it's something I've inadvertently done wrong, or if it's a bug with TRS19.

    Here's what happens:
    -route loads fine - TurfFX looks as it should (presently have 6 types of grasses (or layers))
    -when I try to create another layer, it seems to go well, and I can paint it on the present grids and everything looks fine
    -BUT, when I go to an older section that may have been done a week or two ago, if I hit "add" or "delete" of ANY of the grass layers, ALL grass layers disappear on that grid.
    -I figured that maybe there was a max number of layers, so I deleted one that I don't think I used, and without even creating a new layer, I went back to the same older grid, and tried again. Still, ALL grasses disappeared.
    -I'm thinking it's the process itself of creating or deleting layers that may cause this problem.
    -or maybe because of the sheer size of the route, and the amount of TurfFX I've used - is there a threshold that I've crossed which is causing this error?

    I'm going to send in a bug report to the help desk, but was just wondering if anyone else had any experiences like this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    787
     

    Default

    After searching the forums I don't see a response to this issue, and I am experiencing the same problem.

    as stated above "when I try to create another layer, it seems to go well, and I can paint it on the present grids and everything looks fine
    -BUT, when I go to an older section that may have been done a week or two ago, if I hit "add" or "delete" of ANY of the grass layers, ALL grass layers disappear on that grid."

    This happened after I added a third layer mid way through applying the first two layers to my (largish) route. Turffx density is 10m on the first two layers, and 2.5 on the added layer (so I can't see that I would be pushing the TurfFX layer limit documented in other threads).
    Phil
    WeddinNSW V4 for TRS2019 now on the DLS. All my posted screen shots are from a route you can download for free.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    1,190
     

    Default

    I recall in a post that there is a limit to how much TFX can be put on a route.
    I can't find the post though!


    Found it

    https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...X-scene-budget
    Last edited by euromodeller; August 12th, 2019 at 07:37 AM. Reason: Found info thread
    Graham,

    A member of TCWW

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    787
     

    Default

    Thanks for your response, I did see that post. But I doubt very much that with only three layers (turf density 2 layers x10m and the additional 2.5m layer, all three layers pretty sparsely layed) that I have reached that limit. And if I have, well.......
    Last edited by FootplatePhil; August 12th, 2019 at 08:54 AM.
    Phil
    WeddinNSW V4 for TRS2019 now on the DLS. All my posted screen shots are from a route you can download for free.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Harrison
    Posts
    2,104
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neilsmith749 View Post
    Ok - so a few days ago, I thought I ended up losing months of work on my route, mostly all the TurfFX additions. I was able to recover a version from the previous day which was seemingly uncorrrupted, and everything is fine.
    I'm still at a point where I've found a problem, and I'm not sure whether it's something I've inadvertently done wrong, or if it's a bug with TRS19.

    Here's what happens:
    -route loads fine - TurfFX looks as it should (presently have 6 types of grasses (or layers))
    -when I try to create another layer, it seems to go well, and I can paint it on the present grids and everything looks fine
    -BUT, when I go to an older section that may have been done a week or two ago, if I hit "add" or "delete" of ANY of the grass layers, ALL grass layers disappear on that grid.
    -I figured that maybe there was a max number of layers, so I deleted one that I don't think I used, and without even creating a new layer, I went back to the same older grid, and tried again. Still, ALL grasses disappeared.
    -I'm thinking it's the process itself of creating or deleting layers that may cause this problem.
    -or maybe because of the sheer size of the route, and the amount of TurfFX I've used - is there a threshold that I've crossed which is causing this error?

    I'm going to send in a bug report to the help desk, but was just wondering if anyone else had any experiences like this.
    Don't feel alone on this one. In my route upgrade efforts I have had a lot of trouble with TurfFX application. This first TurFX layer applies as it should. Adding another TurfFX layer tends to wipe out the first layer in the grid section being edited. I have also experienced that "wiping out" problem when later attempting to edit what I have already laid down, usually when trying to remove it from track. To reproduce this problem add a TurfFX layer to a test route and then save it and exit the game. Now relaunch the game and go back to edit the test route. Try editing what you have done or adding another TurfFX layer.

    Bottom line: TurfFX makes very realistic looking scenery but is very buggy at this point. It is also very hard to be precise with it's application as the radius can't be turned down low enough.

    Bob
    Master Sergeant/E8, U.S. Army, Retired (1972-1993)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,546
     

    Default

    FYI on Turf-FX... Merging a route with Turf-FX grass into a non-Turf-FX route results in the Turf-FX being wiped out on the route that was merged in. I found that out the hard way yesterday.

    I have found that if I keep the layers simple, I have better results and less of an issue of the grass vaporizing into thin air, and I have also found that on rather large routes, the placement becomes more difficult as the computer processing begins to chug. It maybe my older hardware doing this, but it's something to be aware of.
    Last edited by JCitron; August 12th, 2019 at 09:39 AM.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Cowra
    Posts
    4,464
    Blog Entries
    4
     

    Default

    I also had my Turf_FX go silly when I converted a 10m grid to 5m grid

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    25,546
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NSWGR_46Class View Post
    I also had my Turf_FX go silly when I converted a 10m grid to 5m grid
    That's good to know. I'm sorry you found out the hard way for us.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    787
     

    Default

    Lots of great responses and info here.

    The new 2.5m layer was an attempt to create a more precise replica of one of the 10m layers. I planned to use it only sparingly, as in most locations the precision of the 10m layer is enough. I thought this may be less resource hungry than painting everything with a 2.5m layer, although I can find no documentation to support this.

    Now I am now wondering if I am wasting my time painting TurfFX (it will take several days per layer to go over my entire route). Perhaps I should wait until the 1st Service Pack to see if things improve.
    Last edited by FootplatePhil; August 12th, 2019 at 04:29 PM.
    Phil
    WeddinNSW V4 for TRS2019 now on the DLS. All my posted screen shots are from a route you can download for free.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    2,186
     

    Default

    Thank you John. I can always count on you to reply.
    pop pop

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    3,009
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FootplatePhil View Post
    The new 2.5m layer was an attempt to create a more precise replica of one of the 10m layers. I planned to use it only sparingly, as in most locations the precision of the 10m layer is enough. I thought this may be less resource hungry than painting everything with a 2.5m layer, although I can find no documentation to support this.
    While this is a good idea, I believe it is only suggested in order to simplify the painting - creating large even areas with the high precision version is very tedious. So it doesn't save storage - in fact, it consumes more, but this isn't an issue until you get to the point of running out of storage. There is no penalty in using up the available storage space.

    But note that all the Turfx documentation and commentary involves a lot of guesswork.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Katoomba
    Posts
    787
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SailorDan View Post
    While this is a good idea, I believe it is only suggested in order to simplify the painting - creating large even areas with the high precision version is very tedious. So it doesn't save storage - in fact, it consumes more, but this isn't an issue until you get to the point of running out of storage. There is no penalty in using up the available storage space.

    But note that all the Turfx documentation and commentary involves a lot of guesswork.


    I have a theory, and my theory is this... (Monty Python).

    More seriously, I have spent some time now trying to apply effects layers to my route. In doing so I have come against a number of issues. For now I am focusing on the disappearing sections, that being the most annoying problem, and for that issue I have just raised a Help Desk ticket. I am surprised at the low numbers of posts on similar issues on the forums (but I do not subscribe to other social media formats, or participate in Beta testing, so maybe I am out of the loop).
    Last edited by FootplatePhil; August 28th, 2019 at 06:59 AM. Reason: grama and speling
    Phil
    WeddinNSW V4 for TRS2019 now on the DLS. All my posted screen shots are from a route you can download for free.

  13. #13

    Default

    I've encountered the disappearing turf now as well. I have been using only two kinds of grass and it's been working well but the other day when I added a third layer to be used for pasture land I discovered a problem. The new layer painted down just fine. I then went back to an older part of the route where I have been deleting splines and replacing them with turf. As soon as I started painting grass along the track, what I had previously done started disappearing. As I moved along the track to repaint what had just disappeared, grass farther ahead of me vanished. I now decided to just delete the new pasture grass layer. Pasture grass was now gone but so was most of the turf from the first two layers. I tried removing all of the turf from the new pasture layer by using the down topology tool before deleting the layer. Not as much of the other layers disappeared but it was still a substantial amount. My route is about 160 miles so far and I had grass splines removed and converted to turf fx for about 30 miles of that. I'll have to redo that and I'll see what happens when I get back to where I was. For now I'll be sticking to two turf layers.

    Jack

  14. #14

    Default

    I had the opposite problem: I put my turfx in a couple of squares and save the layout. When I opened it next day I found turfx everywhere within the area in between with no terrain where of course it's impossible to delete it.
    Roberto (sister)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •