.
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Correct Placement for turnouts

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    2,048

    Default Correct Placement for turnouts

    I'm using Turnout Frogs Left and Right, kuid2:45324:26001:2 and 26002:2 and I'm not sure of their placement on the tracks. Would a member in the know please explain or show the proper placement for these items. Thank you.
    pop pop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Port Vila, Vanuatu
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stouthm View Post
    Would a member in the know please explain or show the proper placement for these items.
    If you select the assets in Content Manager, right-click and choose to view dependants, then you will find the routes where they are used. If you look in those routes you will see how they are placed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    2,048

    Default

    Thanks. I'll take a look.
    pop pop

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Jonesboro
    Posts
    6,561

    Default

    Be sure you are facing the switch when you are placing them. Left goes on the left, right on the right, natch!



    United States Air Force Veteran

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    2,048

    Default

    Thanks Dave. I think I was facing the wrong direction. I'll have to go back and check it out. As an after thought, looking at the two pictures in this thread they appear to be two different examples. Right or wrong?
    pop pop

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    23,890

    Default

    I'm glad you got that sorted out. I downloaded a rather long route where they were all reversed and I spent hours walking the line fixing the frogs.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    18,232

    Default

    As they jump around when placing them, and sliding them, and oftentimes they are a tad off register, you sometimes need to add extra spline points, or slide the track spline point backwards or forwards just a tad until they look perfect

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Jonesboro
    Posts
    6,561

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cascaderailroad View Post
    As they jump around when placing them, and sliding them, and oftentimes they are a tad off register, you sometimes need to add extra spline points, or slide the track spline point backwards or forwards just a tad until they look perfect



    Yep and sometimes they are flipped, i.e. the long side is on the wrong side, so you have to use the little arrow tool to flip them.

    As to the two screenshots looking different, pop pop, mine is the way I was told to do it a long time ago.
    United States Air Force Veteran

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    2,048

    Default

    Thanks everyone for checking in. I'll go with Dave's picture.
    pop pop

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Port Vila, Vanuatu
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stouthm View Post
    Thanks everyone for checking in. I'll go with Dave's picture.
    You would be better off to do as I suggested - find where they are used in existing routes and follow that example.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Jonesboro
    Posts
    6,561

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SailorDan View Post
    You would be better off to do as I suggested - find where they are used in existing routes and follow that example.


    So you're saying that they are correctly placed in all other existing routes?? I doubt that. For instance, in the Mojave Route, they are placed too far back from the switches.

    But whatever, I'm not going to get involved in an argument. I'm not saying anything else.

    BTW here is a tutorial: https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...nouts-Tutorial
    Last edited by davesnow; October 12th, 2018 at 05:54 PM.
    United States Air Force Veteran

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    2,048

    Default

    Wow, who would have thought that a simple question could cause some turmoil. Dave, I checked out that tutorial and noticed that Dermmy made a few suggestions. Always liked his routes and he seemed to know what he was doing so I'm sticking with your suggestion.
    pop pop

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •