.
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 47

Thread: My New Xidax X-2 Gaming Rig

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,188
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    I will never be running any other video game other than Trainz.

    And I have been told by Xidax Computers, that Trainz TS19 comes nowhere close to, in need of a 2080 video card, so a 2070 will serve me well enough, and even a 2070 is still a bit overkill.

    My choice PC:
    https://www.xidax.com/desktops/x-6/?saveconfig=318969

    Xidax recommends for Trainz:$2283 (5% discount =) $2169

    Motherboard: MSI MPG Z390 GAMING PRO CARBON AC
    CPU: INTEL CORE i7 9700K 8 CORE 4.9GHz
    RAM: DDR4 3200MHz G.SKILL Trident Z RGB- 16GB
    GPU: NVIDIA RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB
    SSD: m.2 SSD: M.2 Solid State 1TB (They suggested a 120GB M.2, I bumped that up to 1TB)
    HDD: Western Digital Black 1TB
    Power Supply: Seasonic FOCUS PLUS 850W GOLD
    Alphacool Eisbaer 360MM Liquid cooler
    Xidax are only interested in getting your money. They have no idea of the requirements for Trainz.

    I can build a layout that even with an NVIDIA TITAN V will run in single digit frames per second.

    It all depends on the content you choose to run and the slider settings you have set.

    Basically a scene has a given number of ploys in it. For most games the people who build the scenes have a poly count budget per scene. There is no such restriction in Trainz.

    A 2080 for Middleton for laptops would be overkill. For other layouts it would not be.

    I'd avoid the liquid cooler. Then are fairly expensive and if it goes wrong or leaks it is a major problem.

    Compare it to the Dell G5.

    https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/gami...a-4562a9be2f68

    leave the CPU on the minimum i9, select an RTX 2080, and add a 2tb harddrive and you're well under $2,000 $1,879.99 when I checked a few seconds ago.

    Cheerio John

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States of America, In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    239
     

    Default

    The one problem is Shipping

    Where I live it is common that packages "NEVER EVER" arrive, as expensive items are either: outright stolen right from your doorstep, or they never even make it to the UPS delivery truck.

    And too, our package carriers actually (in all essence of the words) "DROP SHIP" everything, so when you get your package, that was at one time was rectangular, it is now so extremely beat up, with holes punched in the cardboard, and the package is not even rectangular anymore, and is now in the shape of a do-deca-hedron like, many faceted ball, as if Ace Ventura himself, threw, dropped, and kicked the box, all the way to your house.

    I would have to have it shipped to a UPS warehouse, and hand pick it up when UPS informs me of delivery.

    The other thing, it seems that it has only 460W power supply
    Last edited by MP242; October 16th, 2019 at 01:41 PM.
    I want all my performance sliders set to "Full"

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,188
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    The one problem is Shipping

    Where I live it is common that packages "NEVER EVER" arrive, as expensive items are outright stolen right from your doorstep.

    And too, our package carriers actually "DROP SHIP" everything, and when you get your package that was at one time was rectangular, it is now so extremely beat up, with holes punched in the cardboard, and the package is not even rectangular anymore, and is now in the shape of a do-deca-hedron like, many faceted ball, as if Ace Ventura himself, threw, dropped, and kicked the box, all the way to your house.

    I would have to have it shipped to a UPS warehouse, and hand pick it up when UPS informs me of delivery.

    The other thing, it seems that it is only 460W power supply
    And strangely enough a 460 watt power supply will do fine. Power supplies are odd things. Some brands are better than others. Toms tested a number and some no name brands wouldn't deliver their stated outputs and some named brands were quite happy outputting more than they were rated for.

    Dell have engineers who sit down and do the calculations for you. Both heat and how big the power supply should be. Use them. For comparison my newer machine draws about half the power of the old machine even though the GPU is 50% faster and the CPU has a few more cores. The newer GPUs and CPUs draw far less power than the machines of old.

    Cheerio John

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States of America, In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    239
     

    Default

    Post Deleted
    Last edited by MP242; October 22nd, 2019 at 02:48 AM.
    I want all my performance sliders set to "Full"

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,188
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    I Just DO NOT trust DELL

    And my PC would be nice and pertty White:
    I used to be responsible for a few thousand PCs and what we found was the Dells were actually more reliable than the other brands. They were conservatively built with a lot of thought about cooling and the placement of components. That's where Dell made their reputation on solid reliable machines in the corporate environment. They buy in quantity so their prices are often lower than other suppliers who might not be purchasing ten thousand GPUs at the same time. I might not trust Cyberpower but I would trust ASUS. The thing about the big volume suppliers is they have the time to select the parts and configure the machines correctly. The assembly lines have an advantage in that things are not hand built. These days hand built means mistakes happen.

    Smaller more specialised suppliers had their place in times gone by but these days an RTX 2080 GPU is an RTX 2080 GPU and the rest of the machine doesn't make a lot of difference apart for the white case of course. If you can accept you're paying a thousand dollars for a white case and are happy then I suggest you go for it.

    The only reason I dropped in an RTX 2080 was that Dell could do it for under $2,000.

    Have fun

    Cheerio John

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States of America, In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    239
     

    Default

    Is an I7 CPU, just as good for Trainz, as an I9 CPU, and an I9 is just good for bragging rights, and an I9 is just totally overkill ?

    2162
    Last edited by MP242; November 15th, 2019 at 11:35 AM.
    I want all my performance sliders set to "Full"

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,188
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    Is an I7 CPU, just as good for Trainz, as an I9 CPU, and an I9 is just good for bragging rights, and an I9 is just totally overkill ?

    2162

    An i7 will get you 2% more frame rates than an i5, an i9 will gain you another 1% but remember these are estimates only.

    Cheerio John

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States of America, In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    239
     

    Default

    In your expert best estimation, is an I7 CPU all that you will ever need for running Trainz ?
    I want all my performance sliders set to "Full"

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,188
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    In your expert best estimation, is an I7 CPU all that you will ever need for running Trainz ?

    There are no black and white rules. It all depends on the content you want to run the number of pixels on the screen and which version of Trainz you are running.

    TS2009 uses the CPU heavily, TANE and TS19 use the GPU more heavily. On my system I get better frame rates with TANE than TS2009.

    TS12 and TANE running the same content typically runs the GPU at a hotter temperature and the CPU runs cooler. Scripting is done on the CPU so if you have lots of scripted assets then that will use the CPU more than if you aren't running any. It's basically about balance, what combination gets reasonable frame rates per dollar and for that look at the Dell gaming rigs and the recommendation would be go with their GPU, CPU and SSD combination.

    I think we're just repeating ourselves here.

    Cheerio John

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States of America, In Front Of My PC
    Posts
    239
     

    Default

    I have been told that Trainz does not require a top of the line expensive desktop PC

    $ 1617 (minus 5% discount) $ 1536
    Motherboard: MSI MPG Z390 EDGE AC
    CPU: Intel Core i5 9600k 6 Core 4.6GHz
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660 6GB
    RAM: Xidax Extreme DDR4 2666MHz Memory-16GB
    Power Supply: SEASONIC FOCUS GOLD 550W
    HDD: Western Digital Black 1TB
    SSD: Xidax Performance SSD 1TB
    CPU Cooling: DARK ROCK TF 220W CPU AIR COOLER
    CPU Paste: Premium CPU Thermal Paste-Lower Temps 5-10° C
    GPU Paste: Premium Graphics Card Thermal Paste-Lower Temps 5-10° C
    OS: Windows 10 Home Premium 64-Bit
    Last edited by MP242; November 15th, 2019 at 07:34 PM.
    I want all my performance sliders set to "Full"

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,188
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MP242 View Post
    I have been told that Trainz does not require a top of the line expensive desktop PC

    $ 1617 (minus 5% discount) $ 1536
    Motherboard: MSI MPG Z390 EDGE AC
    CPU: Intel Core i5 9600k 6 Core 4.6GHz
    GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660 6GB
    RAM: Xidax Extreme DDR4 2666MHz Memory-16GB
    Power Supply: SEASONIC FOCUS GOLD 550W
    HDD: Western Digital Black 1TB
    SSD: Xidax Performance SSD 1TB
    CPU Cooling: DARK ROCK TF 220W CPU AIR COOLER
    CPU Paste: Premium CPU Thermal Paste-Lower Temps 5-10° C
    GPU Paste: Premium Graphics Card Thermal Paste-Lower Temps 5-10° C
    OS: Windows 10 Home Premium 64-Bit

    With an RTX 2070 which scores 14,000 on the 3D mark I have my sliders set back from max to get reasonable frame rates. With an GTX 1660 at 11,000 being generous you're expecting to have the sliders set to max?

    Choose your content carefully and you might even do it.

    Have fun and I'm sure the thermal paste on the GPU will make a difference. My video cards are just slotted in as they come.

    A dell with an i5 and a GTX 1660 is $809 by the way. I suspect the thermal paste is the expensive bit.

    Cheerio John

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,188
     

    Default

    Something you might like to consider is the "normal" system would be a GTX 1660 but many people on the forum run RTX 2070 GPUs. Faster GPUs are not unknown. These are people who know TANE/TS19 and the only reason they have RTX 2070 GPUs and faster is they consider that to run the sim this is the sort of level of hardware you need.

    I suspect the salesperson who says you don't need a high end machine does not have the same experience as many forum members. I also suspect they are on commission. I can run TANE on a laptop with Intel integrated graphics and get 20+ frames per second but there are no speedtrees and the content is very carefully selected and specially created. So yes what the salesman is saying is technically correct you don't need a high end machine to run Trainz but realistically to be able to run a variety of content at reasonable frame rates with the sliders set away from minimum you need a higher end machine.

    Cheerio John

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Qld
    Posts
    5,690
     

    Default

    I have been told that Trainz does not require a top of the line expensive desktop PC


    The key word here is "require". You can run TRS19 on a $500 machine, but you can't turn on the bells and whistles.

    My advice is always the same, "Buy the best system you can afford".
    Tony Hilliam

    Got questions about TRS19? Click here for TRS19 FAQs

    Looking for answers to in-game functionality? Click here for help

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,188
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony_Hilliam View Post
    The key word here is "require". You can run TRS19 on a $500 machine, but you can't turn on the bells and whistles.

    My advice is always the same, "Buy the best system you can afford".
    [/COLOR]

    I'll qualify that statement slightly. Start here: https://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu_list.php sort by value. Ideally you want an nVidia about 14,000+ on the 3D benchmark. Basically the sweet spot at the moment is an RTX 2070. Then its just a matter of what goes round it. To me a Dell refurbished tower workstation ideally xeon 6 core with 16 gigs and a very nice power supply works well. They have an 8 core xeon with 32 gigs of memory at moment for $900 and be aware you need to have some knowledge of computers to choose a video card that will fit, upgrade the hard drive and flip it to Win 10. The very nice thing about them is the thermals are worked out for you and trainz pushes the thermals. The workstations when new are about $4,000.

    You can buy a more expensive card than the 2070 and you will get more bells and whistles on some layouts with some assets. If you are running Middleton for laptops you'll get the same bells and whistles on a GTX 1660 as a Titan RTX and you won't notice the difference between the two in frame rates. Middleton for laptops needs a 3D score of 457 to give reasonable frame rates or Intel integrated graphics series 4000. It really does depend on the content. Normal content ie DLC type layouts you better off with 14,000 or so.

    Middleton will run on an i3 by the way however I'd stay with a minimum of an i5 but a 6 core xeon isn't overkill. The Dell gaming rigs are usually well balanced so look at them to get an idea of what combination of SSD, GPU and CPU gives the best performance per dollar.

    Cheerio John
    Last edited by johnwhelan; November 16th, 2019 at 10:56 AM.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Australia, Victoria, Churchill
    Posts
    1,536
     

    Default

    The GTX1660TI is the lowest spec graphic card I would go for. I have just upgraded to that from a 6gb GTX1060 OC and now get 30% better framerate at the same settings, or, as I have chosen to do, turn on a few more bells and whistles at a slightly higher but much smoother framerate. If you are looking to merge routes to go very large, as in a couple of thousand kilometres of track (Sydney to Seymour with most of the branches *too big for a cdp*) I would recommend 32gb RAM at least, otherwise the merge will fail. I do only have an i5 6700, but would recommend an i7 of any description due to the extra processor cores.
    cheers
    Graeme

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •