Graphics Card; What's the best bang for my buck?

BajaBlasted

Standard Cab Fanatic
Howdy all. I'm relatively new to trainz still, I've only had it for about a year now, and I'm still learning how to use it.

I got trainz because I was disatisfied by Dovetail games' train simulator game since it both had poor framerates and also just not fun after a while. So I went to trainz hoping for a better result.

I was satisfied with it but it shockingly was not a big improvement performance wise. I've turned my graphics down much more and it runs mediocre now but I'm still dissatisfied, since I have a limited palette when it comes to building routes or running on them. I can't run on routes that use pofig trees or high quality buildings because they turn my game into a frame soup. Even worse is that some older objects or units drop the frames a bit on occasion. Plus, it's pretty embarrassing for my computer when the description of a route for trainz 2009 says "designed for low end computers so it should run fine" but ends up being choppy.

It would be really nice to be able to go all out when building or running a route and having near perfect settings and not having to worry about the game crapping out on me, but it's tricky. I've been doing research on graphics cards to buy but I'm worried that A.) They'll be too big, B.) They will do little to nothing to fix the problem or C.) They're great and sure to work, but are too expensive.

I have an HP desktop designed for office/home use I believe. It has an Intel HD Graphics card. I'm pretty sure my computer meets all other requirements for the game, but I'm not sure (I can post my specs later on but I'd like to see if anyone will respond first, as I'm typing this post up at a place where I currently do not have access to my computer.) It has a quad core processor I believe but the graphics card is what's killing it. So now comes my question.