.
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: A question, or two, on tag mesh-table-lod-transition-distances

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    8,061
    Blog Entries
    30
     

    Default A question, or two, on tag mesh-table-lod-transition-distances

    After reading this WiKi paragraph http://online.ts2009.com/mediaWiki/i...tion-distances, I assumed that if I have two mesh entries then I only need one entry for the mesh-table-lod-transition-distances tag. i.e. something like this:

    Code:
    mesh-table {  
      lod_0 {
        mesh                                  "tank_hi.trainzmesh"
        auto-create                           1
        lod-level                             0
      }
      lod_1 {
        mesh                                  "tank_lo.trainzmesh"
        auto-create                           1
        lod-level                             1
      }
    }
    mesh-detail-level-count                   2
    mesh-table-lod-transition-distances       "200"
    But if I use that configuration then I get this VE109 error:

    Code:
    - <kuid:186372:890075> VE109: The low-detail meshes total more than 500 polygons. This may have a negative impact on performance: 0: 1332
    The validation seems to be ignoring my low poly mesh (333 tris).

    If I change the tag to:
    Code:
    mesh-table-lod-transition-distances       "200,400"
    then it commits without errors.

    Have I misinterpreted the requirement?

    Paul


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Oregon, Portland
    Posts
    3,353
     

    Default

    I also saw that. In addition, I got an error when I deleted the line when my mesh table just had one entry (a .lm reference).

    Curtis

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, QLD, Brisbane
    Posts
    7,062
     

    Default

    How many polygons in the tank_lo.trainzmesh mesh?

    Unrelated: I believe "mesh-detail-level-count" is superseded by "mesh-table-lod-transition-distances" so there's no point in using both.

    chris

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle NSW Australia
    Posts
    6,199
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WindWalkr View Post
    How many polygons in the tank_lo.trainzmesh mesh?


    chris
    I'm betting it's 333 tri's.
    T:ANE SP3 build 94829 and TRS2019 build 100240
    Win 10, i7 5820K, 3.3 GHz, 32GB ram, GTX 980Ti, 2x512GB SSD

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    8,061
    Blog Entries
    30
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WindWalkr View Post
    How many polygons in the tank_lo.trainzmesh mesh?
    333 as Deane identified.

    Quote Originally Posted by WindWalkr View Post
    Unrelated: I believe "mesh-detail-level-count" is superseded by "mesh-table-lod-transition-distances" so there's no point in using both.

    chris
    I dropped the mesh-detail-level-count tag and the results are the same. i.e. I still need two entries in the mesh-table-lod-transition-distances to avoid the VE109 error.

    The extra "distance" does implement the render cutoff as mentioned by the WiKi page. For that reason I think having the same number of "distances" as mesh-table LOD entries is a good thing.

    Curtis said the issue exists with LM.TXT and if the render cutoff is implemented by "mesh-table-lod-transition-distances", what does that mean for the "RenderCutoff" tag in the LM.TXT format? Is it obsolete?

    Paul


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Oregon, Portland
    Posts
    3,353
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcas1986 View Post
    Curtis said the issue exists with LM.TXT and if the render cutoff is implemented by "mesh-table-lod-transition-distances", what does that mean for the "RenderCutoff" tag in the LM.TXT format? Is it obsolete?
    Specifically, if I delete the "mesh-table-lod-transition-distances 100" line, I get a VE60 error; even though my mesh table consists of the following:

    Code:
    mesh-table
    {
      default
      {
        auto-create                         1
        mesh                                "caboose_body/caboose.lm"
      }
    }
    This is in the TrainzDev 94012 build.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    8,061
    Blog Entries
    30
     

    Default

    Have you read this page on advanced LOD techniques? I don't understand yet and will probably need to construct a test model to check it out.

    Paul


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Oregon, Portland
    Posts
    3,353
     

    Default

    I hadn't yet; thanks! Yes, it looks pretty straightforward. The only trick is that the lm.txt LOD switches on screen percentage and the mesh table switches on meters, so it might be tricky in some cases to align the two.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, QLD, Brisbane
    Posts
    7,062
     

    Default

    Thanks. Please send in a sample asset which exhibits this issue so that we can check what’s going on. trainzdev@auran.com

    chris

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    8,061
    Blog Entries
    30
     

    Default

    Chris has told me there is a bug with counting the number of LOD entries. It will be fixed in the next TrainzDev and future TANE versions but not in the current in progress release (SP3 I presume).

    Paul


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •