.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22

Thread: Installing TANE on new laptop

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Jonesboro
    Posts
    6,378

    Default

    Well that didn’t work. I got TANE to open on my laptop, but I don’t see any of my downloaded content... just built in stuff. I’m more confused than ever
    Give me a break... I'm old

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Posts
    7,451
    Blog Entries
    30

    Default

    You may need to go into the TANE settings->Install and ensure the "Local data folder" is pointing to the location of your userdata.

    I agree with PC_Ace. I don't have any of my TANE userdata installations in my user data space. They are one my D: drive with a folder name of my choice.

    Paul


  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    23,146

    Default

    I agree too.

    It's easier to access the content when doing repairs as well as for modifications and content creation.

    I keep mine on my F: drive under a folder called TANE_DATA.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Arkansas, Jonesboro
    Posts
    6,378

    Default

    Okay, I finally got everything moved over and everything shows up in Content Manager and my routes show up in driver, but this laptop is nowhere near powerful enough to run TANE smoothly. I'm getting maybe one frame per second on my Cotton Belt Route. UGH!

    Oh well, I mainly got the laptop to take with me on trips and stuff.
    Give me a break... I'm old

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    17,889

    Default

    Try running "Offline" with Ethernet disconnected, or Wireless turned off

    Turn off unneeded applications in Task Manager

    Does it have an actual video card ... or is it an "on motherboard" integrated graphics CPU chip ?

    Is it a brand new PC, bought from a BigBox Store ... or a second hand older model

    Most lower end laptops will not run Trainz very well, if at all

    If I went out to Staples and bought a brand new I7, $800 laptop, it would not run T:ANE very well, as it has no actual video card
    Last edited by cascaderailroad; June 13th, 2018 at 01:34 PM.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    23,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davesnow View Post
    Okay, I finally got everything moved over and everything shows up in Content Manager and my routes show up in driver, but this laptop is nowhere near powerful enough to run TANE smoothly. I'm getting maybe one frame per second on my Cotton Belt Route. UGH!

    Oh well, I mainly got the laptop to take with me on trips and stuff.
    After rebuilding your database, etc., run a defrag on the drive it really helps.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,411

    Default

    Keeping each build or installation of T:ANE\ TRS2019\ TS2012 in a descriptive folder with their own associated Userdata folders has enabled me to pepper my hard drives with multiple installations.
    So, on SSD C: I have C\TRS2019\Userdata and on SSD D: 4 beta builds of T:ANE (example - D:\TANE94217\Userdata ) and on much larger, multi-terabyte HD Drives, F:\ and H: each contains complete backups of these.
    Makes for easier maintenance and hassle-free backups whenever a new build or patch arrives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •