.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Mixture of legacy and PBR materials

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, Del Mar
    Posts
    433
     

    Default Mixture of legacy and PBR materials

    Got a bit of question regarding the use of legacy and PBR materials in the same mesh. I've been updating one of my meshes to use PBR but wanted to see the possibility of using both legacy materials (m.onetex in this case) and PBR to make my life simpler. Unfortunately, I'm running into some issues with legacy materials with alphas. For some reason they don't load, despite everything being set up correctly.





    I understand this is probably not a good thing to do but figured I would report this in-case others try this.

    Regards,
    GDennish
    Creator of TRS19 QR PB15, TRS19 Class 37 Cab, TRS19 Class 47 Cab
    Admin of: https://www.sodorworkshops.com/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, QLD, Brisbane
    Posts
    7,066
     

    Default

    There's absolutely no reason why you can't mix the newer and older materials in a single mesh.

    chris

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Michagain, Berkley
    Posts
    5,449
    Blog Entries
    6
     

    Default

    There is one case: name.m.glass (used fore windows) and old material ARN do not mix, the ARN number shows on the windows, this was with first build we had.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, Del Mar
    Posts
    433
     

    Default

    I ended up fixing it, it was something to do with blender. Normally in blender you need to set this alpha value to zero in order for transparency to show, but this causes it to be invisible in-game. For export it should be turned off or set to one.


    Seem to have run into another bug, I think it's only for cabviews though. Not really sure what's going here, some of the brass tubes are missing and some of the uvs are messed up. I know there is nothing wrong with the mesh because it appears fine in the asset viewer and blender.




    Regards,
    GDennish
    Creator of TRS19 QR PB15, TRS19 Class 37 Cab, TRS19 Class 47 Cab
    Admin of: https://www.sodorworkshops.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Michagain, Berkley
    Posts
    5,449
    Blog Entries
    6
     

    Default

    I had some holes show up in the mesh but only at close up, it was ether a missing channel or wrong order in the PBR texture. Also check that you have no overlapping UV's.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    154
    Blog Entries
    26
     

    Default

    Check if some faces have a second uv channel. It isn't recognized inside Trainz. Also check smoothing groups.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •