.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: Dim Headlight Rule

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    1,959

    Default

    Thanks everyone for checking in. I just did a fast test using two different locos from different authors and came to this conclusion. Without the rule the drop down menu options DO NOT work. With the rule you can adjust the lights , bottom right on screen, before using the AI. Using any of the commands will not let you change the settings you have chosen. In conclusion, choose your setting before issuing any commands and you should be okay. You need the rule. If I'm wrong please let me know so that I'm not leading other astray. Thanks.
    pop pop

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Sydney
    Posts
    4,608
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stouthm View Post
    I just did a fast test using two different locos from different authors and came to this conclusion. Without the rule the drop down menu options DO NOT work.
    I have tested the drop down headlight control menus commands with and without the rule installed in a session and there is no difference. What does make a difference is individual locos. It seems to depend on how the loco creator constructed the headlight glare.
    A member of the "Party Machine". Now if only I could remember where they are holding the party!

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES
    Posts
    3,994

    Default

    In my case, without the rule, the lights can't be controlled at all. With the rule, the menu items do not work but the light switch in the "Set_Driver_Conditions" rule does work. Also it is true that, as pware states, the rule only seems to work with some locos. For example it works with my Battery Loco, that (I think) uses Andi's loco script, but the 1938 Tube Stock headlights are always at full brightness and look like the Death Ray from Mars. I should have also said in my first post that the important thing about the "Set_Driver_Conditions " rule is that the light switch actually works! BTW the "Set_Driver_Conditions " can be a bit unreliable. Sometimes the UI doesn't appear in the session. I have found no explanation for this.

    In the picture you can see that the Battery Loco's headlight casts a quite acceptable light on the brick wall but the Tube Stock headlights look terrible.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    Mick
    Last edited by Mick_Berg; May 19th, 2018 at 12:03 AM.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    1,959

    Default

    As I stated earlier I only used two locos, by N8phu and Dave Snow, and suspected that different locos would get different results. I would suggest that if you want dim headlights that you should test the locos that you would like to use before placing them on your route. Again, thanks to everyone for checking in.
    pop pop

  5. #20

    Default

    I finally succeeded with JTG Correct Vehicle Lights, I also found the Set Driver Conditions rule functional and very useful, only html window looks wrongly formatted.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Antarctica, Vostok Base, South Pole, AQ
    Posts
    17,878

    Default

    This 40 billion K headlight is great for, burning down weeds, and killing flying bugz


  7. #22

    Default

    That is mainly BIG shame of N3V as well as displaying everything with alpha.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES
    Posts
    3,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JAGG View Post
    I finally succeeded with JTG Correct Vehicle Lights, I also found the Set Driver Conditions rule functional and very useful, only html window looks wrongly formatted.
    How do you mean? I didn't think it had a HTML window.

    Mick

  9. #24

    Default

    I am talking about Set Driver Conditions rule and about wrongly formatted looking window I mean this:

    Last edited by JAGG; May 28th, 2018 at 08:06 AM.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES
    Posts
    3,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JAGG View Post
    I am talking about Set Driver Conditions rule and about wrongly formatted looking window I mean this:

    I thought you meant the window that opens in the Edit Session Window. But you're right, my GUI looks exactly the same. I knew it didn't look quite right but it didn't bother me. I don't think it's bad enough to warrant any action.
    Mick
    Last edited by Mick_Berg; May 29th, 2018 at 11:52 PM.

  11. #26

    Default

    I suppose it to be improvable through editing html code but I am not specialist for that (yet ).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •