.
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Does physics x simulation effect Trainz Tane

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States of America, GA, Grovetown
    Posts
    997

    Default Does physics x simulation effect Trainz Tane

    Having an old gtx 760 4gb sitting around I was wondering what to do with it since I upgraded to a gtx 1080TI 11gb. So I started looking up about using a gpu dedicated to physics x simulation and to showed an increase on when a gtx 1080 is paired with a dedicated gtx 750 running the physics x inmproved 5-9 fps avg on games like the metro and batman arkam night. Which brings me to this question does physics x affect Trainz Tane or any other simulator in the same way and will it benefit from a dedicated physcis x card handling physics processes leaving the 1080 to handle the graphics and other things?
    Lead, Follow, Or get the **** out of the way -​Hugh "Polar Bear" Rowland
    My website: https://sites.google.com/site/gwinsplace/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States of America, GA, Grovetown
    Posts
    997

    Default

    http://www.volnapc.com/all-posts/how...hysx-card-make
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H9nZWEekm9c&t=198s

    Where I got the ideas from watching and reading this information.
    Lead, Follow, Or get the **** out of the way -​Hugh "Polar Bear" Rowland
    My website: https://sites.google.com/site/gwinsplace/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    22,705

    Default

    I read about this as well, but for some reason I couldn't get the setup to work when I tried and I gave up.

    With the new Windows 10 installed, I may try it again in case it was a driver issue back then.

    If you do it, let me know how it works and how easy it was to setup.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States of America, GA, Grovetown
    Posts
    997

    Default

    Will do as soon as I get some of time-off working for CSX its amazing how a dream job could turn into a nightmare.
    Lead, Follow, Or get the **** out of the way -​Hugh "Polar Bear" Rowland
    My website: https://sites.google.com/site/gwinsplace/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    22,705

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by constar261 View Post
    Will do as soon as I get some of time-off working for CSX its amazing how a dream job could turn into a nightmare.
    That's usually the case as it happened to me as well when I was hired at Oracle. The money was great initially, the coworkers were great, but then the workload tripled without the increase in pay and support to go along with the huge workload. In the end due to complications of a past health condition, I ended up going out on disability after suffering a small stroke.

    Anyway I attempted this, but my older (sic) GTX780Ti proved to have some issues with it causing my system not to like the card being installed, and my even older GTX680Ti is totally dead. I'll let you play around and let me know how it works.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    United States of America, GA, Grovetown
    Posts
    997

    Default

    I believe the physX in trainz tane is locked to the cpu via the programing. To confirm this some from the dev team would need to chime in about how trainz tane uses PhysX
    Lead, Follow, Or get the **** out of the way -​Hugh "Polar Bear" Rowland
    My website: https://sites.google.com/site/gwinsplace/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    13,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by constar261 View Post
    I believe the physX in trainz tane is locked to the cpu via the programing. To confirm this some from the dev team would need to chime in about how trainz tane uses PhysX
    Pretty sure that is correct, I seen to remember last time the question was asked the official answer was that it's locked to the CPU, not sure if was on this forum or the beta forum, was at least a couple of years ago though.
    Malc


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Posts
    7,361
    Blog Entries
    30

    Default

    Search in the TrainzDev forum for posts by Chris (Windwalkr). There is relatively recent post (Dec 17) in an IanWoodmore thread. I'd post the link but have no idea how to do that on an iPad.

    Paul


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States of America, Florida and Illinois
    Posts
    506

    Default

    My NVidia card requested a software update today, so now it does new stuff... and now it now is working like I thought it should... It never seemed to work before today. Anyone else seeing this with their NVidia cards?



    and its linked to this;



    and;

    If it's not broke, don't fix it.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •