Good Monitor for T:ANE

WCRULEZ

I am in the market for a new monitor, preferably under $200. What is a good monitor to run T:ANE on? I am a complete noob when it comes to monitors and their specs, so help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Generally speaking an LED IPS monitor 1920 x 1080 works well. If you have a $25,000 machine you might want to spend a bit more. I use a 22 inch monitor but others prefer a larger screen size.

LG and Samsung manufacture the screens companies such as Dell buy them in so Dell screen typically will cost 5-10% more than an LG one although they are probably the same screen.

I quite like ASUS quality but that is just one person. Go to Newegg.com and look for monitors with many reviews and high ratings.

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236335 might be worthy of consideration. Note you probably do not need to spend the full $200.

More pixels mean lower frame rates. ie a 4k monitor needs more horsepower to drive it. If you have a low end machine then go for fewer pixels. I don't think 4K UHD is quite ready for prime time nor do I think that TANE today supports it.

Cheerio John

I have an AOC 27" 1920x1080 monitor that works very well. IIRC it cost me about $150 from Best Buy. Be sure to use a digital input, either HDMI or DVI. VGA does not cut it any more.

Mick

Best quality monitors I've tested, reviewed and used for gaming tend to come from Acer, AOC, Asus, Dell, LG, Samsung, NEC and ViewSonic.
I have 3 monitors here - one Asus, one ViewSonic and the other a Dell. All still excellent performers and remain great value for money.

Key determinants of what sort of monitor you should purchase are what you plan to use it for (predominant use-case) and whether your video card is capable of driving it to the performance levels and quality and resolution settings needed.