.
Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 111

Thread: UK narrow boats or barges what do we have?

  1. #46

    Default

    Sink rail tunnels into the ground with boat track not attached to the tunnel spline.
    https://youtu.be/C1xKsYfVnQc
    Last edited by stagecoach; July 28th, 2018 at 08:00 AM.

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Louisiana, New Orleans
    Posts
    986
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stagecoach View Post
    Sink rail tunnels into the ground with boat track not attached to the tunnel spline.
    https://youtu.be/C1xKsYfVnQc
    That's what I did on my Glasgow Queen St. It had track attached so I used concrete slab spline to cover them. Worked well except it was a little too large.

    Cheers
    Chris (nawlins)
    "If all else fails, read the instructions."

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,324
     

    Default

    The latest addition to the fleet.





    Two tanker tops to fit the 70 Vulcan barge hull.

    narrow boat 4 70 Albion Coal KUID2:86627:101094:1

    and

    narrow boat 3 70 Fellows Morton & Clayton - Later KUID2:86627:101108:2

    Have had their config.txt files edited so its an option. Typical loads would be tar and creosote but you'll need to add them to the queues. These work with the barges based on Vulcan's hull. One is set for the shorter cabin and one for the longer cabin. The longer cabin needs sorting out so the texture isn't so stretched.

    KotangaGirl has been very nice and done a few reskins which add a bit of variety.

    I think we have a very basic set of functional narrow boats now that can carry cargo. Over time hopefully the range will expand.

    Can one set up a wharf with railway wagons on one side and narrow boats on the the other to transfer goods?

    Thanks

    Cheerio John

  4. #49

    Question Narrow Boat on Rail Track is invisible, directional arrows only showing in Surveyor?

    Good Morning Gentleman,

    I came across this Thread, and really like your Narrow Boat discussion, so I downloaded your Narrow Boats, and went to test them on my Test Route one Tile with Circle of Track, when I put one on the Track, it is listed as a Train, no faults, and it installed fine. Am using TANE SP2..........

    The problem is, it shows green and red Arrow for direction the Track, but the boat is invisible????? In fact all the Narrow Boats show invisible.............?

    Am I doing something wrong, I understand it goes in the water on invisible Track of my choice etc, could you help me here.........Thanks

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Louisiana, New Orleans
    Posts
    986
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blueodessey View Post
    Good Morning Gentleman,

    I came across this Thread, and really like your Narrow Boat discussion, so I downloaded your Narrow Boats, and went to test them on my Test Route one Tile with Circle of Track, when I put one on the Track, it is listed as a Train, no faults, and it installed fine. Am using TANE SP2..........


    The boat is made to float 7feet under the track. In surveyor if you activate the wireframe view(f9) you'll see the boat under ground.
    boat track is laid 7' above the surface of the water.

    Cheers

    The problem is, it shows green and red Arrow for direction the Track, but the boat is invisible????? In fact all the Narrow Boats show invisible.............?

    Am I doing something wrong, I understand it goes in the water on invisible Track of my choice etc, could you help me here.........Thanks
    The boat is underground. Just activate the wireframe view (f9) and you'll see it.

    Boat track is laid 7' above the surface of the water.


    Cheers
    Chris (nawlins)
    "If all else fails, read the instructions."

  6. #51

    Cool

    Ahhhh..........Thank you Sir..............And now I remember the Track had to be above Ground level, invisible of course..........

    You'll excuse me, while I go stand in the corner for while with a Dunce Cap on my head......

    Thanks for the quick reply...........Have a great weekend Sir.......
    Last edited by blueodessey; July 28th, 2018 at 12:08 PM. Reason: spelling error

  7. #52

    Default

    It is easier to say water level plus 3m. As water can be on various levels with locks, ground may not be at the correct level to work out the track level. Original narrowboats on trainz were at -3m below water level and other boats at -7m. It was Vulcan that brought in the 3m above water to get a visible standard for laying the track.
    Last edited by stagecoach; July 28th, 2018 at 12:30 PM.

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,378
     

    Default

    The tanker tops for the narrowboats is looking very good indeed John.
    Narcolepsy is not napping.



  9. #54

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nawlins View Post
    That's what I did on my Glasgow Queen St. It had track attached so I used concrete slab spline to cover them. Worked well except it was a little too large.

    Cheers
    There's also a 2T normal (not track) spline which emulates a complete UK tunnel including portals at either end (no track) and can be laid without angle restriction. Probably dwarf the average UK narrow boat, though, even if set low in the water.

    Must say I am quite enjoying the experience and when I took a boat for a "drive" through the 2km I've done was pleased with the result even at Level One detail stage. I can honestly see my route building focus staying on this genre for some time - I've already short-listed the Oxford, Caldon, Crinan, Brecon & Monmouth plus the tunnel complex around Dudley as desirable further projects.
    TRS 2019 Coach Class (Former Customer)

  10. #55

    Default

    One tip I found useful was to use a river spline just below the water level. This hid track in tunnels and made the bottom of the canal less harsh when a dark blue texture was used. There are some river bank splines that are good for canal banks.

  11. #56

    Default

    Yes there is a bit of an issue when using real water if the lock is at an angle to the tiling function. For now i have tried to find a stretch of river spline that will patch the gap. Not perfect but the only other option would be for the locks to extend a water "plane" at either end which still may not match the water texture chosen by the user.

    I'm also considering how I might disguise the bright green grass texture used on some of the assets as it doesn't quite gell with more recent terrain textures, etc.

    One other thing I have found on testing the lock functionality, it is very hard to find the sweet spot on the red arrows in order to activate the function. Clicking everywhere, after about 10 goes I managed to get a green to fill the lock for a craft going downhill but then couldn't activate the reverse function to lower the water level/boat in the lock. Can't see there is a keyboard command to work the turntable function either.
    TRS 2019 Coach Class (Former Customer)

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Louisiana, New Orleans
    Posts
    986
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vern View Post
    Yes there is a bit of an issue when using real water if the lock is at an angle to the tiling function. For now i have tried to find a stretch of river spline that will patch the gap. Not perfect but the only other option would be for the locks to extend a water "plane" at either end which still may not match the water texture chosen by the user.

    I'm also considering how I might disguise the bright green grass texture used on some of the assets as it doesn't quite gell with more recent terrain textures, etc.

    One other thing I have found on testing the lock functionality, it is very hard to find the sweet spot on the red arrows in order to activate the function. Clicking everywhere, after about 10 goes I managed to get a green to fill the lock for a craft going downhill but then couldn't activate the reverse function to lower the water level/boat in the lock. Can't see there is a keyboard command to work the turntable function either.
    The sweet spot has always been a bit of an issue with turntables too. I find that moving the camera 90 degrees to the canal and about 30 degrees up gives the best results. As far as going up or down each arrow is unique. One is for down and one for up. Don't ask which.

    Cheers
    Chris (nawlins)
    "If all else fails, read the instructions."

  13. #58

    Default

    You can use AI to work the locks. You need the input rule and move turntable command. The screenshot shows 3 double locks and all work with AI.
    Last edited by stagecoach; August 6th, 2018 at 08:08 AM.

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    13,324
     

    Default

    I've been asked for some scenery versions of the canal boats so they are on the to do list.

    Cheerio John

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Queensland, Brisbane
    Posts
    841
     

    Default

    Hi Guys,

    To operate the red and green arrows, your line of sight has to be through the arrows with part of the canal lock behind them. Sometimes for small transfer tables this is hard to do so for recent models I have added a large invisible square underground so the "footprint" of the asset is larger.

    When Tane was released my invisible blue track was invisible, I did fix it but I was recently made aware that the update was not available on the DLS nor builtin. If you are having problems seeing the track download the update version 3 that I recently uploaded.

    Ian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •