.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: N&W Signals

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456

    Question N&W Signals

    which signals would be the best and easiest to use. N&W signals by semiorchief or N&W signals by rrsignal. I'm going to have to learn as I go.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    22,723

    Default

    I would go with the RRS signals because they are scripted and work well in T:ANE.

    The SeniorChief signals are nice, but they are much older so I'm not sure how well they'll work.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    3,606
    Blog Entries
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCitron View Post
    I would go with the RRS signals because they are scripted and work well in T:ANE.

    The SeniorChief signals are nice, but they are much older so I'm not sure how well they'll work.
    The script RRSignal uses on his signals are just too difficult for me to understand. Also, there's no signals for the left side of track, while seniorchief's have ones for the left side of the tracks. Also, seniorchief has signal gantries for his signals while RRSignal's signals don't. If you were going to use RRSignal's signals on the left side of the tracks, you'll have to clone it and then go into the config file and change it so that it'll go on the left side instead of the right side. Because of these problems that I have with RRSignal's signals, I'd go with seniorchief's signals, even though they are a bit out of date.
    Duct tape fixes all problems in Trainz

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    22,723

    Default

    Okay. Your decision has been made!

    You might find this helpful anyway.

    http://signals.jovet.net/rules/N%26W...al%20Rules.pdf
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    United States of America, California, Los Angeles
    Posts
    761

    Default

    @JCitron: Is it just me, or are the Norfolk and Western's signal rules similar to those on the Pennsylvania? It wouldn't surprise me since the Pennsy owned a large amount of interest in the N&W at one time.
    If you want to be friends with me, add me on facebook.com/missprrqueen.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456

    Default

    Ok I am using signals by seniorchief. Here is a screen shot of what I have. I have a N&W support bracket and I added two N&W cpl 01 brkt. signals rh because I'm on the right hand, I guess. I have all red, should I not have green or do I need a different signal? The far left track is a siding which is not being used I thank. The other two are through tracks.
    Last edited by Jayco-man; February 14th, 2018 at 02:04 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    22,723

    Default

    I see that you have red signals, and I think you are using the right kind for the spot. Your red might be due to a switch not set for the track the train is on verify the setting on the lever in the topmost position in the image.

    From what I can tell, the signals work similar to how all other signals do except the railroad chose a combination of color and the semaphore arm-position instead of colored-lights only. The two-headed signals are diverging signals and are the equivalent of Jointed Rail's Type 06 signals.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    22,723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PereMarquette1225fan View Post
    @JCitron: Is it just me, or are the Norfolk and Western's signal rules similar to those on the Pennsylvania? It wouldn't surprise me since the Pennsy owned a large amount of interest in the N&W at one time.
    That's a big possibility and wouldn't doubt it. There was a similar thing on the Long Island Railroad due to the same reason.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456

    Default

    OK I changed the switches, but know change in the signals. So as I was working I though should there not be a signal script for the signals? I don't remember seeing one when I downloaded the signals. Thanks for the help cause I have know idea what I'm doing.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    22,723

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayco-man View Post
    OK I changed the switches, but know change in the signals. So as I was working I though should there not be a signal script for the signals? I don't remember seeing one when I downloaded the signals. Thanks for the help cause I have know idea what I'm doing.
    I don't think the SC signals are scripted like the RRS or JR signals are so you are not going to see the same affects as those other signals do. It's the script libraries which makes the RRS signals complex and have all the options, which are for linking signals together in interlockings. If you use them with the default settings, they work fine, but yeah figuring out the combinations can be difficult.

    You're welcome and I'm glad I can help becuase I have no idea what I'm doing either most of the time myself!
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    TS12 Build: 61388
    T:ANE Build: 90955

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    5,089

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayco-man View Post
    Ok I am using signals by seniorchief. Here is a screen shot of what I have. I have a N&W support bracket and I added two N&W cpl 01 brkt. signals rh because I'm on the right hand, I guess. I have all red, should I not have green or do I need a different signal? The far left track is a siding which is not being used I thank. The other two are through tracks.
    Quoted image to ease the explanation (as I understand these things). From your example the signal should be displaying two reds. This is due to the top switch being set wrong for through traffic on the right most track. I believe the center track is displaying red due to a switch further on or because there is no traffic on that line.
    Last edited by normhart; February 14th, 2018 at 07:41 PM.
    California is not turning back. Not now, not ever!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456

    Default

    Thanks again, but no go. I added traffic to center track and change the switches one at a time. They still stay red all the time. This is the only signal I have set so far. Would it be better to set another on out in front of this one or no?
    Last edited by Jayco-man; February 14th, 2018 at 08:16 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Georgia, Rocky Face
    Posts
    3,606
    Blog Entries
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayco-man View Post
    Thanks again, but no go. I added traffic to center track and change the switches one at a time. They still stay red all the time. This is the only signal I have set so far. Would it be better to set another on out in front of this one or no?
    Does the track dead ends around the corner? If it does, that could be the reason why it's red.
    Duct tape fixes all problems in Trainz

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    456

    Default

    You mite be right, its several miles from here where I'm getting ready to cut through a tunnel, but for right now it is dead-end at that point. I did install another one in front of this one and it seems to be working properly. It is showing yellow on both signals and when I move a train through them they change to red, so again you mite be right. Thanks for all the help.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Melbourne Florida
    Posts
    1,460

    Default

    Jayco, if you give RRSignal's N&W signals a try I think you will be very pleased. I use RRSignal's all over my +200 mile route and they work great in TANE.

    Dave

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •