.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: C&O Hinton Division - Thurmond Empties

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    11
     

    Default C&O Hinton Division - Thurmond Empties

    During play of this route-session, I have noticed a couple of issues.

    The first problem severely affects play-ability:

    About 40min into driving the route, one or more AI trains derails, causing the player to fail the session. I can tell it is a AI train derailing, because I brought my train to a complete stop. I was able to delay the derailment by setting AI train max speed to 20 mph. I suspect a new train spawned (is that a thing?) and derailed due to high speed or a train ran to end of track somewhere and didn't stop.

    The second problem is me being a bit rivet-countery and is not game breaking:

    For some reason, the route has cylindrical hoppers and other era inappropriate rolling stock. Are the freight cars in sidings randomly generated from a list of rolling stock I have downloaded, or are they put in by the route developer? Can they be changed?

    Thanks for your help
    BMMECNYC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    United States of America, PA
    Posts
    736
     

    Default

    All locos and rolling stock were placed by someone knowing that they are not from that era. Also, there are no leaning physics in Trainz as of right now. There are only a few ways to derail a train and the AI from what I have heard is sort of broken right now in T:ANE. The next hotfix is supposed to fix this problem which was brought to light a little while ago, maybe a month or two. Yes, you can spawn new trains onto a route using something called Portals. You can also use the "Trains" tab in T:ANE to spawn full consists and individual cars or locos. Portals are essentially an off route staging yard that you can't see. You can set a production interval by the minute and also do many other things with it. They can also send trains back. When first placed, a portal will just consume and delete trains. You should be able to figure out how to use them, it is honestly not that difficult. As for why that train is derailing, it may be a switch thrown the wrong way. Now, in Trainz, going over a switch when it is switched against a train doesn't derail it IF there is not too dramatic of an angle on the switch. For example, a switch that looks like it comes to a point will definitely derail a train if the switch is not thrown in its direction. Of course a smooth switch can have a sharp curve which can also derail a train because the loco or piece of rolling stock will jump to the other track after it is about 75% through the switch. The whole reason the train does derail is because it is coupled to another car or loco, this includes the tender of a steam loco. If an individual loco, diesel for example, goes over a bad switch that is against it, it will actually be fine.
    Last edited by MTH_ELECTRIC_TRAINS; December 19th, 2017 at 10:42 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    105
     

    Default

    Another thread was made a little while ago detailing the problem and how the person got around it.

    https://forums.auran.com/trainz/show...urmond+empties

    My suggestion would be to clone the session, edit the clone. You can set the derailments to "arcade" or "none", that way nothing derails while its going over a trailing switch.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    11
     

    Default

    Thanks for the link Bob_Ross. I will probably look into just stopping, slowing, or re-directing the offending AI trains.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Australia, SA, Elizabeth
    Posts
    1,139
     

    Default

    I'll also look into this problem and issue an update to that session if needed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    United States of America, PA
    Posts
    736
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BMMECNYC View Post
    Thanks for the link Bob_Ross. I will probably look into just stopping, slowing, or re-directing the offending AI trains.
    That is probably the best thing to do. If you know what train is wrecking, just stop it or maybe even delete it if possible.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •