Need an explaination.

dynajet

I have been working with Trainz since 2004 on and off. Now that I have retired I'm getting back into it. Can someone please explain to me the difference between a route and session? If I save a change it asks to save the route and you get a chose to save a new route or overwrite it. If I select to over write the session sometime I loss commands that I have created. All I really want to do is say my work and not anything I do during a test drive.

Very confused.

I have Trainz New Era with the latest build running on a Mac.

Thanks for any help.

I have been working with Trainz since 2004 on and off. Now that I have retired I'm getting back into it. Can someone please explain to me the difference between a route and session? If I save a change it asks to save the route and you get a chose to save a new route or overwrite it. If I select to over write the session sometime I loss commands that I have created. All I really want to do is say my work and not anything I do during a test drive.

Very confused.

I have Trainz New Era with the latest build running on a Mac.

Thanks for any help.

Hi,

The main difference is,... A route is your initial layout which will include all track-laying, signals, catenary, terrain levels, roads, buildings, industries, stations, scenery, etc.

When you are sure you don't want to add any additional assets to your route, save your route in your selected title.

Then begin your Session, which will include any trains, consists, driver commands, triggers, portal control. Then save your session with a specific name that you can remember and easily access.

From this point, only EDIT your SESSION, and not the route. If you make changes in your session, when saving, it may ask if you want to also save the route. If you want those changes to appear in your route, say yes,... if you don't then say no.

If you edit your Route, your Session may miss out on anything you might have changed,