.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: ATLS System

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    1,807

    Default ATLS System

    Once the consist passes the crossing the gate takes a long time before it rises. No matter where I place the trigger it still takes a long time. I'm using the 4 trigger system and yes everything is as it should be. The gate closes when it reaches the first trigger but it's the second trigger that is driving me nuts.. I've tried moving it a number of times with no success. Is there a way in which I can place the trigger so that the gate rises soon after the consist passes?
    pop pop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Have a look at the properties of the crossing gate, it may have settings there.
    Graeme

  3. #3

    Default

    Four trigger mode needs 4 triggers to be passed to complete the cycle. Trigger 1 activates the gate, Trigger 2 is not active, Trigger 3 deactivates the gate and Trigger 4 is not active. Triggers 1 and 4 should be placed some distance away while triggers 2 and 3 are placed each side of the gates.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    1,807

    Default

    stagecoach, I understand the system but I'm having a problem getting the gates to close more quickly after the train has passed. I guess I just have to play with #3 trigger to find the spot. Thanks.
    pop pop

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA, United States of America
    Posts
    204
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grazlash View Post
    Have a look at the properties of the crossing gate, it may have settings there.
    Graeme

    I second that -- check the crossing properties themselves. I'm using one crossing that has slow gates and found the best setting to be 2 flasher cycles on closing. Alternatively, try a different crossing and see if the issue persists.

    :B~)

  6. #6

    Default

    If you are using the pre setup ATLS crossing then place the trigger on the footpath and set to 5m radius. If you have made the crossing from the ATLS components then place the trigger beside the gates where the footpath would cross the track. If you are using normal crossings make sure the trigger is not on the crossing track.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    United States of America, North Carolina
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Have you tried the TRC system. It only uses one trigger and the length of time for opening and closing the gates in both directions is determined by how far the trigger is placed from the crossing. Much simpler. https://sites.google.com/site/trcv2e...0-introduction

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada > St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Make sure the ATLS trigger radii are set to 5m or less for the releasing trigs, VERY important to raise the gates quickly after the train passes.
    Counting rivets at 2560x1440 using ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING GeForce 11GB OC
    and ASUS PG278QR 27" 1ms 165Hz G-SYNC

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    969

    Default

    Hi Stouthm,

    As stagecoach says, and he is an ATLS Super-User, the gate should open as soon as the train leaves the second Trigger (or in the case of the direction dependant 4 Trig system, the 3rd Trigger in line).
    Reducing the Trigger Radius which effectively reduces the 'size' of the Trigger will make that happen more quickly and is useful for slow trains.

    However there should not be a delay unless you have set the ATLS Slave to 'Delay Clear'. This setting should be at '0'.

    If it is at 0 and there is still a delay then there is some other problem. Upload a screenshot of the area so we can see what crossing you are using and the settings in the ATLS assets.

    What gates/barriers are you using? Do they have a delay setting or are THEY just slow?

    Boat

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    1,807

    Default

    Thanks to everyone who has offered suggestions. Boat, after reading your response I did some fine tuning on the grade crossing, I only use BNSF50's crossing, and tested some crossing on one of my routes. Some of the crossing work the way they're suppose to while others do not. The gates close when the train reaches the trigger but does not open after passing the trigger until several seconds later when the train is far away. I think it has something to do with where I place the #3 trigger even though I try to place all the #3 triggers in the same area. Just a thought, does it matter the sequence in which you place the triggers? I usually place the closing gate triggers first, that would be #1 & #4, then I place the two opening triggers on the crossing itself, those being #2 & #3 triggers. I place 2 & 3 with the bottom just touching the crosswalk with the top close to the middle of the crossing. I will continue messing around with this but it's not something that will stop me from using your system. Thanks for making it.
    pop pop

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    969

    Default

    Hi,

    No it doesn’t matter what sequence you click the Triggers into place in Surveyor.

    When you run the actual Session, this is what happens with the 4 trigger system.....

    As a train arrives and hits the first Trigger, that will send an immediate message to the Controller which in turn will send an immediate message to the Slave to create an invisible train which will close the gate. There is a setting on the Slave, (Delay Start) which can delay the creation of the train.

    When the train hits the 2nd Trigger in line it will ignore it as this is meant for trains travelling in the opposite direction.

    When the train hits the 3rd Trigger in line it will wait for the end of the train to clear that trigger and then will send an immediate message to the Controller which in turn will send an immediate message to the Slave to delete the invisible train which will open the gate. There is a setting on the Slave, (Delay Clear) which can delay the deletion of the train.

    The train will ignore the 4th Trigger.

    In other words, the Trigger and Controller can only send instant messages. If there is a delay it can only be set-up in the Slave..... or in the 3rd party barrier itself. Where you position the Triggers will not add any extra delay. Check the ‘Delay Clear’ setting in the Slave and that all Slaves are set to 4 Trigger System.

    In the sequence a train hits the Triggers, Trigger 1 closes the barrier to cars, Trigger 3 opens the barrier to cars. Triggers 2 & 4 in the given direction do nothing.

    Cheers,

    Boat

  12. #12

    Default

    Which crossing and barriers are you using in the one that wont work? Not all crossings work in the same way and need to be set up slightly different. It sounds like this might be one of them, if I know the assets I can try and recreate the situation.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    1,807

    Default

    boat & stagecoach - I appreciate you guys hanging in there with me but it's not a big deal. I'm probably being a little anal about this, Most of the time I'm in Cab view or Chase view and I don't even see the crossing once I go by. It's just bugging me as to why I can't get it to work. Stagecoach, the grade xing I'm using is BNSF50's kuid2:39134:101060:5. I've double checked all my setting and they appear to be correct but maybe you can let me know what your setting are after you check it out. Thanks again.
    pop pop

  14. #14

    Default

    Just looked at the crossing which is an all in one type (gate + crossing). Set it up and the gate opens a few seconds after the train passes trigger 3. If the set up is correct check that trigger 3 is on the main track and not on the crossing track. This would explain why it did not trigger and the gate only triggered after it passed trigger 4.
    You can test this by driving the train in both directions in manual. It will most likely be something like this
    Forward T1 = gate closes, T2 = nothing, T3 = nothing and T4 = gate opens.
    Reverse T1 = nothing, T2 = nothing, T3 = gate closes and T4 = nothing, gates remain closed.
    Last edited by stagecoach; September 18th, 2017 at 11:04 AM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, NJ
    Posts
    1,807

    Default

    Thank you stagecoach. That was the problem, the trigger was on the crossing tracks. With that problem solved you've just added a ton of work for me. I should go into my "Port Tillamook RR TANE" route, which is on the dls, and fix all those crossing, well over a hundred. Oh well, I'm retired and cold weather is on its way. Thanks again for all your help.
    pop pop

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •