.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Missing Kuid for BNSF Terminal Caboose

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1,482
     

    Default Missing Kuid for BNSF Terminal Caboose

    Looking for KUID:156765:100404 which is the dependency needed for a BNSF Terminal Caboose, did several searches and can not locate it, Can anyone point me in the right direction ? Any help appreciated,

    RH001



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Republic of California
    Posts
    6,366
     

    Default

    That appears to be a bogie by simulatortrain.

    Edit: Possible replacement <kuid2:76096:50003:3> 70 Ton Roller Bearing Truck by cloakedghost275. (I haven't tried these) Edit: (tried them and they are too low)

    Edit: OK, after several tests I could not find a caboose bogie that was not displaced low. Finally I tried another simulatortrain bogie I had.



    <kuid:156765:100552> Bettendorf 70 Ton Caboose Truck Dusty which worked fine. Slabay has shared these bogies with simulatortrain's permission on his website http://valleyrailservices.weebly.com...oad-index.html on his Caboose Main Page.
    Last edited by normhart; April 10th, 2017 at 09:20 AM.
    Dear Missouri,
    Thank you for sending us all your intelligent women.
    With Love,
    California.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1,482
     

    Default

    So how do you modify the cdp to make it reference the new bogey ?..........................never edited these files before so if someone could help me I would appreciate it,

  4. #4

    Default

    You don't edit a CDP; you only use that to install the asset.
    Once installed, you can edit the asset, open the config file (in notepad for example, not in Word), look for the wrong bogie KUID and replace it with the KUID you want. Save, commit, done.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1,482
     

    Default

    Well you learn something new every day, huh...........


    And a special thanks to normhart for figuring out which set of bogeys would work with the caboose
    Last edited by Railhead001; April 11th, 2017 at 03:15 AM.

  6. #6

    Default

    Great looking asset btw. Nice work; compliments to simulatortrain!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Brooklyn New York
    Posts
    1,363
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Bump.

    Terminal caboose's config file is set up for word, it is impossible to replace it with the dusty trucks.

    If anyone could assist me in converting the file to a .txt for use in Notepad it would be much obliged, as I require multiple terminal cabeese for a route I am working on.
    Its Ktrain! For gods sakes its Ktrain! Typos are a thing you know!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, Massachusetts, Haverhill
    Posts
    24,928
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ktain.ny View Post
    Bump.

    Terminal caboose's config file is set up for word, it is impossible to replace it with the dusty trucks.

    If anyone could assist me in converting the file to a .txt for use in Notepad it would be much obliged, as I require multiple terminal cabeese for a route I am working on.
    Open up the folder using Explorer.

    Press SHIFT key while right-clicking on the config.txt file.

    Look for open with...

    Choose Notepad from the list and ensure that the checkbox to use this as a default program is checked.

    When you open up the text file, Notepad will open the file and going forward, that should ensure that this is the case.
    John
    Trainz User Since: 12-2003
    Trainz User ID: 124863
    T:ANE Build: 94829
    TRS2019: 98592

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Brooklyn New York
    Posts
    1,363
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    That doesn't work, the formatting is for word opening in Notepad just leads to an unintelligible jumble of words.
    Its Ktrain! For gods sakes its Ktrain! Typos are a thing you know!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    2,753
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ktain.ny View Post
    That doesn't work, the formatting is for word opening in Notepad just leads to an unintelligible jumble of words.
    Start over. Delete it and download it again (or import the CDP file again, if that's how you got it) and try opening the config.txt file in notepad. Note that your system might be set up to open .txt files in WORD. If this happens do not proceed - find the procedure needed to open the file in Notepad instead. This is dependent on your operating system.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Brooklyn New York
    Posts
    1,363
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    I don't think you guys understand. The author wrote the config in Word, and it isn't formatted for notepad... it can't simply be opened in notepad... it doesn't work like that.
    Its Ktrain! For gods sakes its Ktrain! Typos are a thing you know!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    237
     

    Default

    Try an online Word to Text file converter like https://convertio.co/doc-txt/

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    New Caledonia
    Posts
    2,753
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ktain.ny View Post
    I don't think you guys understand. The author wrote the config in Word, and it isn't formatted for notepad.
    If it's gibberish when you open it in Notepad then it is either corrupted or encrypted, or you are opening the wrong file.
    If it's really constructed in Word then all you would need to do is open it in Word and save as .txt. But if it was really in Word then it wouldn't work in Trainz.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Boise, Idaho USA area
    Posts
    1,045
     

    Default

    Are you sure the config file isn't a .chump file, or whatever it is called?
    TRS 2019 - This is not your father's PBR.....

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom, Worcestershire
    Posts
    30,754
    Blog Entries
    22
     

    Default

    It sounds like a .chump file to me, which usually means that the asset was not opened for edit in the proper manner as the .chump file is normally converted to a .txt file (and vice versa on commit).

    Shane
    Shane Turner
    Technical and DirectX Advisor - Not affiliated with N3V

    My Forum -- PevSoft Tools -- Tutorial List (inc DirectX) -- My Utilities --TrainzTutorials.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •