.
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 106 to 113 of 113

Thread: Information about Andi06

  1. #106
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    2,867

    Default

    As far as I am aware, all of andi06's assets are currently available on the DLS.

    Rob.

  2. #107
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    613

    Default

    The reason I am asking is that they appear to be under no-one's care for updating and I saw elsewhere a request for updating the bogies. While a reply was made to the effect that the Content Repair Group (CRG) might agree to help if the asset was faulty, I think that an update/upgrade might not happen if there is no "fault" since I guess that the CRG has its hands full. I don't expect that workload will reduce when "TSR2019" lands in Q4. Steve06 mentioned quite some time ago that he would look at making the assets available sometime somehow, in my opinion not in the sense of the DLS but to an asset creator, organisation or N3V. Having someone taking Andi's assets under their wing might be the way to ensure a longer survival for them. That may (or may not) be served by N3V making them "Auran" assets. However, if Steve06 has not proceeded or N3V has not acted then it would seem Andi's assets are adrift.

  3. #108
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    2,867

    Default

    OK, johnwhelan is of the opinion that andi06's bogies need attention for future Trainz versions. That sort of stuff is beyond my skills but maybe someone could oblige. It would be a tragedy to lose these assets! N3V wouldn't care less!

    Rob.

  4. #109
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    12,449

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robd View Post
    OK, johnwhelan is of the opinion that andi06's bogies need attention for future Trainz versions. That sort of stuff is beyond my skills but maybe someone could oblige. It would be a tragedy to lose these assets! N3V wouldn't care less!

    Rob.
    They will work that is not the concern. When they were created it wasn't well understood or documented that in order to limit the animation to when the wheels were in sight an lm.txt file should be used on the bogey. Also many models did not cull bogies so being able to either remove it in the bogey asset at a 3 km viewing distance or slip in a block into the lm.txt file would reduce the machine impact. So if you are running with a liquid nitrogen cooled GTX 1080 TI then there is no problem. If you are running on a GTX 1050 TI then these changes would give you a slightly better frame rate but you wouldn't notice any difference in the model. So it's more can we improve the performance without throwing more hardware at it.

    It's not just andi06 bogeys by the way but practically all bogies made around the same time. paulhobbs for example has updated one of his tenders for performance reasons with TANE and if Paul has taken such a step then that is usually a good indication it makes sense to do it. I have to go through mine as well but one was a reskin of one of andi's and that's where I picked up on the issue.

    The fix is quite simple to do, there are no changes to the visuals. It doesn't cause an error or warning flag to be raised, well in the current version of TANE at least so the content repair crew may or may not decide its worth touching. They have a substantial backlog at the moment anyway and this is a more would be nice.

    The issue came up when KotangaGirl reskinned an old mesh of mine that Bob Sanders had uploaded and wanted to upload it to the DLS. To do that it needed to be updated to 3.5 min which meant a clean up job and when I dug that's what turned up. I've updated one of my bogies so far which is used by a fair number of coaches but there are others and Andi's work is quite popular.

    Cheerio John

  5. #110
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    2,867

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnwhelan View Post
    The fix is quite simple to do...
    What is the fix ? Please, in simple terms for us simpletons!

    Rob.

  6. #111
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    12,449

    Default

    If you look at kuid2:86627:1558:1

    The config.txt file becomes

    mesh-table
    {
    default
    {
    mesh "anim.lm"
    auto-create 1
    }

    rather than an .im file.

    The anim.lm.txt file is

    version 1.0

    offset = 0.01;
    calcPoint = center;
    multiplier = 1.0;
    animationCutOff = 0.1;
    renderCutOff = 0.02;



    mesh("0.2")
    {
    name="blockbogey.im";
    }
    mesh("1.0")
    {
    name="bogey.im";
    }

    blockbogey.im is a simple textured cube that I created which can be used as an LOD in the distance but that line isn't essential. Rip it off the kuid mentioned above. It's the animationCutOff = 0.1 line that is important.

    Cheerio John

  7. #112
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    stuck in Folsom Prison, and time keeps draggin' on...
    Posts
    1,416

    Default

    If you cut off animation at 0.1 and the blockbogey is rendered at 0.2, this does not require animating blockbogey too?

    I attempted to updates some very old bogeys, but I was forced to make animated meshes even for the minimum level LOD, otherwise the bogey didn't work.
    Carlo "Pendolino" - TrainZItalia PRO Administrator

    UP fan 5,000 miles away from the nearest UP tracks

  8. #113
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada, Ontario, Ottawa
    Posts
    12,449

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pendolino View Post
    If you cut off animation at 0.1 and the blockbogey is rendered at 0.2, this does not require animating blockbogey too?

    I attempted to updates some very old bogeys, but I was forced to make animated meshes even for the minimum level LOD, otherwise the bogey didn't work.
    I hadn't noticed that. The cut off values came from a paulhobbs lm.txt file and then I asked around in email group trainzcarriageworks about bogies and there I found an example of a none animated bogey. It appears the animation file matches the highest lod. So I played and the bogies are animated. Inspecting it more closely in driver I should have put the block farther out. Yet another small change.

    Thanks John

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •