.
Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789
Results 121 to 134 of 134

Thread: Benchmarking your PC... let's see what you got!

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,891
     

    Default

    Whilst it might just be the 'silicon lottery' causing your GTX 1070 to record a below-average benchmark, check out each of the following first:
    1. Perhaps the GPU was set to 'power-saving' mode and not 'performance' (Check GPU software utility)
    2. DDR4 RAM is currently not set to XMP and/or correct timings
    3. Benchmark was run with the display output in the wrong settings for refresh rate frequency and screen resolution
    4. Benchmark was run whilst other background applications and processes were being run concurrently
    5. Thermal throttling of the GPU and/or CPU due to poor cooling sub-systems

    What brand of 1070 do you have? Have you installed the manufacturer's GPU tuning software and experimented with overclocking settings?
    Most 1070s have quite a lot of overclocking headroom for both the GPU clock speed and frequency of the 8Gb of GDDR5 memory.

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,758
     

    Default

    Not using the latest Nvidia drivers but Microsoft's out of date ones could be an issue, I'd also run the test without those USB drives connected and after rebooting the system and not running anything else before running the benchmark, which often clears the under performance readings due to things going on in the background.
    Malc


  3. #123
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia, Queensland, Brisbane
    Posts
    327
     

    Default

    Thought I'd benchmark my PC and see what score I got. Not too shabby, but I need to get a better graphics card (or tweak the one that I have). I will be replacing the CPU when the 3rd Gen Ryzens come out. Trying to decide on whether to wait for the Navi-based AMD graphics cards, or save the money for a Radeon VII.

    UserBenchmarks: Game 79%, Desk 100%, Work 101%
    CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X - 87.6%
    GPU: AMD RX 580 - 77.6%
    SSD: Samsung MZVLB256HAHQ-000L7 256GB - 205%
    SSD: Samsung 960 Evo NVMe PCIe M.2 500GB - 195.3%
    SSD: Mushkin MKNSSDSR1TB-D8 1TB - 47.9%
    RAM: Unknown CMK16GX4M2A2666C16 CMK8GX4M1A2666C16 CMK16GX4M2A2666C16 24GB - 55.5%
    MBD: MSI X370 GAMING M7 ACK (MS-7A35)


    Removed one of the 8GB RAM sticks (had 24GB total, now back to 16GB). It's dropped a few scores slightly, but the RAM score pretty much doubled (especially with the RAM tweaking). Now to tweak the PC a bit more...
    UserBenchmarks: Game 77%, Desk 100%, Work 99%
    CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X - 85.6%
    GPU: AMD RX 580 - 76.2%
    SSD: Samsung MZVLB256HAHQ-000L7 256GB - 204.8%
    SSD: Samsung 960 Evo NVMe PCIe M.2 500GB - 197.8%
    SSD: Mushkin MKNSSDSR1TB-D8 1TB - 82.1%
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2666 C16 2x8GB - 96.1%
    MBD: MSI X370 GAMING M7 ACK (MS-7A35)

    Overclocked my CPU to 3900MHz, and got this:
    UserBenchmarks: Game 82%, Desk 113%, Work 110%
    CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 1700X - 97.8%
    GPU: AMD RX 580 - 77.8%
    SSD: Samsung MZVLB256HAHQ-000L7 256GB - 215.6%
    SSD: Samsung 960 Evo NVMe PCIe M.2 500GB - 198.6%
    SSD: Mushkin MKNSSDSR1TB-D8 1TB - 87.4%
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2666 C16 2x8GB - 95.8%
    MBD: MSI X370 GAMING M7 ACK (MS-7A35)
    Last edited by psycho_aussie; April 22nd, 2019 at 04:20 PM.
    Never been "here", but never truly been "gone".

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    142
     

    Default

    UserBenchmarks: Game 90%, Desk 62%, Work 52%
    CPU: Intel Core i7-4770 - 79%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1070 - 102.5%
    SSD: Samsung 840 Evo 250GB - 740.4%
    HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 1TB - 103.2%
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 1600 C9 2x8GB - 60.2%
    MBD: Asus H97M-E

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,665
     

    Default

    The benchmarking software got lost with my dual quad core Xeons and reported that my computer was only good for email and light web browsing which I found really amusing.
    Narcolepsy is not napping.

    HP XW8400 Xeon, Dual E5320 quad core CPUs, 16GB RAM, 1Tb SAS Hard drive, Nvidia GTX 960, Win 7.

  6. #126
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    3,476
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KotangaGirl View Post
    The benchmarking software got lost with my dual quad core Xeons and reported that my computer was only good for email and light web browsing which I found really amusing.
    If you're happy with your computer and it performs well for you then be happy!

    The folk who have to continually benchmark their systems must be quite an insecure lot, always seeking reassurance that they think they have the best, and always chasing the impossible - a fruitless (and expensive!) exercise!

    Rob.
    Last edited by robd; May 6th, 2019 at 11:18 AM.

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,665
     

    Default

    It was just amusing Rob because my computer is quite powerful for the old monster that it is, but the benchmark software wasn't able to cope with its architecture and the way it uses its 8 processor cores.
    Narcolepsy is not napping.

    HP XW8400 Xeon, Dual E5320 quad core CPUs, 16GB RAM, 1Tb SAS Hard drive, Nvidia GTX 960, Win 7.

  8. #128
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom, Cheshire
    Posts
    3,476
     

    Default

    Power to the Xeons!

    Rob.

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States of America, Florida and Illinois
    Posts
    768
     

    Default

    The website you are / have been using is incapable of turning on my GPU on. It keeps saying my video card is 8%.

    I tried this site and it was able to turn on my GPU with 100fps results and almost hit 50% of the cards that are out there., Seems to me like much more real results..

    https://www.passmark.com/download/pt_download.htm
    If it's not broke, don't fix it.


  10. #130
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,758
     

    Default

    Out of curiosity what's your GPU?

    None of these tests are what I'd call 100% accurate, depend on what tests they run and most results don't compare with each other.

    What they can be useful for is indicating a problem if you suddenly start getting poorer results on the same hardware.
    Malc


  11. #131
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States of America, Florida and Illinois
    Posts
    768
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clam1952 View Post
    Out of curiosity what's your GPU?

    None of these tests are what I'd call 100% accurate, depend on what tests they run and most results don't compare with each other.

    What they can be useful for is indicating a problem if you suddenly start getting poorer results on the same hardware.
    I have a laptop with an on board Intel video, and a add on (2nd video) GTX960M. When it turns on, a popup appears with a quick instruction to access the in-game menu. The test in the OP link does not produce the 'popup' and I know its running only on the Intel chip. The test link I show above produces my GPU popup menu, and all their graphic test screens ran on the GPU and were running at or over 100fps.

    The original TANE was unable to turn on my GPU, but somewhere SP1 or SP2, or maybe an update driver for the GPU, and then TANE was then able to turn it on, and was a huge difference in performance for me.
    Last edited by Christopher824; May 8th, 2019 at 04:20 PM.
    If it's not broke, don't fix it.


  12. #132
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Crewe, Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    14,758
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Christopher824 View Post
    I have a laptop with an on board Intel video, and a add on (2nd video) GTX960M. When it turns on, a popup appears with a quick instruction to access the in-game menu. The test in the OP link does not produce the 'popup' and I know its running only on the Intel chip. The test link I show above produces my GPU popup menu, and all their graphic test screens ran on the GPU and were running at or over 100fps.

    The original TANE was unable to turn on my GPU, but somewhere SP1 or SP2, or maybe an update driver for the GPU, and then TANE was then able to turn it on, and was a huge difference in performance for me.
    I suspected it was something like that.
    Malc


  13. #133
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    65
     

    Default another one

    This thread got me interested in seeing what mine came out to be....not too bad, I guess.

    UserBenchmarks: Game 105%, Desk 80%, Work 91%

    CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 2700 - 85.6%
    GPU: Nvidia RTX 2070 - 124.9%
    SSD: Adata SU650 120GB - 75.1%
    HDD: Toshiba P300 1TB - 95%
    RAM: Unknown 2666 C16 Series 2x8GB - 78.9%
    MBD: MSI A320M PRO-VH PLUS (MS-7B07)

  14. #134
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    United States of America, California, San Jose
    Posts
    5,072
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    That SSD and HDD would benefit from replacement with a single Samsung EVO series or better. If you could get 3200 speed RAM, along with the SSD swap, you would not have any problems running most titles at maximum.

    Make train simulators great again #MTSGA obiter dictum

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •