T:ANE - not buying it

nathanmallard

Hi
I have been debating for the past year or so whether to get T:ANE, the supposed "new era" of Trainz that will change the course of the franchise forever. And I've decided not to. Not for now, anyway. For a start I don't think my computer's up to it, and as a student, I can't afford to get a brand-new, high-end gaming PC to play it on. I don't want my CPU fried like others are reporting. The second reason is that is the most unstable, buggiest game I have ever heard of or read about. From unrealistic lighting to crashing to desktop to outright refusing to start, if you can think of a problem, T:ANE probably has it. I should imagine the Railworks community are laughing at us, as I have TS2015 and it plays excellently straight out of the box, and runs nicely on my PC besides! The third reason is the way N3V are acting at the moment, which seems to be geared towards making as much profit as possible.
Of course this does not mean I am abandoning Trainz or even T:ANE. If N3V change course and provide a much more stable game which works just as well as TS2015 does, I will buy it. If they continue to release patch after patch without really improving much whilst mindlessly profiteering, I will not.

Hi