Freelancers Anonymous

RedGemAlchemist

Boss of the AVR
Hello, I'm Sam, and I'm a freelancer.
Having worked on model railways for quite some time, I moved to Trainz 2012 as I do not have the space in my house anymore to model and this is very much the next best thing. The thing I like most about modelling is just being able to go nuts and make your own thing, let your imagination run wild a little bit and create something truly unique that is not quite like anything else anyone else has seen before. Locomotives in particular. My own Aryle Valley Railway, which I am currently constructing in TS2012, I intend to stock entirely with self-designed motive power and stock.
Sadly, it seems that imagination is in quite short supply on the DLS, as there appear to be very few who take up the challenge of creating their own locomotives.
That's why I created this thread - to find others like me who enjoy the idea of creating something that's truly unique of their railway and discuss such matters. So please, submit to your freelancing ways and join me in this much-forgotten part of railway enthusiasm.

Not the start I had expected. I don't really know how to react to this. I thank you for directing me to that and I will read through some of it. What I was talking about was the overall lack of freelance stock on the DLS, not calling anyone unimaginative. I was trying to make the start of this thread interesting by jokingly comparing freelancing to something more illicit due to it's downturn in popularity over the years. Thanks for the welcome though, and it's flattering to have someone as highly regarded as you comment on something like this, Martin. I was half expecting nobody to read this.