.
Page 2 of 32 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 472

Thread: lego207's Work/Silver Lines

  1. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United States of America, New Jersey
    Posts
    690
    Blog Entries
    1
     

    Default

    Looks really good! Keep it up


  2. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kiwi_Rail View Post
    how... wha... ok.
    You can't just question the most pro trainzer of 2014



    In all honesty I don't quite get the whole concept here with the turntable

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ATSF854 View Post
    You can't just question the most pro trainzer of 2014

    In all honesty I don't quite get the whole concept here with the turntable
    Well, the area where that small yard with the wye isn't big enough for any of the turntables I'm aware of, or have. I've tested all the ones I have and they are just too big. Only reasonable thing to do was try out a wye track :P Even that is hard to fit in that small area...
    However, with the addition of the new, large yard... turntables are possible again

    Still very WIP but, we're getting there. Big thing now is scenery and textures. I believe most of the trackwork at this point has been fixed, and most of the ballast texture placed. Now, about that turntable...

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    I finished the area connecting the yard to the rest of the route, finally. I've got a few things to work out, but, it's basically done.



    You know, for a game that needs a fair amount of creativity (surveyor), I am lacking in creativity. I have been trying to come up with some kind of symbol for the SLRR for the last few days but with no luck. By symbol I mean like, UP has the shield, NS with the horsehead, BNSF's 'swish' thing, CSX's boxcar thingy, y'know, that kind of stuff. Maybe one day... Nonetheless I've got more plans for this route. I want to make a city somewhere here, more roads following the track, a more mountainous area to work with, maybe some rivers. Needs some thinking. Next on the list for the trains is getting another locomotive in the black-grey scheme like the SD40s. Narrowed down the options to be SD60M or SW1500. Thing with the SW1500 though is that I can't actually see the textures... this is what I mean

    (excuse my other computery things and picture size)This is the JR UP SW1500 texture file (I've tried the SP one as well, same thing). I can't actually see, like, anything. It's weird. I mean, like, you can kinda see it, but not the details. It's weird. I don't get it. If anyone knows gimp... any help is appreciated. Anyways, that's it.
    :B

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    United States of America, Virginia, Chesapeake
    Posts
    2,246
     

    Default

    Looks pretty good so far! For your logo/icon/symbol, have you considered an S and a L interlacing using positive and negative space? Use this google search for inspiration and a little insight as to what positive and negative spaces are.

    P.S. BNSF is the 'Door Wedge' Somebody basically decided: "Hey! Let's give some idiot a lot of money to design a triangle that we can put letters on top of!"

  6. #21

    Default

    The route is look good, but if I can make a couple suggestions?

    The Tail's on the Wye are too short. You have room for exactly 1 SD-40 @ 0 MPH.... So if your engineer was moving a little too quickly, bye bye work order, Hello Wrecking Crane. In general operating practice, Wye's tend to have at least enough room for 2-3 Locomotives to approach and come to a complete stop @ ~15 MPH or so. If you drug the entire wye closer to the other track in the shot (The one that runs parallel to it), you'd have room for at least a bit more before you hit the end of the baseboard but just adding another Baseboard would probably be your best bet. On that note as well, Railroads in the last few decades have sold off alot of RoW (Right of way), and the primary way they do that is by bringing track closer together. Its not uncommon for engineers to feel like they'd break their arm clean off if they actually stuck it out the window at this point....

    Ballast... If you were a Railroad employee and you dropped that much ballast around the RoW, your boss would inform you he wasn't your boss anymore, and to grab your last check otw out the door.... In alot of areas, particularly flat areas, Ballast is used only to ensure the Sleepers won't shift. The ballast included in most 3D track Splines now is all you need for alot of places. Fill the rest in with Dirt, Grass, Clutter, w/e you want. Dirt is usually a good way to go, particularly since your road seems to be big enough to afford Weed Spraying in one form or another.

    After that, if thats Payware you're reskinning, you do know that you likely won't be able to share it? You can ask for permission, and they might even let you, but I wouldn't count on it. Those SD-40's look nice, and I think you did a good job reskinning them, but they also look like JR or RRMods quality, and both of those will file against you with Auran if you don't ask them for permission if you try to ever share those locomotives. Just a friendly reminder if you already knew that.

    After that, keep chuggin, be interesting to see what else you post. Takes alot of time and effort to make a route. Take your time, experiment, see what you like and what you don't.
    Falcus

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    You are correct on those locos being JR payware. I don't plan on sharing it, anyways - and I know not to release those without permissions. No worries :B

    Thank you for the tips on the Wye and ballast! I'll experiment with some stuff and we'll see...

    Thanks again :B

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    nevermind this post was made whilst under the influence of not sleeping for many days
    Last edited by lego207; October 9th, 2014 at 05:55 PM.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    2,630
     

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lego207 View Post
    Thing with the SW1500 though is that I can't actually see the textures...
    The thing there is that the SW1500s have a different type of texture which requires use of the alpha's channel for the environment map. IIRC you can create a mask of the alpha channel and copy+paste it into a different layer to keep it for later. I don't remember exactly how one would make the alpha all black, but duplicating the texture layer multiple times and then merging it all together should have a similar effect. Bit of a sacrifice for added realism, huh? But once you figure it out it isn't too hard to account for.
    As for putting the alpha back in, you should just be able to create a layer mask again and paste the alpha channel back in to get it. I've done this before(for my own models, although I now have them separated like you'd in many older assets because it's easier to skin that way), and it isn't too terribly hard.
    Last edited by trainboi1; September 17th, 2014 at 09:44 PM.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    Hmm.. I'll do some experimenting with that newfound information.

    I've been a bit sick today, stayed home from school. Thought now was as good a time as any to do a bit of reskinning

    ive spent about 3-4 hours today on this and i am so far happy. a second loco for slrr will finally be finished soon. maybe by tomorrow... we'll see ;-;

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    Well, as for the SW1500 texture, I think I'm getting close to being able to see it properly... kind of



    edit: also, we're getting there on the SD60! still a long way to go, but, its working in game now. except arn is a bit busted but ill get to that later...


    Very early wip...
    Last edited by lego207; September 18th, 2014 at 09:04 PM.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    Hi all, not much here today. I completed a section across the river from the yard, but that's about it.
    Really like this screenshot right here though.



    :B

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    Hi all, like last time nothing much. At the moment just really tired and all, and haven't expanded the route any. Maybe this weekend after I sleep more than five hours. That's probably a good idea. I've just been listening to rainymood.com and just adding little details and things to the SLRR route. I've kind of made some kind of old rusty section of track that was on the original part of the yard I merged in. I've replaced some tracks and added a host of little things. I really love doing these bits of rusty, rundown, or abandoned and broken bits of track. I don't even know why. But it's fun. I should get around to changing that ballast to be less. eh, later.

    I love the rain effects I get with rainymood and Trainz. I would love some rain in real life. Even though it's almost October (Birthday is on the 1st!) it is very very hot here. Illinois is weird.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    Some steam out in the rain...



  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    United States of America, IL, Champaign
    Posts
    1,161
     

    Default

    Hey there folks, small stuff with this route. Added a few baseboards to extend past the yard (I need a name for the yard. hmm...).
    If you might have noticed on the trainz-version-thing next to my name I have TSMac 2 now (I had a bunch of money from my birthday a few days ago, why not. basically ts12, eh?) and I'm currently working to install the SLM route into it. The route itself is good except a few dependencies show up faulty after re-downloading them many times and I can't fix them, so I'll have to try that later. On the other hand, all my 3rd party content (basically JR and whatnot) isn't there obviously and I can't install it. Can't open any single .cdp file for reading, it says. Not sure what's up with this but if any of you Trainz Mac 2 people know what's up with this and know how to fix it, do tell, please. I would like to have all my stuff upgraded to this new version since stuff for anything below TS12 (Mac 1) is now pretty much totally unsupported (namely third party guys). So. With that out of the way, just a few shots from the latest plays while still on Mac 1. I get the feeling the next few weeks will be installing all the old content from Mac 1 to Mac 2. What fun. Oh well, if I can figure out how to get 3rd party stuff in and fix this faulty content (corona things???) then it'll be fine. I hope.


    NS intermodel passes the UP autorack

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •