Question on lighting buildings

Spirit0f64

As a newbie to re-skinning, I've managed to create a few buildings and signs, but now I'm a little lost on how the night lighting is done. I looked through several posts, but nothing seems to address the problem I'm having unless I overlooked it or didn't use the right keywords. How do you light buildings? Any help would be appreciated greatly! Also, this may sound like a "Duh" question, but if I re-skin a building that I would like to upload, but I need permission from the author, can I do so through the forums or should I use the blog? I was looking to see if I could find an e-mail, but again, I may not be looking in the right place. I told you I was a newbie! ;)
OK, scratch that question about contact info...you aren't going to believe this, but I was actually looking at the e-mail and thinking "that's just the e-mail, I need the contact info!" Oh well, I haven't done that in a while! I'm feeling pretty silly right now! :p Thanks for the info on the night mode but since it involves meshes, I think I'll leave it alone for now.

Last edited:
If you mean nightmode its done with special textures for the window glass. I use two separate textures but you need the original mesh. I not sure it can be added after re-skinning. One has a transparency factor the other a "glow-in-the-dark" (specular?) factor. The window glass is exported in a separate image file named nightmode.im and goes into a sub-folder also named nightmode. This is separate from the window glass used during the day. That should stay with the rest of the items mesh. Both nightmode textures are placed in the sub-folder along with the texture text file that cites them both. This is then listed in the config files mesh-table.

The amount of transparency, the color of the light, and the amount of "glow" are variable by most paint programs.

For starters I'd suggest you look at what's in a folder for an item that has nightmode.

Ben